StipeIsGod Posted September 24, 2014 Report Share Posted September 24, 2014 Hoping to be munching on humble pie, but I think Accies take this one 2-0 and we get hoofed out another cup. We might scramble a draw/goal at least at the weekend, on grass. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ya Bezzer! Posted September 24, 2014 Report Share Posted September 24, 2014 Wonder how many we'll take tomorrow. Some really poor crowds tonight's as seems to be the norm with the league cup. 1,800 at Thistle St Mirren. We've not had a home match for three weeks and its a cup tie across the road against local rivals. I think we'll bring a decent crowd. I'm certainly going. As for McCall's time being up if we lose - hardly. But considering we have already been put out of European competition by a part time Icelandic team and haven't had the best of starts in the league it certain puts pressure on him from his critics. It won't decide his fate but I think this is quite a big week for McCall. A chance to get through a round of the cup tonight, a chance to get back into the pack in the league at the weekend. It's going to be...interesting to say the least. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
numpty Posted September 24, 2014 Report Share Posted September 24, 2014 2010/11: SC Final 2010/11: LC Semi Final (down to Craig Brown admittedly) 2011/12: SC Quarter Finals 2013/14: LC Quarter Finals That's not too bad for a team our size I would say BUT it's the the other 4 campaigns where we got papped out in near enough the first rounds with poor performances that sticks in our memories and needs to be rectified this year The pre-Accies email the club sent out put it rather more starkly -- of the 19 knock-out ties we've competed in under McCall, we've won 4. Even given that a few of the losses were against clearly superior Euro opposition, it's hard to argue that's in any way acceptable for a team that's proven itself to be the second-best in the country for most of that time. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
sbcmfc Posted September 24, 2014 Report Share Posted September 24, 2014 I'd imagine about 1000 'well fans tonight? Similar to Livi last season. Ive only been to NDP once for a friendly, but going tonight, as it's the cup, reasonably priced, just up the road and not been to a game in a while. Imagine others who don't always travel will head along for similar reasons. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
numpty Posted September 24, 2014 Report Share Posted September 24, 2014 I'd much rather make the Europa League group stages than win the Scottish Cup. I probably would too, once. But they're not really comparable achievements anyway -- in recent years we've shown we're more than capable of beating any team (well, except one) that we'll face in the Scottish Cup... just not when it mattered. But over the same period, we've never really looked capable of beating teams of the standard that would get us into the Europa League group stages. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted September 24, 2014 Report Share Posted September 24, 2014 but its Cup runs that generate excitement for the support 2-0 Accies. I can almost feel that excitement from here. 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
superward Posted September 24, 2014 Report Share Posted September 24, 2014 The pre-Accies email the club sent out put it rather more starkly -- of the 19 knock-out ties we've competed in under McCall, we've won 4. Even given that a few of the losses were against clearly superior Euro opposition, it's hard to argue that's in any way acceptable for a team that's proven itself to be the second-best in the country for most of that time. That's not right - his knockout record in total reads 8 wins - still not awe inspiring I agree. 2013/14 - We won v Livi 2012/13 - Naebody 2011/2012 We won v Clyde, Queens Park, Morton 2010/2011 (McCall joined start of Jan) We won - Dundee, Stranraer, Dundee Utd, St Johnstone Certainly a downward progression through the years... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
