Davie boy Posted February 28, 2009 Report Share Posted February 28, 2009 Superb today, cant wait for Tynecastle on Wed! Great opportunity now, 4pts off Utd, who go to Falkirk midweek, and we got them at the Fir next week, bring it on!! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
rab_mackinnon Posted February 28, 2009 Report Share Posted February 28, 2009 Delighted we needed those 3 points badly !!! 6 points clear of hamilton!!! 4 point in front of Hibs with hearts and Dundee united to play in the next week our season is here and now!!! We are going great guns and this one of the best unbeaten runs i have ever known as a well supporter. Much respect to the boys and the management credit where credit's due, even if we were to lose out on europe it's been one hell of a ride and i'm very proud of our wee club!!! Afraid to dream just now, but if they keep plugging away we have the faith you can do it boys make me renew my passport please!!!!! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yir Elder Posted February 28, 2009 Report Share Posted February 28, 2009 Chuffed with the three points today, brings us withing three of Aberdeen and four of United, and perhaps more importantly three clear of Hibs and the rest. Europe is still on but for me reaching the top six is first priority. Delighted for both our scorers today, here's hoping we can take something from Swinecastle on Wednesday. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SuperSteelman Posted February 28, 2009 Report Share Posted February 28, 2009 Delighted to see big Cillian getting a goal, hopefully he'll be adding a few more soon. Also great to see big Stretch coming through the 90 minutes unscathed. A great win today and our unbeaten run continues. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
DC'd Posted February 28, 2009 Report Share Posted February 28, 2009 How long before the chant is "We Are Unbeatable" comes out from us, a la Arsenal when on their 49 match unbeaten run a few years ago. To be fair, that was a momentous achievement from Arsenal, we are a 5th of the way there already! Mon the Well! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
GazzyB Posted February 28, 2009 Report Share Posted February 28, 2009 FUCKIN YAAAAAAAASSSSSSSSS!!!!! I fucking LOVE beating those c***s, walkin home through the mass of Caley fans with the biggest smile on my face. Get it right and truly fucking UP them!! Firstly, a huge well done to the 20 or so lads from our support. Not sure if they were the Well Boys, Eastend Boaby Crew or whatever, but they didn't stop singing all game. They were literally the only people in the ground making any atmosphere. Absolutely fantastic. Songs like "Oh Richie Richie Foran", "Terry, geez a wave!", the Glasgow Celtic Peadophile one, The Klimpl song, around the 60 minute mark they started a chant of "If you hate Maurice Malpas clap your hands!", and I shit you not, the entire away stand was clapping like fuck. Well done chaps! Secondly, I felt Caley can feel a bit hard done by today. In the first half it was a pretty even game. We defended well, got forward when we could, and passed the ball around okay-ish. Second half was a lot more back-to-front, and we got quite overrun in the midfield. However I felt Caley could play all day and still not equalise. Graeme Smith had trouble catching the ball today, and Hughes & Hammell faded a bit in the 2nd half, but other than that, I can't really complain. Special mention to Brian McLean, it looked like he'd never been away! And Jim O'Brien was the tits today, absolutely superb! Clarky was pretty gash and was hooked pretty sharpish. The two boys up front did well, and Sutton ran himself into the ground. Not entirely sure who got the second, but it was a fucking sweet finish. Finally, I said it last week, and I'll say it again, and you can disagree with me if you want, but I thought the ref was really good today! A fucking brilliant 3 points! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
another number Posted February 28, 2009 Report Share Posted February 28, 2009 Really happy with the result today. I hate playing against players we used to have and managers we used to have. Keeping the unbeaten league run on the go can only be of benefit for the players confidence. Great to have McLean back! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
DunnyMFC Posted February 28, 2009 Report Share Posted February 28, 2009 Great result very happy that Sutton and Sheridan scored. Hopefully we will beat Hearts and keep this unbeaten streak going. EDIT: Was Stretch any good today? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MJC_MKI Posted February 28, 2009 Report Share Posted February 28, 2009 A brilliant result from what was potentially a very difficult away fixture. Onwards and upwards we go On a side note, we didn't really sing "Oh Richie Foran" did we? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mon_da_well Posted February 28, 2009 Report Share Posted February 28, 2009 That'll do Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
delboy Posted February 28, 2009 Report Share Posted February 28, 2009 not a bad day at the office onwards and upwards Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gaag Posted February 28, 2009 Author Report Share Posted February 28, 2009 I thought McLean looked very comfortable and composed today. he did get skinned once, but made up for it. Didn't really have a whole lot to do though. But his work rate was great the whole game. Both finishes were very good! Ryan Esson came out far to early and sutton nipped in with a good finish from the edge of the box (or so it seemed from the other end of the pitch!) Sheridan's was class, but it would never have happened if Grant Munro hadn't screwed up big time to let him in with the ball. There was nowt wrong with the caley pitch today, I personally thought it looked fine (although that's me comparing it to our own tattie field). And well done to the East End Boaby Crew or whoever it was who were singing all game, good effort. What was the point of the Ryan Esson Child Molester song though? Doesn't even rhyme! Coppers and stewards were mostly good today as well. Let us stand up the whole game and never bothered the more exuberant ones at the front either. Roll on Monday so I can slag off my colleagues Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Special aka Posted February 28, 2009 Report Share Posted February 28, 2009 potential banana skin overcome. where did you boys go for a beer ? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
