Gazs66 Posted October 1, 2015 Report Share Posted October 1, 2015 Like a few others, Wark and Pettigrew were idols when I started watching the 'Well in the 1970's. Came across this wee interview on youtube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4wi_P2_AG9g Rip Joe. 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ianc Posted October 1, 2015 Report Share Posted October 1, 2015 Very very sad news another stunning fitba player gone. Ignored by Scotland. Why? he played for us always. The best full back that should have had many many Scots caps. Always mind his style where he seemed to whip by his man and it was as if he took a lung full and barrelled his way down the park in his absolutely inimitable style. Joe Wark for Scotland we shouted for years. Shame real shame. Great memories Joe thanks. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Brazilian Posted October 1, 2015 Report Share Posted October 1, 2015 Was very saddened to read this news, I was too young to remember details of Joes skillful contribution in games I attended, I did know the auldyins around me rated him though, and his presence was felt around the stadium long after he stopped playing, he was part of every European tour and at many domestic games and social events, I truly wish my father knew Joe, and that I had been lucky enough to have witnessed more of his contributions on the park, but I know he is a club legend in every way Thoughts with his family first and foremost , he meant so much more to them than to us fans. The petition however is pathetic in every sense. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
grumpy Posted October 1, 2015 Report Share Posted October 1, 2015 My first game at Fir Park was about 1967 - 68 and Joe will forever be associated in my mind with my formative years as a Well fan. One of the best full backs I ever had the privilege of watching, and the best uncapped player bar none. I am very saddened by this news, legend is a much over used term, but not in this case. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Welldaft Mk1 Posted October 1, 2015 Report Share Posted October 1, 2015 I was too young to remember details of Joes skillful contribution in games I attended, I did know the auldyins around me rated him though, That would make you a teenager then ..... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
joewarkfanclub Posted October 1, 2015 Report Share Posted October 1, 2015 So sad to hear this news tonight. Joe was the captain and driving force for the first Motherwell team I ever watched. He and Wullie P were my boyhood heroes. A consumate professional. Never dived, rarely booked. You'd struggle to find anyone in Scottish football that had a bad word to say about him. He is the best left back to wear the claret and amber in my lifetime ant the best player I ever saw that was never capped for Scotland. Feels like Ive lost a little bit of my childhood tonight. RIP Joe. You were one of the best. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ColtnessDosser Posted October 1, 2015 Report Share Posted October 1, 2015 My first footballing hero, and still the best I've ever seen in Claret and Amber. Thoughts are with his family at this time. RIP Joe, a true legend Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bop Posted October 1, 2015 Report Share Posted October 1, 2015 Far too young to have ever seen him play and only found out tonight, for the first time, that my father did actually know Joe Wark. Heard a few teary stories tonight which has really brought home just how well thought of he was up Fir Park way. Sad news, rest in peace. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
trainbus Posted October 1, 2015 Report Share Posted October 1, 2015 Growing up for me, was my grampa, Glassford Tower and Joe Wark. Thank you Joe Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kmcalpin Posted October 1, 2015 Report Share Posted October 1, 2015 Very saddened by today's news. Joe will be remembered as one of of all our time greats. From his 3 goals against Montrose to playing between the sticks he never did things by halves. A genuinely nice guy who will be sorely missed. One of my boyhood heroes. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andy Harrow Posted October 2, 2015 Report Share Posted October 2, 2015 Sad news, great guy and great family. Thoughts are with them. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yabba's Turd Posted October 2, 2015 Report Share Posted October 2, 2015 Joe Wark was a gentleman, had the pleasure of watching him play for us for maybe 8 seasons,fond memories of throwing snowballs at his 2nd testimonial, played against him 3 times and also met him many times at functions, he was a true great for our club. RIP Joe Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Electric Blues Posted October 2, 2015 Report Share Posted October 2, 2015 I'm smiling on the outside at my many memories of Joe, but inside I'm crying. I doubt the Steelmen will ever see his like again. RIP Joe. 3 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shotts Well Fan Posted October 2, 2015 Report Share Posted October 2, 2015 True Club Legend. RIP Joe. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest Posted October 2, 2015 Report Share Posted October 2, 2015 Like many, too young to have seen him, but that song seemed to echo through Nancy. Topped off by his son in the middle of the stand in front of me, pointing out that Joe Wark is my father. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
wee_alpha Posted October 2, 2015 Report Share Posted October 2, 2015 I am glad I am old enough to have seen him play. Not only was his timing of the tackle impeccable, but he had this uncanny knack of being able to judge the high ball and whether the attacker was going to get it or not. You would see him sometimes take a few steps back, the attacker would jump and miss the ball and there was Joe in exactly the right place to collect it. The best left back I have ever seen at Fir Park. A great player and a great man. RIP Joe. 3 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
davef Posted October 2, 2015 Report Share Posted October 2, 2015 My favourite Joe Wark moment, the Cup Tie v Aberdeen which we lost 1-0 due to a John Hewitt goal after 15 Seconds ! In the same game Joe took a cross from the right on his chest about a yard out from the back post and played it right into Hugh Sproat's ( I think ? ) hands ! Fantastic piece of skill. RIP Joe a REAL LEGEND. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joe Wark The Legend Posted October 2, 2015 Report Share Posted October 2, 2015 Joe Wark a True Legend RIP Joe. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shire Greats Posted October 2, 2015 Report Share Posted October 2, 2015 A proper footballer..........RIP Joe Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
brainier Posted October 2, 2015 Report Share Posted October 2, 2015 Wouldn't it be respectful to have a minute's silence rather than applause at our next home game. Oh, checked the fixtures. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MFCL84 Posted October 2, 2015 Report Share Posted October 2, 2015 Great player and my hero as a young lad who started watching Motherwell around the time that Joe signed. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Frazzie Posted October 2, 2015 Report Share Posted October 2, 2015 Wouldn't it be respectful to have a minute's silence rather than applause at our next home game. Oh, checked the fixtures. Surely it's a silence? 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
madscot Posted October 2, 2015 Report Share Posted October 2, 2015 Frazzie, on 02 Oct 2015 - 7:58 PM, said:Surely it's a silence? Minutes silence , got to be . Even against them . Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Haggischomper Posted October 2, 2015 Author Report Share Posted October 2, 2015 In the silence vs applause thing I've always kind of liked the idea of a player getting that one last round of applause. Never been a fan of silences, to be honest. They've always felt a little awkward. Different argument for a different thread though. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ianc Posted October 2, 2015 Report Share Posted October 2, 2015 Id rather the ground chanted Joe Wark for Scotland just to remind all of us what Scotland missed. 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...