faddythedaddy Posted April 1, 2015 Report Share Posted April 1, 2015 Cobra strikes again. Loved him 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ped_MFC Posted April 1, 2015 Report Share Posted April 1, 2015 Also remember a 3-0 win down there when Killie finished with 8 men, Gary Locke walked for swinging an elbow at Scott Leitch and Andy McLaren for going radge after taking pelters from the Well fans. only scorer I recall was Dougie Ramsey. Back on topic, I'd take a point, a repeat of the 1-1 at FP. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Richie Posted April 1, 2015 Report Share Posted April 1, 2015 Was gonna post, but it's all been covered now. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
sbcmfc Posted April 1, 2015 Report Share Posted April 1, 2015 What's the story? His wife had died shortly before he signed for us, leaving him and a couple of kids. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Haggischomper Posted April 1, 2015 Report Share Posted April 1, 2015 Think he'd been training with killie too, and looked set to sign before we stepped in. That's the way I recall it anyway Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
StAndrew7 Posted April 2, 2015 Report Share Posted April 2, 2015 Was his boy not playing for Killie/in their youth set up recently? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Busta Nut Posted April 2, 2015 Report Share Posted April 2, 2015 Bradley or Tommy jnr? I think jnr is about 28. dunno if he has any other sons Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Big Wispy Flossy Posted April 2, 2015 Report Share Posted April 2, 2015 Was his boy not playing for Killie/in their youth set up recently? His laddy fell out the senior ranks a good number of years ago and was at Linlithgow rose last time I heard. TC was one the most technically complete strikers you are ever likely to see at a team like ours and up there with davie cooper, probably just behind him in the pecking order although there's no shame in that Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
StAndrew7 Posted April 2, 2015 Report Share Posted April 2, 2015 Aye, fairly sure it was Tommy Jnr. When I say 'recently' read: anywhere in the last 5/10 years. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Well Up For It! Posted April 2, 2015 Report Share Posted April 2, 2015 Weighing it all up , Coyne is probably the best striker I've seen at the club in my lifetime. Him and Coyle made for some partnership. Everyone talks about achievement of Hidgon being Top Goalscorer in SPL, but Coyne done it 94-95 season up against much better players than what Higdon was. I'm sure he's the only player I can think of to represent Motherwell at a World Cup, USA 1994. As for the game, this on paper is our hardest game from our remaining fixtures and would be happy with a point. If we perfrom like we did 2nd half against Accies, all 3 points is definitely achievable. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andy_P Posted April 2, 2015 Report Share Posted April 2, 2015 Unless it's happened already I'm hoping the failure to confirm Locke as the Killie manager going forward will transmit some uncertainty to their players. I thought he'd have been a shoe-in and it would have been a case of simply rubber stamping his appointment. Any little distraction helps! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
FJ-94 Posted April 2, 2015 Report Share Posted April 2, 2015 Weighing it all up , Coyne is probably the best striker I've seen at the club in my lifetime. Him and Coyle made for some partnership. Everyone talks about achievement of Hidgon being Top Goalscorer in SPL, but Coyne done it 94-95 season up against much better players than what Higdon was. I'm sure he's the only player I can think of to represent Motherwell at a World Cup, USA 1994. As for the game, this on paper is our hardest game from our remaining fixtures and would be happy with a point. If we perfrom like we did 2nd half against Accies, all 3 points is definitely achievable. Wouldn't really count this as he only played 8 games for us and didn't play at the world cup but thought it was interesting to note 'New Zealand have named seven European-based players in their 23-man squad for the World Cup in South Africa. Blackburn Rovers central defender Ryan Nelsen will captain the side who are appearing in the tournament for the first time since their debut in 1982. Plymouth's Rory Fallon, Chris Killen of Middlesbrough, Tommy Smith of Ipswich, West Brom's Chris Wood and Motherwell's Michael McGlinchey are also included./ 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
daver Posted April 2, 2015 Report Share Posted April 2, 2015 Also, his contract had expired by the time the World Cup came around. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Well Up For It! Posted April 2, 2015 Report Share Posted April 2, 2015 Also, his contract had expired by the time the World Cup came around. His contract expired before the 1994 World Cup but somehow he managed to be SPL top goalscorer with us the 94/95 season and be a regular in the squad until 1998?? EDIT: unless of course you mean McGlinchey! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted April 2, 2015 Report Share Posted April 2, 2015 Not only was he a Motherwell player during the World Cup, but I think he actually improved after it. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
steelman1991 Posted April 2, 2015 Report Share Posted April 2, 2015 Think there's confusion here between The Cobra and McGlinchey (who's contract may have expired before the World Cup). Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Big Wispy Flossy Posted April 2, 2015 Report Share Posted April 2, 2015 His contract expired before the 1994 World Cup but somehow he managed to be SPL top goalscorer with us the 94/95 season and be a regular in the squad until 1998?? He's referring to michael mcglinchey Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Haggischomper Posted April 2, 2015 Report Share Posted April 2, 2015 McGlinchey, I think, not Coyne 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Busta Nut Posted April 2, 2015 Report Share Posted April 2, 2015 McGlinchey was never our player. wee on loan guy Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MelvinBragg Posted April 2, 2015 Report Share Posted April 2, 2015 His contract expired before the 1994 World Cup but somehow he managed to be SPL top goalscorer with us the 94/95 season and be a regular in the squad until 1998?? Think he was talking about McGlinchey... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ya Bezzer! Posted April 2, 2015 Report Share Posted April 2, 2015 TC was one the most technically complete strikers you are ever likely to see at a team like ours and up there with davie cooper. Quite a good comparison because like Cooper, Coyne didn't have any pace either. It was all about space, movement, technique with Coyne and again a lot like Cooper, at the end of the day, instinctive ability. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Desp Posted April 2, 2015 Report Share Posted April 2, 2015 Also remember a 3-0 win down there when Killie finished with 8 men, Gary Locke walked for swinging an elbow at Scott Leitch and Andy McLaren for going radge after taking pelters from the Well fans. only scorer I recall was Dougie Ramsey. Pearson got the 2nd, and McFadden scored a free-kick to make it 3-0 IIRC. Gordon Marshall was in goals for Killie, i'm sure. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted April 2, 2015 Report Share Posted April 2, 2015 Quite a good comparison because like Cooper, Coyne didn't have any pace either. It was all about space, movement, technique with Coyne and again a lot like Cooper, at the end of the day, instinctive ability. Did he track back though? If he didn't, he was obviously mince. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Desp Posted April 2, 2015 Report Share Posted April 2, 2015 Tommy Coyne was an absolute genius. What a player. My favourite ever Motherwell player (it will take something pretty bloody special to change that) and my childhood hero. Being 28 now, I only wish I was older when he played for us, so I could've appreciated his time with us more. I always see fans talk about the Coyne/Coyle partnership. He had a great one with Dougie as well. Always loved the throw-in routine they had. TC would come short to collect, throw a dummy, ball would run through to Arnott who would lay it off to Coyne who'd spun round the side. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Well Up For It! Posted April 2, 2015 Report Share Posted April 2, 2015 Apologies...re-read and believe he did mean McGlinchey. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...