Suprawell Posted September 10, 2014 Report Share Posted September 10, 2014 Hello, I just received a very unprofessional email from Motherwell FC, which didn't even have a title in the email, please see below: "Katie McCrossan The Well Society Motherwell Football Club Fir Park Stadium Firpark Street Motherwell ML1 2QN Tel: 01698 333333 Direct Dial: 01698 338006 Email:wellsociety@motherwellfc.co.uk Web: www.motherwellfc.co.uk Online Web TV Channel:motherwellfc.tv Like us on Facebook facebook.com/MotherwellFC Follow us on Twitter twitter.com/MotherwellFC Hi its paul frew from motherwell fc just to see what you and you work buddies were doing for christmas party nite Come have it with us dates are 6th 12th 13th 19th 20th of december (price is only £29.95 per person )three course meal live band plus a disco to Give me a wee call on 01698333333" I'm all for the club being proactive, but this is shockingly unprofessional. Firstly, the style of the email starts with the footer and then it's not even from Katie McCrossan, but someone called Paul Frew Then we have the lack of capitalisation, spelling....oh dear. It's a sad state of affairs that this email was not proof read before going out into the open. I expect better. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
numpty Posted September 10, 2014 Report Share Posted September 10, 2014 A bit poor alright. I was going to say it was probably one of the Well Society summer interns being a bit over-zealous, but I've just read their names in an article and it's neither of them. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
johnstone Posted September 10, 2014 Report Share Posted September 10, 2014 Thats utter shite! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Browni Posted September 10, 2014 Report Share Posted September 10, 2014 That is terrible. However, I'm on the clubs email list but didn't receive that particular email (I have checked my junk folder where it would probably have went due to lack of subject) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted September 10, 2014 Report Share Posted September 10, 2014 Nothing from the club in my inbox either. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
superward Posted September 10, 2014 Report Share Posted September 10, 2014 I thought this was going to be something semi serious about club email being hacked or something... Sems a bit off, definitely. I haven't received it so maybe its only you or a select few. That said - even if I did receive it I wouldnt go running here to broadcast it. I would likely just have deleted it after thinking about it for a few secs max. Why dont you send some constructive feedback to the club and help the situation and save some embarrassment? 5 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
numpty Posted September 10, 2014 Report Share Posted September 10, 2014 Nothing in my Inbox either. Though if it's this guy, his Twitter bio does describe him as "the main man at motherwell football club" (capitalisation his)... https://twitter.com/frewsy1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stuarty Posted September 10, 2014 Report Share Posted September 10, 2014 I didn't get an email however the same chap phoned me the other day asking if I had seen the new offers and deals on the web site. Was pushing to see if I was interested in anything from the club. Seems to be a new start if you ask me. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
underboyleheating Posted September 10, 2014 Report Share Posted September 10, 2014 Hi its paul frew from motherwell fc New head of Club Media. It’s not a great email, however, I suspect it has been sent in error. You would expect any communication advertising Christmas nights out would have professional looking graphics and to adhere to official club guidelines. This one has obviously slipped through the net. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Suprawell Posted September 10, 2014 Author Report Share Posted September 10, 2014 Hello all, Yes, I've received a great email from Diane Harvey, the Commercial Manager explaining that it escaped throught the net. No harm done and I'm sure lessons learned. Mon the Well Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
underboyleheating Posted September 10, 2014 Report Share Posted September 10, 2014 explaining that it escaped throught the net. Given the circumstances that should maybe read '...Frew the net' I'll get my coat. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Goggles & Flippers Posted September 10, 2014 Report Share Posted September 10, 2014 Imbecile and a liability Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
underboyleheating Posted September 10, 2014 Report Share Posted September 10, 2014 Imbecile and a liability He describes himself on his Twitter account as the 'main man at motherwell football club'. God help us. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yassin Posted September 10, 2014 Report Share Posted September 10, 2014 escaped throught the net. Imbecile and a liability Are we sure it isn't Gunnar that does the club email? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted September 10, 2014 Report Share Posted September 10, 2014 Gunnar has a better grasp of English. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Big Stall Posted September 10, 2014 Report Share Posted September 10, 2014 Hello all, Yes, I've received a great email from Diane Harvey, the Commercial Manager explaining that it escaped throught the net. No harm done and I'm sure lessons learned. Mon the Well Dont want to jump on the outrage band wagon, but sent in error or not, we shouldn't be letting anyone who lacks common sense or a basic grasp of spelling and grammar anywhere near any kind of club communications. And, anyone who describes themselves as the main man at Motherwell and isn't McCall or whoever is the current most senior director really needs the club to pull them down a few pegs! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Frazzie Posted September 10, 2014 Report Share Posted September 10, 2014 Get him tae fuck- sounds like a wahoo. Must be related to someone. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Goggles & Flippers Posted September 10, 2014 Report Share Posted September 10, 2014 Sounding out prospective Christmas party customers like you're chatting to a bird on Tinder with foundy English is quite a bit below that standard of club communications in recent times ....... Jotters! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
maxywell Posted September 10, 2014 Report Share Posted September 10, 2014 Katie would be embarrassed to have something like that sent under her name. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SuperSteelman Posted September 10, 2014 Report Share Posted September 10, 2014 I got the email, no big deal. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
john_M_F_C Posted September 11, 2014 Report Share Posted September 11, 2014 The wee guys obviously trying to show some initiative, can't believe folk are wanting blood for this. Teach the guy how to do a communication like that, some of the stuff on here's pathetic. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
StipeIsGod Posted September 11, 2014 Report Share Posted September 11, 2014 Got to agree. It's a shambles, but hardly worth having the guy lose his job for it. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Big Stall Posted September 11, 2014 Report Share Posted September 11, 2014 He shouldnt lose his job, but he clearly should never have been given access to the email accounts either Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
milo Posted September 11, 2014 Report Share Posted September 11, 2014 That email is horrendously amateurish and unprofessional. Much training needed for the sender. Kinda sums the past 2 months up.... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andy_P Posted September 11, 2014 Report Share Posted September 11, 2014 Taken in isolation, of course it shouldn't be a mistake that threatens someones job. In actual fact it's small beer in comparison to an email I received a couple of years ago from our former Chief Executive discussing bids on two of our players with other directors!! Accidentally hitting the send button early - it happens. That said, not unnatural to be a wee bit concerned after viewing the email. It's the doubt that is left after reading the grammar and writing style that maybe our pursuit of commercial revenues is not as professional as it possibly could be, however much initiative was shown by its author. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...