gary_411 Posted February 23, 2009 Report Share Posted February 23, 2009 Given our recent form and results, compared to how pish we were playin at the beginning of the season, i was just wonderin how folk think we might fare against Nancy if we played them just now? With our defence lookin a bit more solid (especially at set-pieces) it would maybe be more of a game and with Klimpl it'd be a different story all together. Thoughts? PS try to ignore the fact that our pitch would probably play a part. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
GazzyB Posted February 23, 2009 Report Share Posted February 23, 2009 I'd say we'd get horsed again. They were just too good for us, and the away leg could've been about six or seven! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sarah Posted February 23, 2009 Report Share Posted February 23, 2009 I'd say we'd get horsed again. They were just too good for us, and the away leg could've been about six or seven! I actually thought we played a lot better away than we did back home at Fir Park. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Geedub Posted February 23, 2009 Report Share Posted February 23, 2009 We would get our arses felt. Personally, I think this run were on is a bit of a fluke. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted February 23, 2009 Report Share Posted February 23, 2009 If we played 4-4-2 we could give them a half-decent game. However, we'd probably play some weird 3-7-0 formation and lose by 3. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
numpty Posted February 23, 2009 Report Share Posted February 23, 2009 We'd still lose. They had far more pace, strength and skill in most areas of the park. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
WellMartyn Posted February 23, 2009 Report Share Posted February 23, 2009 We'd get beat. As others have stated, they were simply too good for us in every department! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
GazzyB Posted February 24, 2009 Report Share Posted February 24, 2009 I actually thought we played a lot better away than we did back home at Fir Park. Agreed, we were horrible at Fir Park, but Graeme Smith had the game of his life away from home! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yabba's Turd Posted February 24, 2009 Report Share Posted February 24, 2009 We got pumped 1-0 over there, too much drink and romance of 'keeping it tight', whenever we opened up Nancy were through us like a dose. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Steelmen Posted February 24, 2009 Report Share Posted February 24, 2009 I went for it would be close. Klimpl for Malcolm is the only real change. That would make a huge difference in terms of actually getting close to the guy on the ball but hey we will do better next season. Lee Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fatcalf Posted February 24, 2009 Report Share Posted February 24, 2009 I reckon we'd do better but they might have improved as well. We never really got going but that's true for the most part in this season to date. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andy_P Posted February 24, 2009 Report Share Posted February 24, 2009 The team you were really looking to take on Nancy would have been the one from December 2007 when our attacking play was perahps at its most creative and potent. That Motherwell team in the form they were would have been our best chance of beating them I think. Sadly for a variety of reasons we've never quite returned to such levels. You live in hope that we'll get back there but we are a different team now in many respects. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
milo Posted February 24, 2009 Report Share Posted February 24, 2009 The biggest disapointment of Europe was the team that got us there wasn't the team that represented us when we played there. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
huggins Posted February 24, 2009 Report Share Posted February 24, 2009 The biggest disapointment of Europe was the team that got us there wasn't the team that represented us when we played there. My thoughts exactly. Didn't want to bring it up but we just aren't the same without Phil Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
milo Posted February 24, 2009 Report Share Posted February 24, 2009 Or McCormack, or Paterson, or Porter. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lobey_Dosser Posted February 24, 2009 Report Share Posted February 24, 2009 Bring back the team that horsed Hibs in the League Cup at Easter Road and I'd fancy us against anyone. Sadly, Nancy are miles ahead of our current crop. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
WellArmy_88 Posted February 24, 2009 Report Share Posted February 24, 2009 Would klimpl not be cup tied? Anyway went for us to be better but still get beat. You never no though i dont think there doing that well a they did last season. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
rightdodgyman Posted February 24, 2009 Report Share Posted February 24, 2009 we'd still lose. they had some classy players Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
steelboy Posted February 24, 2009 Report Share Posted February 24, 2009 playing sutton rather than porter is the single worst decision mcghee will ever make at motherwell. porter had started to show a wee bit of form before the away tie and big sutton can barely run, never mind hold the ball up. allowing fat boab to wander around and not mark anyone didn't make much sense to me either. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
brazilmfc Posted February 24, 2009 Report Share Posted February 24, 2009 Good poll. I think we would still lose but would be interesting. I just wish he had played 4 4 2 and we had o'brien, bit more direct and that might have suited us better. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...