gdalli10 Posted February 29, 2016 Report Share Posted February 29, 2016 With the forum in a better mood this week lets keep it positive and talk about memorable late goals for us. There are obvious ones ie skippy Sunday and fitzy and more random ones. Tom Hateleys freekick goals at St Mirren and an equaliser in Odense looked an immense bounce in the stands. However one of my favourite ones was a late John Sutton winner at St Johnstone under Craig Brown. Mainly because we were pish almost all game so it was unexpected. I think that was the game we broke some kind of clean sheet record 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Brazilian Posted February 29, 2016 Report Share Posted February 29, 2016 Is the Jutkiewicz equaliser permitted One of the most elated moments in my time following the 'Well 5 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted February 29, 2016 Report Share Posted February 29, 2016 I think my favourite was Paul Mills against Dunfermline at East End Park. Ref was having a nightmare, every decision was going against us and Mills popped up at the death to nick the winner. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fizoxy Posted March 1, 2016 Report Share Posted March 1, 2016 Partial to this one myself 3 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
1991 Posted March 1, 2016 Report Share Posted March 1, 2016 Got to be Craig Reid at Pittodrie that moment will live with me forever, another favourite was the Marc Fitzpatrick goal in the semi v Hearts Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
The African Posted March 1, 2016 Report Share Posted March 1, 2016 Stevie Kirk off the bench at Dens Park in the late eighties was a turning point for a season where we were dicing with relegation and for Kirkie where it silenced the boo boys and he went on to score four against St Mirren in, I think, the next match, turning around his career with us. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yoshi-1991 Posted March 1, 2016 Report Share Posted March 1, 2016 Skippy Sunday. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bigeeze Posted March 1, 2016 Report Share Posted March 1, 2016 Kirky in Extra time v Dundee Utd in 90/91 Cup Final Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
something else Posted March 1, 2016 Report Share Posted March 1, 2016 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spiderpig Posted March 1, 2016 Report Share Posted March 1, 2016 For me it has to be Fitzpatricks goal against Hearts at Easter Rd to get us into the league cup final what a celebration that was. number 2 would be skippy sunday did not mean much to us but for pure gitruy factor it was priceless 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
CoF Posted March 1, 2016 Report Share Posted March 1, 2016 Mine have already been mentioned - Ross vs Celtic in 1996. An early game in my life as a 'well fan. I was warned that it wasn't the norm and was well and truly given perspective in the 1-0 defeat to Raith Rovers 4 days later which sticks in my mind as one of the worst games I've ever been to. I'm sure they scored close to the 90th minute. Hateley vs St Mirren 2011 "We are top of the league" Reid at Pittodrie. Don't need to say more. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lobey_Dosser Posted March 1, 2016 Report Share Posted March 1, 2016 Ian Ross, John Philliben and Pat Nevin for me. Lower profile but Kevin McBride at Livi kicked off a decent Hogmanay. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
daver Posted March 1, 2016 Report Share Posted March 1, 2016 Ray Farningham at Ibrox in the 88th minute after us hardly making it over the half way line all game. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mio Posted March 1, 2016 Report Share Posted March 1, 2016 Wee Dougie, midweek at Ibrox early 90s!! We were 1-0 down and came back to win 1-2........place went absolutely mental.....wonderful night!! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lukemfc1 Posted March 1, 2016 Report Share Posted March 1, 2016 Fitzpatrick at Easter Road. One of my favourite Motherwell memories of being a youngster. It felt like he had an enormous support through in Edinburgh through for that game but not sure if its the nostalgia! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tamwell Posted March 1, 2016 Report Share Posted March 1, 2016 Fitzpatrick at Easter Road. One of my favourite Motherwell memories of being a youngster. It felt like he had an enormous support through in Edinburgh through for that game but not sure if its the nostalgia!We definitely had a big support. I'm sure we filled the stand behind the goal and had a fair amount in the stand to the left of where we were. My memory may be clouded by time and alcohol though. What a brilliant night it was. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
eddiemunster Posted March 1, 2016 Report Share Posted March 1, 2016 Favourite late Winners? Definitely Michael. 5 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
'Wellfan 2k7 Posted March 1, 2016 Report Share Posted March 1, 2016 Fitzy tips the late winner list for me! My first experience of a "big" win! Late goals, however? Got to be Jutkiewicz, scored that goal against Hibs and, correct me if I'm wrong, he also scored a last minute equaliser at Ibrow two days later? Great way to sign off as a Motherwell player! Also, Hateleys free kick. (Just pick one of them) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Haggischomper Posted March 1, 2016 Report Share Posted March 1, 2016 I loved that Fitz last minute winner - and I wasn't even there Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
maplewell Posted March 1, 2016 Report Share Posted March 1, 2016 Fitzy tips the late winner list for me! My first experience of a "big" win! Late goals, however? Got to be Jutkiewicz, scored that goal against Hibs and, correct me if I'm wrong, he also scored a last minute equaliser at Ibrow two days later? Great way to sign off as a Motherwell player! Also, Hateleys free kick. (Just pick one of them) Correct, been looking for highlights of that game for years. Fairly certain that we made a late two goal comeback in that game too Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andy_P Posted March 1, 2016 Report Share Posted March 1, 2016 I loved that Fitz last minute winner - and I wasn't even there Aye but with loads of folk running about with FHW face painted on them and shouting it aloud, your spirit and influence certainly was! 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toxteth O'Grady Posted March 1, 2016 Report Share Posted March 1, 2016 It wasn't a winner, but I remember Ian Angus scoring a last minute equaliser at Parkhead, presumably in the early 90s. Edit - highlights here: Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
maplewell Posted March 1, 2016 Report Share Posted March 1, 2016 Correct, been looking for highlights of that game for years. Fairly certain that we made a late two goal comeback in that game too Googling before posting would help https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rjvrquXQKhw Forgot how bizarre that Jennings goal was beforehand Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Waldo Posted March 1, 2016 Report Share Posted March 1, 2016 Shimmy King. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ya Bezzer! Posted March 1, 2016 Report Share Posted March 1, 2016 This season Louis Moult scored in the 90th minute to get us a draw against Ross County. Also scored in the 87th minute away to Kilmarnock for the win and Scott McDonald scored in the 90th minute to take the League Cup match against Morton to Extra Time. Also another couple of late goals this season that weren't as crucial so it's not just late goals in the against column. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...