chummy Posted February 26, 2015 Report Share Posted February 26, 2015 Was speaking to the auld guy beside me on sat about our strikers. The best pairing in my time supporting mwell are wee Bobby Graham and Wullie Pettigrew.....lethal pairing. thoughts?? edit to add . one if my first away games wi the old man was when we beat Celtic at parkhead when bobby n wullie were playing ...massive big sideburns lol 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
siebsbarmyarmy Posted February 26, 2015 Report Share Posted February 26, 2015 Coyne and Arnott in my lifetime. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yassin Posted February 26, 2015 Report Share Posted February 26, 2015 Higdon and Ojamaa. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fizoxy Posted February 26, 2015 Report Share Posted February 26, 2015 Coyne and Arnott. Although Coyne and Coyle were pretty nifty when they got to play together. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
chummy Posted February 26, 2015 Author Report Share Posted February 26, 2015 Coyne and Arnott in my lifetime. Terrorised the old firm those two. Did Butcher not say wee Dougie was one of the best strikers he played against? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
madscot Posted February 26, 2015 Report Share Posted February 26, 2015 I know it was pairings , but you have to include Cooper to Coyne and Arnott .What a threesome , I think they played together for a short time ? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lobey_Dosser Posted February 26, 2015 Report Share Posted February 26, 2015 Coyne and Coyle coincided with one of my most of enjoyable times following Motherwell. Higdon and Ojamaa probably top of the list in terms of quality and productivity. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ONeils40yarder Posted February 26, 2015 Report Share Posted February 26, 2015 Porter and McCormack were pretty good as well Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ya Bezzer! Posted February 26, 2015 Report Share Posted February 26, 2015 Terrorised the old firm those two. Did Butcher not say wee Dougie was one of the best strikers he played against? I'm pretty sure Arnott scored 23 goals against the OF. He scored 60 odd, maybe into the 70s overall in all competitions so that was a pretty big chunk of his career total. The best strikers were in my time where, in order 1. Tommy Coyne, 2. Scott McDonald, 3. Owen Coyle. The best pairing though was Arnott/Coyne. Over a 100 league goals between them for Motherwell and most of them playing with each other. Besides goals one of my all time favourite memories is Dougie ripping the shit out of Basil Boli who got sent off after a late tackle and then took a maddie and started jumping up and down, stamping his feet and throwing his arms about at the ref. Hilarious. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
jim64 Posted February 26, 2015 Report Share Posted February 26, 2015 Pettigrew and Graham no competition 4 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
chummy Posted February 26, 2015 Author Report Share Posted February 26, 2015 Remember we beat Rangers 2-1at fir park , with a couple of mins to go wee Dougie skinned Butcher only for said Englandur to chop him down...then kicking the ground in disgust.....quality. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Well Up For It! Posted February 26, 2015 Report Share Posted February 26, 2015 Coyne and Coyle for me, although Porter & McCormack deserve a mention Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
siebsbarmyarmy Posted February 26, 2015 Report Share Posted February 26, 2015 Terrorised the old firm those two. Did Butcher not say wee Dougie was one of the best strikers he played against? Paul Elliott, Freddie Van Der Hoorn and Butcher have all said Dougie is one of the hardest players they haver faced. Says a lot about the man. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
steelman1991 Posted February 26, 2015 Report Share Posted February 26, 2015 The best ever and for those who saw them - it can only be Graham & Pettigrew, though I must admit Coyne and Dougie run them close. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SteelmaninOZ Posted February 26, 2015 Report Share Posted February 26, 2015 Pettigrew and Graham no competition +1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Electric Blues Posted February 26, 2015 Report Share Posted February 26, 2015 Pettigrew and Graham no competition Hard to disagree with this. I'd also give an honourable mention to Willie Irvine and Bruce Cleland, for season '81 - '82 alone. To say that they weren't the most technically gifted of strikers would be a vast understatement, but that was a magical season. Brian McLaughlin blasted in his share as well. RIP, Brian. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
bobbybingo Posted February 26, 2015 Report Share Posted February 26, 2015 From the best 2 Motherwell teams I've had the pleasure of watching, Graham/Pettigrew & Coyne/Arnott. I'd find it hard to choose between them. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ohwulliewullie Posted February 26, 2015 Report Share Posted February 26, 2015 1424978205[/url]' post='433927']Coyne and Arnott in my lifetime. So having re-signed McDonald, Pearson, McFadden... Etc... Are they busy at the weekend? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tassinari Posted February 26, 2015 Report Share Posted February 26, 2015 Coyne and Coyle. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted February 26, 2015 Report Share Posted February 26, 2015 Graham and Pettigrew for me. When I was kid I thought Wullie P was just how strikers played. You often look back and realize nostalgia has made you overestimate the quality of some players, but I'm always happy to see that these guys still live up to their reputation. Graham only kept out of a great Liverpool team by Ian St. John (who was smart enough to bring him to Fir Park), and Wullie P with a burst of speed over 10 yards that left agricultural defenders (on agricultural pitches) in his wake. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
steelman1991 Posted February 27, 2015 Report Share Posted February 27, 2015 Graham and Pettigrew for me. When I was kid I thought Wullie P was just how strikers played. You often look back and realize nostalgia has made you overestimate the quality of some players, but I'm always happy to see that these guys still live up to their reputation. Graham only kept out of a great Liverpool team by Ian St. John (who was smart enough to bring him to Fir Park), and Wullie P with a burst of speed over 10 yards that left agricultural defenders (on agricultural pitches) in his wake. He did that weeyin - and he was fast particularly over the initial 10 yard burst. But he certainly didn't leave Laurie Cunningham and Cyril Regis in his wake - sprint pre Joe Wark Testimonial - they were like shit off a shovel. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kmcalpin Posted February 27, 2015 Report Share Posted February 27, 2015 Without a shadow of a doubt Pettigrew & Graham. The best pairing I've seen in 50+ years. Pettigrew was lethal and lightning quick. Graham had a real football brain and defenders simply didn't know what he was doing until the ball was in the net. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Catweazles ring piece Posted February 27, 2015 Report Share Posted February 27, 2015 1425027732[/url]' post='433976']Without a shadow of a doubt Pettigrew & Graham. The best pairing I've seen in 50+ years. Pettigrew was lethal and lightning quick. Graham had a real football brain and defenders simply didn't know what he was doing until the ball was in the net. No doubts about this one. Leathal pairing, Graham the brains and Pettigrew, pace and lethal finishing. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Busta Nut Posted February 27, 2015 Report Share Posted February 27, 2015 Willie P and co were before my time. Coyne and Arnott were great, but I am shocked Higdon has only been mentioned once. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
postiejim Posted February 27, 2015 Report Share Posted February 27, 2015 Pettigrew and Graham no competition +1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...