milo Posted December 13, 2014 Report Share Posted December 13, 2014 Best of luck to the guy. He'll certainly need it with the dross he's inherited. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Inthebasement Posted December 13, 2014 Report Share Posted December 13, 2014 Right behind him, great first interview! If we'd appointed Ian Murray on the back of doing ok with Dumbarton there would be general approval at us getting a hungry young manager in the mould of Hartley. Yet a 44 year old with a good record in England and a miracle working record in Ireland get's labelled uninspiring? Excellent appointment, and exactly the kind of appointment that has been serving us well for a decade. Just hope the players commit themselves. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stu Posted December 13, 2014 Report Share Posted December 13, 2014 To have already been deemed a failure on the day he's appointed is a new low, even for this place. Good luck, Ian. You've already got a hard enough job getting a team low in confidence and bang out of form away from the relegation zone. You've also got to try and win over ignorant people who will never give you a chance and revel in every opportunity to highlight any mistakes. You could turn out to be the greatest manager we've ever had or worse than Maurice Malpas but, ultimately, you'll never be good enough in some people's eyes. I hope you are able to galvanise the players and enjoy nothing but success in your time at the club. We have a core of supporters truly worthy of the name and they will give you all the backing you deserve. It's a fresh start and an exciting new chapter about to begin. All the best! 7 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tamwell Posted December 13, 2014 Report Share Posted December 13, 2014 Ticks all the boxes for me! Looks like this could be an inspired appointment. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
cneuhaz Posted December 13, 2014 Report Share Posted December 13, 2014 That you tube football mon dial video was excellent as was the mfctv one.Tbh I was hoping for him, I know it's a risk but for me he ticked the boxes - energetic, scouting links, some good experience as a manager, I was struggling to motivate myself to come along to fir park this season just because of the way things have been happening. There have even been days when I dragged myself to my seat in the cooper stand reluctantly and felt worse after. We have been poor.Stuart McCall did a wonderful job & is a Motherwell legend - who can forget the singing and celebrations in the Olympic stadium in Athens - outnumbered by riot police. But he did is best and the best for the club - to me his tactics and player signings have been great my only doubts wee on his ability to motivate/organise especially in one off games which occasionally just seemed to fail. He did the right thing for himself and the club in resigning.Hopefully ian baraclough can build on this with our limited and prob getting smaller resources as we in the well society look to move MFC forward. Good luck Ian and welcome to MFC Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Goggles & Flippers Posted December 13, 2014 Report Share Posted December 13, 2014 Welcome Iain, I wish you every success. If you can do it for half the money, sell academy players for £5m each and win the Champions League that would be pretty cool. Just be aware that there will always be some on here who will find fault often using conjecture and based on Chinese whispers, accept this will happen and you will receive comments like "well we were unbeaten this season and won the treble, but that 3-0 win over Rangers should have been 5" Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ya Bezzer! Posted December 13, 2014 Report Share Posted December 13, 2014 I'll moan the face off you after a terrible display or result but to moan and slate a guy when he's just in the door is unbelievable. The future of our club is in this guys hands so let's have a bit more positivity and support please, at least until such a time that we can actually judge Baraclough as a manager and that will be season 2015-16. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
superward Posted December 13, 2014 Report Share Posted December 13, 2014 I wonder if he will be in the dugout or stand today. Guessing he is here and that interview was done this morning. Assuming sitting in the stand? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest Posted December 13, 2014 Report Share Posted December 13, 2014 Welcome Iain, I wish you every success. If you can do it for half the money, sell academy players for £5m each and win the Champions League that would be pretty cool. Just be aware that there will always be some on here who will find fault often using conjecture and based on Chinese whispers, accept this will happen and you will receive comments like "well we were unbeaten this season and won the treble, but that 3-0 win over Rangers should have been 5" Aye aye. Boring. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wellfan1984 Posted December 13, 2014 Report Share Posted December 13, 2014 To have already been deemed a failure on the day he's appointed is a new low, even for this place. Nah, just run of the mill for some. Place nearly went into meltdown when we hired McCall Welcome to the club Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Geedub Posted December 13, 2014 Report Share Posted December 13, 2014 Wasn't too sure about the appointment but after watching his interview I can see why they chose him. Seems like he's the right man for the job. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ya Bezzer! Posted December 13, 2014 Report Share Posted December 13, 2014 I wonder if he will be in the dugout or stand today. Guessing he is here and that interview was done this morning. Assuming sitting in the stand? Black's in charge today so you'd have to suspect he'll be in the stand. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coatsy Posted December 13, 2014 Report Share Posted December 13, 2014 Glad to welcome our new Manager all the best Iain, onwards and upwards great to here someone talking us up instead of the negative comments we've heard for the last few years Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
StipeIsGod Posted December 13, 2014 Report Share Posted December 13, 2014 Talks a good game, and I'll judge the rest when I see it. Glad to have him, and lets see where we go from here. Onwards and upwards! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mio Posted December 13, 2014 Report Share Posted December 13, 2014 Cant help but think he's a bit Gannon-esque!! Quite happy with this, the whole place needs a shake up!! Good luck to him. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coolhandluc Posted December 13, 2014 Report Share Posted December 13, 2014 Looks like he will kick some arses. Welcome to Motherwell !! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamsie119 Posted December 13, 2014 Report Share Posted December 13, 2014 Not who I was expecting but wasn't impressed when McCall got the job and that went well so welcome to the club onwards and upwards, oh and isn't this the left field type of guy that everyone wanted but now can't understand why he is here lol Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andy H Posted December 13, 2014 Report Share Posted December 13, 2014 Lets be honest, the last few appointments have made us all go HUH? and they have all worked out. Welcome to the rollercoaster called Motherwell Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shotts Well Fan Posted December 13, 2014 Report Share Posted December 13, 2014 I am excited by this appointment. Fresh outlook and good scouting connections. Welcome on board Ian. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
star sail Posted December 13, 2014 Report Share Posted December 13, 2014 Cant help but think he's a bit Gannon-esque!! Quite happy with this, the whole place needs a shake up!! Good luck to him. My thoughts also. Gannon's time at the club did not work out but the idea was absolutely the right one. I thourougly enjoyed Gannon's time at the club so if Baraclough could bring better man management qualities I will be delighted. The interview is impressive. Articulate and upbeat. Welcome Ian!!!!!!! Intrigued by Infamous wee Grafters comment about the no 2. JG could not be on his way back could he? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andy H Posted December 13, 2014 Report Share Posted December 13, 2014 I was wondering if it was a player, someone like Craigan? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fizoxy Posted December 13, 2014 Report Share Posted December 13, 2014 Right... get the songs oot Bois! he's Iain baraclough, he isn't Brian clough, but he is good enough, to win some games and stuff. I also do private functions. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted December 13, 2014 Report Share Posted December 13, 2014 he's Iain baraclough, he isn't Brian clough, but he is good enough, to win some games and stuff. guff 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Haggischomper Posted December 13, 2014 Report Share Posted December 13, 2014 Definitely has a Gannon II feel about it. Given our current club requirements, would appear to be a far more sensible appointment than McCall - who comes from the Wattie Smith school of management - was. Looks like we will FINALLY be developing youngsters to move on for profit, a remit that Dempster's regime for the most part failed to achieve. Looking forward to seeing what this guy can do and already enjoying his positivity Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Steve Cowan App Society Posted December 13, 2014 Report Share Posted December 13, 2014 All the best to Ian"Roy"Baraclough...hope he can bring through players from youth system&take us forward..just a shame Les Dawson isn't around as he would have made great assistant Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...