well_nuts Posted February 28, 2009 Report Share Posted February 28, 2009 Just back. Had a great time. Went to the pals birds house when we got up there then to a place called dows for a drink before going up. 2 fuck ups for our goals but good result. I would go back after today as that was my first time up there. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
that hat Posted February 28, 2009 Report Share Posted February 28, 2009 Firstly, a huge well done to the 20 or so lads from our support. Not sure if they were the Well Boys, Eastend Boaby Crew or whatever, but they didn't stop singing all game. They were literally the only people in the ground making any atmosphere. Absolutely fantastic. Songs like "Oh Richie Richie Foran", "Terry, geez a wave!", the Glasgow Celtic Peadophile one, The Klimpl song, around the 60 minute mark they started a chant of "If you hate Maurice Malpas clap your hands!", and I shit you not, the entire away stand was clapping like fuck. Well done chaps! Secondly, I felt Caley can feel a bit hard done by today. In the first half it was a pretty even game. We defended well, got forward when we could, and passed the ball around okay-ish. Second half was a lot more back-to-front, and we got quite overrun in the midfield. However I felt Caley could play all day and still not equalise. Graeme Smith had trouble catching the ball today, and Hughes & Hammell faded a bit in the 2nd half, but other than that, I can't really complain. Special mention to Brian McLean, it looked like he'd never been away! And Jim O'Brien was the tits today, absolutely superb! Clarky was pretty gash and was hooked pretty sharpish. The two boys up front did well, and Sutton ran himself into the ground. Not entirely sure who got the second, but it was a fucking sweet finish. Finally, I said it last week, and I'll say it again, and you can disagree with me if you want, but I thought the ref was really good today! I could have writen that except: McCurry was possibly a bit too lenient towards 'Well on a couple of occasions, and the songs directed at both Celtic and Esson were totally uncalled for. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bert the Sailor Posted February 28, 2009 Report Share Posted February 28, 2009 Just back from the game, Great 3 points which make the journey well worth it. Mclean had a solid first game back, would've liked to see him get forward a bit more, but still a very good comeback and great to have another decent defender back in the squad. O'brien and Sheridean were our two best players in my opinion. Looked dangerous and were a threat all game. Think Clarkson was being played in midfield, which I think we can safely say he can't do that job, hence he was hooked for D.L Smith who came on to and put in a bit of a horror of a performance. He looked completely lost for 30mins of the game until in the last 5 mins where he made a few wee runs down the wing. Usually like Smith but it wasn't his greatest contribution. Reynolds had a good game outpacing the caley players with ease. Klimpl threw himself about well, but picked up another booking (how many is that?). Hammell had a great first half and him and Hughes combined really well in the first half and the caley players were struggling to deal with them, but they both faded in the second half. All in all, a good result and an ok performance. 3 points really puts us in a good position to attack the teams above us, whilst putting some distance between us and hibs + accies. Special mention to the lads behind the goal who kept the singing throughout the game. Poor Mo Malpas getting it in the neck all day. Brian Kerr got the biggest "Boo" of the game as his name was read out at the start. And poor, poor show fae Terry, who did not gie them a wave. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
that hat Posted February 28, 2009 Report Share Posted February 28, 2009 And poor, poor show fae Terry, who did not gie them a wave. And also Bob Malcolm, in contrast to McGarry's enthusiastic celebration and Dairylea's polite applause. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gaag Posted February 28, 2009 Author Report Share Posted February 28, 2009 Bob Malcolm out. he probably feels ashamed to applaud the fans who pay his over inflated wages. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted February 28, 2009 Report Share Posted February 28, 2009 I don't think Butcher would even sign Malcolm. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
WellMartyn Posted February 28, 2009 Report Share Posted February 28, 2009 Just back there...everything about the day was top notch and to get the win was even better and made the bus journey home much much better! The constant singing was excellent aswell and the performance wasn't too bad either! Mon the Well!!!! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
IanMFC Posted February 28, 2009 Report Share Posted February 28, 2009 Seee whoever it was who was all "our season's over..." after the St. Mirren cup game.....go look at the table now pal. Right in there!! Awesome result. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest 'Flow Posted March 1, 2009 Report Share Posted March 1, 2009 Great result for the boys and hopefully a spring board to a genuine fight for a return to Europe. Oh a side note, wish we could play Inverness Caley every week... Or at least, Inverness away every other week (travel aside). We've won the last six games against them and our record at the Caledonian Stadium reads: P: 11 W: 8 D: 1 L: 2 F: 16: A: 8 GD: +8 Incredible stuff... 'Flow Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alan_mfc Posted March 1, 2009 Report Share Posted March 1, 2009 What was the problem with smith coming on and then being taken back off, he carrying a knock? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Juan Kerse Posted March 1, 2009 Report Share Posted March 1, 2009 What was the problem with smith coming on and then being taken back off, he carrying a knock? You would hope so otherwise it is a pretty wide thing to do and not exactly a confidence booster subbing a sub... Anyway the game, just back myself (albeit with a stop off at Perth for a night on the swally ) and it was a great 3 points that were gifted to us but we are due a bit of luck as it is always us giving away goals. Europe here we come!! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
superwell87 Posted March 1, 2009 Report Share Posted March 1, 2009 A important and good result. Hopefully we can continue this good run we are on at the moment, no matter how ugly the wins are. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...