numpty Posted September 24, 2014 Report Share Posted September 24, 2014 That's not right - his knockout record in total reads 8 wins - still not awe inspiring I agree. My mistake, the email did actually say that we'd only won 4 out of 19 since reaching the 2011 Cup Final. I'm not sure if that makes it better or worse... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ya Bezzer! Posted September 24, 2014 Report Share Posted September 24, 2014 McCall's full domestic record is thus... 2010/11 League Cup - 30/01/11 SF v Rangers L 1-2 2010/11 Scottish Cup - 09/01/11 4th Rnd v Dundee W 4-0 2010/11 Scottish Cup - 05/02/11 5th Rnd v Stranraer W 2-0 2010/11 Scottish Cup - 13/03/11 QF v Dundee Utd D 2-2 2010/11 Scottish Cup - 30/03/11 QF v Dundee Utd W 3-0 2010/11 Scottish Cup - 16/04/11 SF v St. Johnstone W 3-0 2010/11 Scottish Cup - 21/04/11 F v Celtc L 0-3 2011/12 League Cup - 24/08/11 2nd Rnd v Clyde W 4-0 2011/12 League Cup - 21/09/11 3rd Rnd v Hibernian L 2-2 AET pens 2011/12 Scottish Cup - 07/01/12 4th Rnd v Queens Park W 4-0 2011/12 Scottish Cup - 04/02/12 5th Rnd v Morton W 6-0 2011/12 Scottish Cup - 11/06/12 QF v Aberdeen L 1-2 2012/13 League Cup - 26/09/12 3rd Rnd v Rangers L 0-2 2012/13 Scottish Cup - 01/12/13 4th Rnd v Aberdeen D 1-1 2012/13 Scottish Cup - 11/12/13 4th Rnd v Aberdeen L 1-2 2013/14 League Cup - 25/09/13 3rd Rnd v Livingston W 2-1 2013/14 League Cup - 30/10/13 QF v Aberdeen L 0-2 2013/14 Scottish Cup - 30/11/13 4th Rnd v Albion Rovers L 0-1 2014/15 League Cup - 24/09/13 3rd Rnd v Hamilton D 0-0 AET pens LEAGUE CUP : P 7 W 2 D 0 L 5 SCOT'H CUP : P 13 W 7 D 2 L 4 TOTAL : P19 W9 D2 L8 Things that stick out 1) Very poor League Cup record. 2) 1 win in last 7 domestic cup matches. 3) Not beaten a top level side in a cup competition since the 3-0 semi final win v St. Johnstone. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted September 24, 2014 Report Share Posted September 24, 2014 The League Cup has not been kind to us for as long as I have been following the team. No idea why that should be, but we never seem to shine in that competition. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Well_Jaggy Posted September 24, 2014 Report Share Posted September 24, 2014 don;t suppose there is any chance of a stream for this game? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
milo Posted September 24, 2014 Report Share Posted September 24, 2014 Ojamaa on the bench again! That said I didn't like the team on Sunday and look what happened. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lobey_Dosser Posted September 24, 2014 Report Share Posted September 24, 2014 Not surprised to see Ramsden and ZFA on the bench given their recent injury history. Disappointed that neither Ojamaa or Erwin are playing but again, that'll partially be down to the surface. Josh Law doesn't miss many games. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shaka Posted September 24, 2014 Report Share Posted September 24, 2014 Josh McCall more like lol Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Goggles & Flippers Posted September 24, 2014 Report Share Posted September 24, 2014 Josh Law doesn't miss many games. Is that a criticism? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SteelmaninOZ Posted September 24, 2014 Report Share Posted September 24, 2014 Any links for tonights game? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
siebsbarmyarmy Posted September 24, 2014 Report Share Posted September 24, 2014 Yawn yawn yawn..... This is shite. One shot on target between both teams.... All we are doing is playing hoof ball to Sutton who has 0 support. One decent passing movement between Vigurs and Leitch. Very unimpressed. At least we aren't losing. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
wee jo Posted September 24, 2014 Report Share Posted September 24, 2014 Report on tv saying a flare set off in the Motherwell end, well done bunch of dafties, no doubt cost the club money if true. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
milo Posted September 24, 2014 Report Share Posted September 24, 2014 Any chance of a sub? We at least have options on the bench. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SteelmaninOZ Posted September 24, 2014 Report Share Posted September 24, 2014 Report on tv saying a flare set off in the Motherwell end, well done bunch of dafties, no doubt cost the club money if true. was there a flare set off the last time we played at NDP? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
punk_in_drublic Posted September 24, 2014 Report Share Posted September 24, 2014 Aye. Against Albion. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
siebsbarmyarmy Posted September 24, 2014 Report Share Posted September 24, 2014 ET to prolong the torture....... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MelvinBragg Posted September 24, 2014 Report Share Posted September 24, 2014 Hit the crossbar and post. You'll all know what's coming... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted September 24, 2014 Report Share Posted September 24, 2014 Hit the crossbar and post. You'll all know what's coming... At least we don't have a man advantage any more. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
bladesman Posted September 24, 2014 Report Share Posted September 24, 2014 This is a shocking performance matched only by the fuckwit of a referee... Some dreadful decisions!! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...