grizzlyg Posted February 25, 2016 Report Share Posted February 25, 2016 Hi Folks, On Radio Scotland tonight at 7:00 the team-mates series is featuring Iain Ferguson and Steve Kirk and talking about 1991 Cup Run. Should be good 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Q121 Posted February 25, 2016 Report Share Posted February 25, 2016 It's also Davie Cooper's birthday today, would have been 60 Legend GBNF Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
rinkydink Posted February 26, 2016 Report Share Posted February 26, 2016 This was cracking and well worth a listen via the podcast. Mainly cup run focussed but a couple of other nuggets in there too, eg Kirkie wanting to replace an injured John Gardiner in goals in the 86 Skol Cup semi for the penalties. If only he had! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
grizzlyg Posted February 26, 2016 Author Report Share Posted February 26, 2016 Was actually quite emotional listening to it at times. I can't forgive wee Tommy now for not replacing Gardiner in that match!!! heh he Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mcguru Posted February 26, 2016 Report Share Posted February 26, 2016 Was actually quite emotional listening to it at times. I can't forgive wee Tommy now for not replacing Gardiner in that match!!! heh he Yeah, did not realise he had dislocated his shooder. Was at Tynecaslte when Kirkie famously saved a penalty and we came back from 2-0 doon there. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ropy Posted February 26, 2016 Report Share Posted February 26, 2016 That was an excellent listen, never really saw Fergie as a big figure in Motherwell's story, obviously he scored in the final, but I thought he came across really well in that programme. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mjw Posted February 26, 2016 Report Share Posted February 26, 2016 Last night and the Jim Jeffries/Billy Brown episode were the stand outs of the series for me. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
something else Posted February 27, 2016 Report Share Posted February 27, 2016 Anyone got a link to this ? Cheers Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ropy Posted February 27, 2016 Report Share Posted February 27, 2016 http://www.bbc.co.uk/radio/player/p03kp7kp 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
underboyleheating Posted February 27, 2016 Report Share Posted February 27, 2016 It was a great listen. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lobey_Dosser Posted February 27, 2016 Report Share Posted February 27, 2016 It was truly wonderful listening the other night. Fergie back on Off the Ball today for anyone that needs a top-up. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tweed Posted February 27, 2016 Report Share Posted February 27, 2016 I've thoroughly enjoyed all the teammates programmes I've heard and this one was one of my favourites but I am slightly biased. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mjw Posted February 27, 2016 Report Share Posted February 27, 2016 I've thoroughly enjoyed all the teammates programmes I've heard and this one was one of my favourites but I am slightly biased. Even the 'bomber Brown' one? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tweed Posted February 27, 2016 Report Share Posted February 27, 2016 Missed that one! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mjw Posted February 27, 2016 Report Share Posted February 27, 2016 Missed that one!Lucky you. His rant against Aberdeen fans was unbelievable. He must have not been listening to the songs his beloved 'bears' sang. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
something else Posted February 27, 2016 Report Share Posted February 27, 2016 http://www.bbc.co.uk/radio/player/p03kp7kp Cheers pal. Great listening to that. Didn't know John Gardiner had done his shoulder in the 86 skol cup semi. Wish McLean had let big Kirky go in goal for the pens. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted February 27, 2016 Report Share Posted February 27, 2016 TBF, Gardiner would proably have been better with a dodgy shoulder because he couldn't catch a ball with 2 functional ones. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BigWeegieDosser Posted February 27, 2016 Report Share Posted February 27, 2016 Great to hear them recounting tales of "Psycho" He was looking a few stone lighter at half time today. A 'Well hero forever, - the Cappielow deciding penalty - the 50 yarder past Bonner - the perfectly executed elbow to Peter Grant's pus Not a bad CV at all 4 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
grumpy Posted February 27, 2016 Report Share Posted February 27, 2016 Great to hear them recounting tales of "Psycho" He was looking a few stone lighter at half time today. A 'Well hero forever, - the Cappielow deciding penalty - the 50 yarder past Bonner - the perfectly executed elbow to Peter Grant's pus Not a bad CV at all We were discussing that at half time and I couldn't make up my mind what was my favourite Psycho moment. I decided on the goal in the semi-final but it was a very close call between that and Peter Grant's unprovoked attack on Psycho's elbow. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
underboyleheating Posted February 27, 2016 Report Share Posted February 27, 2016 ...my favourite Psycho moment. A toss up between that Semi Final goal and his half time motorbike ride around Fir Park. (Please tell me this actually happened and I didn’t just imagine it). Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happy Dosser Posted February 27, 2016 Report Share Posted February 27, 2016 Dear old Psycho. On that night, as Kirkie slipped the ball to him, I was just saying, "He's no' going tae hit it fae there, is he?" when the ball took off and rasped down the rigging behind Dying Swan Bonner. Ahh, the memories.......... Hope he's over his personal problems. Good to see him with the wee lassie today. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
steelman1991 Posted February 27, 2016 Report Share Posted February 27, 2016 A toss up between that Semi Final goal and his half time motorbike ride around Fir Park. (Please tell me this actually happened and I didn’t just imagine it). Nah - my Brother-in-Law remarked about that at half-time, though I couldn't recall it myself. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andy_P Posted February 27, 2016 Report Share Posted February 27, 2016 I can't remember the opposition, something makes me think it might have Partick, but it was in the run to his testimonial against Ipswich and was an attempt to get a bit of publicity for that. The motorbike angle presumably came from Alan Dick who was, and might still even be, involved with Glasgow Tigers speedway. Andy Russell would have been turning in his grave at the prospect of a bike speeding round the track inches from his beloved Fir Park turf! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Big Wispy Flossy Posted February 27, 2016 Report Share Posted February 27, 2016 I can't remember the opposition, something makes me think it might have Partick, but it was in the run to his testimonial against Ipswich and was an attempt to get a bit of publicity for that. The motorbike angle presumably came from Alan Dick who was, and might still even be, involved with Glasgow Tigers speedway. Andy Russell would have been turning in his grave at the prospect of a bike speeding round the track inches from his beloved Fir Park turf! My memory is well hazy but I thought it was on the night of his testimonial - 2nd fiddle to the Roy essandoh show! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
underboyleheating Posted February 27, 2016 Report Share Posted February 27, 2016 I can't remember the opposition, something makes me think it might have Partick My Thistle supporting mate has just confirmed that it was Partick as he was at the game. Anyone got any pictures of this event? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...