GazzyB Posted January 8, 2016 Report Share Posted January 8, 2016 What's the coverage for tomorrow's game? Are the two fans commentating, and if not is OAM available? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
superward Posted January 8, 2016 Report Share Posted January 8, 2016 Game should be fine though. Sleet for a couple hours yet, nothing over night and then some rain from 10am that should wash any snow away. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MelvinBragg Posted January 8, 2016 Report Share Posted January 8, 2016 The real concern would be Cove travelling down. If it's not safe for them, then the game may be off... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kmcalpin Posted January 8, 2016 Report Share Posted January 8, 2016 The real concern would be Cove travelling down. If it's not safe for them, then the game may be off... This will be down to the Police. I don't know if Police Scotland is more consistent in its "advice" than the previous regional forces were. In the recent past some forces ie Strathclyde took into account the state of car parks whilst others seemed to ignore them. A few years ago I recall a midweek cup game at Inverness which involved travelling in shocking conditions - freezing fog. The car park at the ground was in horrific condition - we had to wade ankle deep through slush, ice and puddles to gain access to the stadium. The Highland Police weren't concerned in the least. To cap it all we played rubbish and got beaten 2-0. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted January 8, 2016 Report Share Posted January 8, 2016 Surely the bigger issue is Cove getting down tomorrow? The park should be fine. 4 degrees in real money apparently. You're just a youngster. When I was a wean, the BBC weather was always in Farenheit. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MearnsWell Posted January 8, 2016 Report Share Posted January 8, 2016 The real concern would be Cove travelling down. If it's not safe for them, then the game may be off... Just driven down from Aberdeen and it's fine all the way down until you hit the Shire... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
StipeIsGod Posted January 8, 2016 Report Share Posted January 8, 2016 Can't wait for this. Really looking forward to a new challenge, a new battle and a different match from the 50-50 we play week in week out. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Waldo Posted January 8, 2016 Report Share Posted January 8, 2016 Just driven down from Aberdeen and it's fine all the way down until you hit the Shire...Did you canoe the first few miles? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Frazzie Posted January 8, 2016 Report Share Posted January 8, 2016 I assume the Cove players are in the Central belt already. Are they likely to bring many fans? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ianc Posted January 8, 2016 Report Share Posted January 8, 2016 My brother just arrived from north of Aberdeen, only issue was when he hit back roads in Ayrshire. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spiderpig Posted January 9, 2016 Report Share Posted January 9, 2016 Is the game in any doubt today has the pitch been covered ? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Juan Kerse Posted January 9, 2016 Report Share Posted January 9, 2016 Aye what's the weather report down there? I'm hearing Lesmahagow got a fair amount of Snow, what's Motherwell like? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
numpty Posted January 9, 2016 Report Share Posted January 9, 2016 Updates and photos on 'fishel Twitter and from Flow since last night. Pitch was being cleared until late last night, undersoil heating's been on since Thursday, not covered (because apparently that's not what you do for snow), clearing last of crusted snow this morning, volunteers helping to clear surrounding areas. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dezz Posted January 9, 2016 Report Share Posted January 9, 2016 Motherwell Twitter has just posted some pictures under soil hearing is doing its job and melting the snow. Pitch should be fine providing no serious snow/rain prior to kick off. However, they've asked for any volunteers willing to go down to help clear the car park, stairs, surrounding areas etc. If the game is any doubt it'll likely be for the areas around the stadium, not the pitch itself. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kmcalpin Posted January 9, 2016 Report Share Posted January 9, 2016 If the game is any doubt it'll likely be for the areas around the stadium, not the pitch itself. You're very likely right but it really is a ludicrous situation isn't it. If areas around a football stadium are tricky then the game may be postponed but if they are tricky around a pub, club or swimming pool then they don't have to close. You'd have thought that the first places closed by Police would be pubs/clubs given that some punters would be unsteady on their feet even in dry conditions! 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ropy Posted January 9, 2016 Report Share Posted January 9, 2016 I live 30 minutes away and have not seen one flake of snow, the game would only be in doubt if there was 2 feet of snow on the surrounding streets, I haven't seen any pictures to suggest there is anything other than a light dusting. The issue may be ice but get a bit of grit down and everything will be fine. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
daver Posted January 9, 2016 Report Share Posted January 9, 2016 I read a post last night saying there was 1-2 inches near Fir Park. The snow seems very localised. I live in Glasgow but went out to Hamilton last night. The first I saw of snow was when I got onto the M74. Hamilton had a reasonable covering and I heard reports of buses getting stuck but there hasn't been any sign of snow in Glasgow (much to my kids' disgust). Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dezz Posted January 9, 2016 Report Share Posted January 9, 2016 You're very likely right but it really is a ludicrous situation isn't it. If areas around a football stadium are tricky then the game may be postponed but if they are tricky around a pub, club or swimming pool then they don't have to close. You'd have thought that the first places closed by Police would be pubs/clubs given that some punters would be unsteady on their feet even in dry conditions! Totally agree, it's absolutely ludicrous! There'll be plenty more people visiting Buchanan Galleries today and pub & clubs all over the country tonight than there'll be at Fir Park but for some reason football fans can't be trusted not to fall over?! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
superward Posted January 9, 2016 Report Share Posted January 9, 2016 I read a post last night saying there was 1-2 inches near Fir Park. The snow seems very localised. I live in Glasgow but went out to Hamilton last night. The first I saw of snow was when I got onto the M74. Hamilton had a reasonable covering and I heard reports of buses getting stuck but there hasn't been any sign of snow in Glasgow (much to my kids' disgust). Yeah I think it is very localised and to do a lot with the elevation of where you are. Just a small covering in Uddingston but up the road in Blackwood near Lesmahagow a couple of inches at my parents. Some rain forecast which could help melt some snow on the ground but hopefully not tip a wet park over the edge! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ya Bezzer! Posted January 9, 2016 Report Share Posted January 9, 2016 Yeah I think it is very localised and to do a lot with the elevation of where you are. Just a small covering in Uddingston but up the road in Blackwood near Lesmahagow a couple of inches at my parents. Some rain forecast which could help melt some snow on the ground but hopefully not tip a wet park over the edge! Glasgow 0 feet, Motherwell 250 feet, Newarthill 500 feet, Shotts 700 feet. That's your basic elevation guide! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MearnsWell Posted January 9, 2016 Report Share Posted January 9, 2016 Harthill = Death Zone on Everest obvs... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Big Stall Posted January 9, 2016 Report Share Posted January 9, 2016 Top end of Hamilton (Torrhead), theres a couple of inches at least here and still snowing. Very localised though, much less down the hill. Nothing at all in giffnock when i was there this morning Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
delboy Posted January 9, 2016 Report Share Posted January 9, 2016 can't see the game being off as there has been no snow today and what show there is should be easily cleared onwards and cupwards Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spiderpig Posted January 9, 2016 Report Share Posted January 9, 2016 snowing hard in East Kilbride just now but thats normal up here..the Ek cup game v Lothian vale is off Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
delboy Posted January 9, 2016 Report Share Posted January 9, 2016 and Faddy better get a game today or I'm going home in a huff Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...