stuwell Posted November 2, 2014 Report Share Posted November 2, 2014 As the titlle says, not sure who I want but here are some names that I suspect we will hear will be, Owen Coyle - probably thinks we are to small a team for him and if he got the job would not stick around Mark McGhee - would he want it and would we want him? Gary McAllister - cant see it but did he not apply last time? Scott Lietch - has only been a manager at Ross County and assistant here and at Aberdeen. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coolhandluc Posted November 2, 2014 Report Share Posted November 2, 2014 Is it wrong to suggest Jonaton Johansen? Has done a great job with the youngsters I believe and knows the club although I guess it would be overlooking Leitch in the pecking order Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Del_Superwell Posted November 2, 2014 Report Share Posted November 2, 2014 I would like to see someone like Owen Coyle or Ian Murray at Dumbarton, but I dont think Johanssen is ready for the step up as first team manager but may play a bigger part with McCall now away. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
stuwell Posted November 2, 2014 Author Report Share Posted November 2, 2014 pecking order should count for nowt if he was the best man for the job - if Lietch didnt like it then tough Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
one m in motherwell Posted November 2, 2014 Report Share Posted November 2, 2014 Coyle may be a shout from a shop window point of view, but I think he may be a bit big for it now. McGhee is an absolute no - the stick he got after leaving us for Aberdeen burnt any bridges that may have existed (although FWIW I think he wouldn't be a terrible shout, if only in the short term). As I said on one of the other threads, we have a knack of appointing folk from out of nowhere, and ideally that would continue. Although I'm not sure we have the luxury of time here - we need someone to come in and stop the rot, and get us a few places up the league. It may be a shout to get an older hand in with a younger assistant, with a view to 'grooming' them for the job next year. Whatever happens, it's clear that fundamental change is needed at most, if not all levels of the club, and I just hope that the club realises this as an opportunity to do what's required. I really fear for us if we simply decided to promote from within. The current squad has more than enough about it to be finishing at least 7th or 8th, but we need to get things right quickly to have any chance of doing something worthwhile this season. Top six would be a phenomenal achievement, but at the moment I'd settle for tenth. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ianc Posted November 2, 2014 Report Share Posted November 2, 2014 No one as good as McCALL Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
joe90 Posted November 2, 2014 Report Share Posted November 2, 2014 Owen coyle,doubt he would want it though. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
jim64 Posted November 2, 2014 Report Share Posted November 2, 2014 McCart with Mio as his assistant if we could afford it more likely someone from the great unknown Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MJC_MKI Posted November 2, 2014 Report Share Posted November 2, 2014 Whoever it is it must NOT be an internal appointment, ie. Leitch, Black, Johansson etc. We as a club now need to show some imagination and vision and get the right man in to the hot seat. That right man does not currently work at Fir Park! 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lobey_Dosser Posted November 2, 2014 Report Share Posted November 2, 2014 If change is as imminent as the Well Society panic suggests, then we can't possibly appoint a permanent manager at present. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ya Bezzer! Posted November 2, 2014 Report Share Posted November 2, 2014 Not really much around Scotland at the moment. For me the only real shout would be Ian Murray but I don't think he'd be the right fit. He's worked wonders at Dumbarton but I'd like to see someone who has a stronger youth background and Murray's success, as far as I can see, has been based on gathering together a team of old pros. I'm sure CV's are being faxed in as we speak so I'd be happy just to sit back and see what comes in for the time being. I'm not overly keen on anyone on the Scottish scene so let's just see who's interest down south or further afield. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yabba's Turd Posted November 2, 2014 Report Share Posted November 2, 2014 Barry Ferguson Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wellfan84 Posted November 2, 2014 Report Share Posted November 2, 2014 Billy davies? Or errrrr derek adams? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Brazilian Posted November 2, 2014 Report Share Posted November 2, 2014 Barry Ferguson with Boab Malcolm as assistant, titter ye not, all over social meda that they are failing miserably, long term fans walking away from abuse, and parents withdrawing kids from youths. cracking example of you get what you pay for, Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MelvinBragg Posted November 2, 2014 Report Share Posted November 2, 2014 If change is as imminent as the Well Society panic suggests, then we can't possibly appoint a permanent manager at present. Someone til the end of the season with the remit of keeping us up? I've made it clear who my choice would be... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
siebsbarmyarmy Posted November 2, 2014 Report Share Posted November 2, 2014 Billy McKinlay! Very highly thought off..... Could do a job! Good connections in the youth set ups down south. Stevie Clarke too big for the job now? Looking for a route back in but too far gone from Scottish fitba? Malky Mackay to resurrect his career after his recent scandals? Davie Weir??? Hmmm not sure but available and trying to get back into the game seemingly. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
rednaz Posted November 2, 2014 Report Share Posted November 2, 2014 Gary Locke? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
gaz7 Posted November 2, 2014 Report Share Posted November 2, 2014 Paulo di canio Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
siebsbarmyarmy Posted November 2, 2014 Report Share Posted November 2, 2014 Paulo di canio Not a chance, egotistical maniac seemingly. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
smiddy Posted November 2, 2014 Report Share Posted November 2, 2014 I don't no who ,, but an old sayin is ... one out all out so Kenny black , Gordon marshall can also go .....a new broom sweeps clean ,, just saying like Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ya Bezzer! Posted November 2, 2014 Report Share Posted November 2, 2014 Billy McKinlay! Very highly thought off..... Could do a job! Good connections in the youth set ups down south. Stevie Clarke too big for the job now? Looking for a route back in but too far gone from Scottish fitba? Malky Mackay to resurrect his career after his recent scandals? Davie Weir??? Hmmm not sure but available and trying to get back into the game seemingly. Billy McKinlay doesn't have a lot of experience as a manager. Think we might be looking for someone a bit more seasoned considering our predicament. The others wouldn't be interested and I wouldn't want Mackay anyway. Locke - no. di Canio - NO, NO, NO, NO, NO. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Juan Kerse Posted November 2, 2014 Report Share Posted November 2, 2014 Odds from McBookie... 3/1 Derek Adams 4/1 Terry Butcher 6/1 Owen Coyle 6/1 Ian Murray 7/1 Gary Locke 12/1 Jimmy Calderwood 12/1 Craig Brown 16/1 Steven Pressley 16/1 Malky Mackay 20/1 Gary McAllister 25/1 Dougie Freedman 25/1 Alex McLeish... Some of them just fantasy however the odds on Owen Coyle rather short, are they no'? Adams? Naw. Tel? Naw, yer awright. Calderwood. Hell naw Elvis. Mibbees McLeish. Aye MacKay. Aye Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Del_Superwell Posted November 2, 2014 Report Share Posted November 2, 2014 McLeish is at Racing Genk in Belgium so that rules him out, Id happily take Butcher back, would also be happy with Owen Coyle! Mackay wouldn't entertain us due to the fact he is way out our league in terms of wages etc. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Haggischomper Posted November 2, 2014 Report Share Posted November 2, 2014 I mind when we were constantly linked with Dougie Freedom as a player, now it looks like the same pish as a manager Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
maxywell Posted November 2, 2014 Report Share Posted November 2, 2014 We need somebody to give the players the boot up the a*se that they clearly need, Butcher or Calderwood but ffs not Adams, his motivational skills strike me as being non existent. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...