joewarkfanclub Posted June 5, 2015 Report Share Posted June 5, 2015 The Pettigrew / Graham team were the first I remember as a boy so I absolutely love that mock up. Would buy it tomorrow.... 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BigCDawg Posted June 5, 2015 Report Share Posted June 5, 2015 That kit looks fantastic. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted June 6, 2015 Report Share Posted June 6, 2015 The Pettigrew / Graham team were the first I remember as a boy so I absolutely love that mock up. Would buy it tomorrow.... Same here. The sash will always have that association for me, which makes it pretty special. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
The African Posted June 6, 2015 Report Share Posted June 6, 2015 Another vote for the sash, especially if it looks as good as UBH's mock up. Fantastic work and thanks also for the informative stuff on the club colours. Good to know. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Haggischomper Posted June 6, 2015 Report Share Posted June 6, 2015 Not a fan of sash strips but that mock up looks braw Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jacol Posted June 6, 2015 Report Share Posted June 6, 2015 Love the mock up, and I have been hoping on the return of the sash for a few years. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BigWeegieDosser Posted June 6, 2015 Report Share Posted June 6, 2015 Love the Pettigrew/Graham tribute style. Magical memories warching us in it. I remember buying from the club shop in Windmillhill street beside the Civic Centre. Always went down well wearing it at PE in Glasgow, I've been spreading the gospel to the Weegies since the 70's! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
WilliePettigrew Posted June 6, 2015 Report Share Posted June 6, 2015 Just got email from club shop and new kit not launched till mid July. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Goggles & Flippers Posted June 6, 2015 Report Share Posted June 6, 2015 Don't like the sash and never will unless it's an away top. I'd like to see black socks and not have to wait 16 years to see them. If any of you recall the Leeds Utd game and how good and how much impact that relatively simple strip had, it's the way forward. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BigWeegieDosser Posted June 6, 2015 Report Share Posted June 6, 2015 Speaking of Leeds- the Admiral strip that followed the sash one- a claret and white stripe the full length of the sleeves and a very bright yellow was a monstrosity . Skin tight and made of the roughest nylon material . No repeat of that please. Black socks???? Just plain Naw! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ropy Posted June 6, 2015 Report Share Posted June 6, 2015 It was a fire hazard Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andy_P Posted June 6, 2015 Report Share Posted June 6, 2015 One of my favourite away tops included the sash. White strip with a claret and amber sash spoiled only by the inclusion of the Ian Skelly moniker. Produced by Matchwinner during 89/90 if I remember rightly. Classy. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BigWeegieDosser Posted June 6, 2015 Report Share Posted June 6, 2015 I liked the white away strip with the multi pin stripe claret n amber band down the left chest side- (hampden semi 1976 v Gers. Don't get me started on the ref, mind you revenge is a dish best served cold- 39 years later) 6 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted June 6, 2015 Report Share Posted June 6, 2015 I liked that one too. Although in 1976 I think it was our change strip rather than away strip thanks to Scotland, at that time, being one of the few (or only) leagues where home team changed if there was a clash. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Geedub Posted June 6, 2015 Report Share Posted June 6, 2015 Hopefully the club will cater for the folk who actually buy strips ie folk under 30. #sashisgash Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mio Posted June 6, 2015 Report Share Posted June 6, 2015 I hate the sash strip, the word sash just annoys me!! all that's missing is a pair of white gloves and a bowler hat. Traditional full hoop, its the only way!! Or a pair of hooped shorts like Scotlands 86 world cup strip..........or maybe not!! 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
EightSixteen Posted June 6, 2015 Report Share Posted June 6, 2015 The 125th anniversary strip combo for the Leeds game is my favourite of all time. I wish I had bought a few of those tops as mine has seen better days and the Well Shop have long run dry The hooped socks were class too 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andy_P Posted June 6, 2015 Report Share Posted June 6, 2015 Hopefully the club will cater for the folk who actually buy strips ie folk under 30. #sashisgashThat's a fair point, I wonder how many folk don't buy strips because they don't like the design? I just couldn't take to the home kit with the blue Zoom band for example and refused to buy that. I sheepishly gave in and bought the away kit when we got to the League Cup Final with its marginally less offensive sponsor logo. I'm pretty sure we were stuck with that home kit for 2 seasons as well. Doubtless just to spite me... Strips aside I'm hoping for a proper badge on whatever polos, training tops etc. we get this season. I was particularly pleased when Macron got the gig having seen some of the excellent stuff they produced for the Scottish rugby team. Bit more expensive yes but quality stuff. If it's another case of an embroidered Macron logo on one side and a cheap, plastic looking Motherwell badge opposite then again my cash is likely to remain in my pocket this season. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BigWeegieDosser Posted June 6, 2015 Report Share Posted June 6, 2015 Hopefully the club will cater for the folk who actually buy strips ie folk under 30. #sashisgashThat's an ageist statement there, mate.It's all about the history- past, present and future... If it's good, it's good If it's shot, it's shit P.S / how about a wee discount for the over 30s???? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Al B Posted June 6, 2015 Report Share Posted June 6, 2015 I agree, i'm post-30 but I can't be doing will all this retro nonsense. Retro should be left for memories, if we keep trying to bring things back then the present has no identity or time-stamp to it. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Geedub Posted June 6, 2015 Report Share Posted June 6, 2015 I turned 30 this year but stopped wearing football shirts outwith actually playing football a long time ago. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BigWeegieDosser Posted June 6, 2015 Report Share Posted June 6, 2015 Geedub That's the kind of attitude that could make Mike Ashley a very poor man... I'm happy to fork out for merchandise as long as it's decent quality and doesn't cheapen the image of the club It's all pennies in the coffers Turnstile cash is becoming an ever smaller part of the income stream these days unfortunately Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ropy Posted June 6, 2015 Report Share Posted June 6, 2015 I hate the sash strip, the word sash just annoys me!! all that's missing is a pair of white gloves and a bowler hat. Traditional full hoop, its the only way!! Or a pair of hooped shorts like Scotlands 86 world cup strip..........or maybe not!! Did we call it a sash in the '70s, I don't remember that. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
two_sevens Posted June 6, 2015 Report Share Posted June 6, 2015 I think it was just called a diagonal. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Frazzie Posted June 6, 2015 Report Share Posted June 6, 2015 A very quick mock up to show that last years Lazio Macron home template would be a suitable stand in for the Umbro 70s claret sash design. However, as with all sash tops there would be an issue with regard to the sponsors logo. Swoon. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...