madscot Posted May 27, 2016 Report Share Posted May 27, 2016 Not necessarily. It'll depend on whether BT want the game at Ibrox or Fir Park. If at Ibrox it won't be televised. Guaranteed it will be on btsports . Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
wellowell Posted May 27, 2016 Report Share Posted May 27, 2016 Will be on TV wherever it's played as biggest game of all groups Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Desp Posted May 27, 2016 Report Share Posted May 27, 2016 Where's the advantage of being top seeds if we end up away from home to the second seeds? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
steelboy Posted May 27, 2016 Report Share Posted May 27, 2016 You would think that being the number one seed, Rangers would need to travel to Fir Park. I thought they would have made half the groups Prem home to Champ and half the opposite for a bit of variety. It looks like the games will be getting scheduled behind closed doors for the benefit of TV. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kmcalpin Posted May 27, 2016 Report Share Posted May 27, 2016 It looks like the games will be getting scheduled behind closed doors for the benefit of TV. Thats my take on it too. The more I learn about this league cup set up the more I dislike it. The devil is certainly in the detail. Rangers and Celtic don't like games televised at their home grounds as it affects their attendances. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
twistandshout1983 Posted May 27, 2016 Report Share Posted May 27, 2016 Few Rangers fans on facebook already talking about Karma for the playoffs, would be a great start to the season if we put them in their place. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
numpty Posted May 27, 2016 Report Share Posted May 27, 2016 Few Rangers fans on facebook already talking about Karma for the playoffs, would be a great start to the season if we put them in their place. They have a strange idea about karma. A pre-season win in a diddy cup would hardly be payback for being dumped back into the first division for another year. 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
wee_alpha Posted May 27, 2016 Report Share Posted May 27, 2016 Where's the advantage of being top seeds if we end up away from home to the second seeds? That means we should have all our games at home as we are higher seeds than all the other teams. The seeding was to keep last season's Premiership teams apart, nothing else as far I am aware. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Richie Posted May 27, 2016 Report Share Posted May 27, 2016 They have a strange idea about karma. A pre-season win in a diddy cup would hardly be payback for being dumped back into the first division for another year. Especially when we don't necessarily need to win that game to qualify. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
CMWellfan Posted May 27, 2016 Report Share Posted May 27, 2016 Outstanding draw - play it at Ibrox and get some money in early doors. McGhee will be salivating at the prospect of this dough coming in before the transfer window shuts. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Welldaft Mk1 Posted May 27, 2016 Report Share Posted May 27, 2016 I agree. Great draw. Gives us a chance to earn a few pennies and stick it to them once again. Hopefully at Fir Park. Even were we to lose - the next 3 teams are easier than some other draws. Thinking about it - apart from Airdrie also it was a cracking draw. Will go to Annan away if a weekend. Hopefully we get a decent turn out v h**s at home. Few people go missing for these games. No stomach for the fight Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
middleeastdave Posted May 27, 2016 Report Share Posted May 27, 2016 Will the Fir Park pitch be ready if the first match on 16th July is at home? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
The African Posted May 27, 2016 Report Share Posted May 27, 2016 Adds a bit of spice and gets the season up and running. Hopefully these games will be better than pre season friendliest so that we are ready for real business when the league kicks off. The draw itself gives us a chance to make a bit of cash and progress to the next stage. All good. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
numpty Posted May 27, 2016 Report Share Posted May 27, 2016 Will the Fir Park pitch be ready if the first match on 16th July is at home? Expect that will partly depend on the weather over the coming weeks, but they did get to start a week early, so fingers crossed. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yoshi-1991 Posted May 27, 2016 Report Share Posted May 27, 2016 Few Rangers fans on facebook already talking about Karma for the playoffs, would be a great start to the season if we put them in their place. Aye, did you not know we were ment to roll over and let them win. Would love to see exactly how their thought process works. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
daver Posted May 27, 2016 Report Share Posted May 27, 2016 http://spfl.co.uk/news/article/betfred-cup-group-stage-draw/ SPFL website says top two from each group plus four best runners up go into last 16 with the teams in Europe. How can they manage to get it so wrong on their own website? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
siebsbarmyarmy Posted May 27, 2016 Report Share Posted May 27, 2016 Fecking typical we are the first 'big' team to face them following the cup game. Feels like the Cup game following their relegation. They will be all fired up for vengeance. I hope it's not at Fir Parl as doubt we can afford the replacement seats. Will be nice if we beat them but will be a tricky tricky game. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mjw Posted May 27, 2016 Report Share Posted May 27, 2016 Will their manager have reappeared in time for this match? The magic hat has been posted missing since 4.40 pm last Saturday. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mad Dog Posted May 27, 2016 Report Share Posted May 27, 2016 Wonder how many seats they'll give us this time? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kmcalpin Posted May 27, 2016 Report Share Posted May 27, 2016 So how exactly will the 4 best runners up be selected - whats the criteria? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
daver Posted May 27, 2016 Report Share Posted May 27, 2016 They're all playing the same number of games so I assume points and then goal difference. The information may be out there but it seems a bit disorganised with mistakes on the website and not knowing home and away fixtures prior to the draw. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mitch Posted May 28, 2016 Report Share Posted May 28, 2016 So how exactly will the 4 best runners up be selected - whats the criteria? Points/Goal Difference/Goal Scored Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
sbcmfc Posted May 28, 2016 Report Share Posted May 28, 2016 I'd have thought the fixture list should have been arranged in advance for all groups? Team 1 v team 2 etc. Could shuffle the order as team 1 v2 will be most attractive in most cases so that all those are spread across Tournament. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mjw Posted May 28, 2016 Report Share Posted May 28, 2016 Poster on p&b has explained the fixtures according to Doncaster Celtic v Rangers in the final and work back from there. 7 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...