GazzyB Posted August 22, 2021 Report Share Posted August 22, 2021 Scott's been really good today with his link up play, two half chances to score that he didn't take but a really solid debut. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
underboyleheating Posted August 22, 2021 Report Share Posted August 22, 2021 Bid to play along side some former Well players. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
KirkySuperSub Posted August 22, 2021 Report Share Posted August 22, 2021 Reading on the beeb site, Big Dec giving away a penalty today at Hearts. Shame, feel for him. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
underboyleheating Posted August 22, 2021 Report Share Posted August 22, 2021 2 minutes ago, KirkySuperSub said: Big Dec giving away a penalty today at Hearts. Apparently it was soft according to the commentary on the BBC Radio Scotland. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
KirkySuperSub Posted August 22, 2021 Report Share Posted August 22, 2021 Even better. 1 5 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Busta Nut Posted August 24, 2021 Report Share Posted August 24, 2021 I saw folk chatting that it was soft. I don't think it was. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
GazzyB Posted August 24, 2021 Report Share Posted August 24, 2021 Stevie Woods now a Scotland coach. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ropy Posted August 24, 2021 Report Share Posted August 24, 2021 28 minutes ago, GazzyB said: Stevie Woods now a Scotland coach. He’s just stepped down Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yabba's Turd Posted August 24, 2021 Report Share Posted August 24, 2021 50 minutes ago, GazzyB said: Stevie Woods now a Scotland coach. Do you think Joe Hart took one look at him and said, "You can't keep weans out a close" or does he retain his celtic job? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted August 24, 2021 Report Share Posted August 24, 2021 Most top coaches in any sport were average pros at best. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ped_MFC Posted August 24, 2021 Report Share Posted August 24, 2021 48 minutes ago, ropy said: He’s just stepped down He's stepped down with Chris Woods taking over. They must have printed his surname on the back of some training tops already. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
GazzyB Posted August 24, 2021 Report Share Posted August 24, 2021 Oops Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
stv Posted August 24, 2021 Report Share Posted August 24, 2021 58 minutes ago, weeyin said: Most top coaches in any sport were average pros at best. The bold Stevie was a well below average pro. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
smiddy Posted August 24, 2021 Report Share Posted August 24, 2021 1 hour ago, weeyin said: Most top coaches in any sport were average pros at best. when he played with us he wasnt even average he was murder i always said his hands were tied with elastic bands to the posts but heez made a good living at being a pish goalie Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yabba's Turd Posted August 24, 2021 Report Share Posted August 24, 2021 2 hours ago, weeyin said: Most top coaches in any sport were average pros at best. Need more input. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spiderpig Posted August 24, 2021 Report Share Posted August 24, 2021 13 minutes ago, Yabba's Turd said: Need more input. Ferguson, Mourinho, Stein, Shankly, Paisley, to name a few were all average players and world class manager / coaches in their respective eras Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted August 24, 2021 Report Share Posted August 24, 2021 1 hour ago, Yabba's Turd said: Need more input. Spiderpig gave a few good football examples - and others off the top of my head: Butch Harmon (one tour win in a satellite event) was Tiger Woods coach when he was at his peak. Bill Belichick's height of American Football playing achievement was playing for Wesleyan University just down the road from here. Glen Mills wasn't even good enough to compete at High School athletics so gave up and became a coach, eventually for Usain Bolt. Thomas Tuchel was a lower league level player before he turned to coaching. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
texanwellfan Posted August 24, 2021 Report Share Posted August 24, 2021 Just now, weeyin said: Spiderpig gave a few good football examples - and others off the top of my head: Butch Harmon (one tour win in a satellite event) was Tiger Woods coach when he was at his peak. Bill Belichick's height of American Football playing achievement was playing for Wesleyan University just down the road from here. Glen Mills wasn't even good enough to compete at High School athletics so gave up and became a coach, eventually for Usain Bolt. Do as I tell you, not as I do…… kind of. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted August 24, 2021 Report Share Posted August 24, 2021 1 minute ago, texanwellfan said: Do as I tell you, not as I do…… kind of. It's just a different skill set. Lots of naturally gifted players couldn't even tell you how they do something, whereas a good coach can break it down and figure what you need to change and how to change it. Or, how to make the most of what you have. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happy Dosser Posted August 24, 2021 Report Share Posted August 24, 2021 I played right back for Kirktonholme Primary in EK in 1965. That's all I've got..... 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SteelmaninOZ Posted August 24, 2021 Report Share Posted August 24, 2021 38 minutes ago, Happy Dosser said: I played right back for Kirktonholme Primary in EK in 1965. That's all I've got..... Was that right back inside the classroom? I was centre forward for East Milton Primary in EK in 1965 That’s all I‘ve got….. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happy Dosser Posted August 25, 2021 Report Share Posted August 25, 2021 10 hours ago, SteelmaninOZ said: Was that right back inside the classroom? I was centre forward for East Milton Primary in EK in 1965 That’s all I‘ve got….. After that (sub-Grizzly) joke, I'm glad I probably moved out of position and Sounessed you one . Was your football pitch not right beside the school? I thought I'd played on it once but it was a very long time ago........ 1 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Busta Nut Posted August 25, 2021 Report Share Posted August 25, 2021 Stevie Woods gets a very hard rap. He was decent. Did he make a Scotland squad at one point? Or was that Howie? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
C&A not the shop Posted August 25, 2021 Report Share Posted August 25, 2021 1 hour ago, Busta Nut said: Stevie Woods gets a very hard rap. He was decent. Did he make a Scotland squad at one point? Or was that Howie? I'm pretty sure they both did. Thats not to say either were good goalies. Woods made a few notable and timely cock ups that really soured him to many well fans of a certain generation. If it wasn't for those cock ups and being one of the weaker players in a good motherwell team he'd barely be remembered, like a Graeme Smith level of notable. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SteelmaninOZ Posted August 25, 2021 Report Share Posted August 25, 2021 On 8/25/2021 at 6:39 PM, Happy Dosser said: After that (sub-Grizzly) joke, I'm glad I probably moved out of position and Sounessed you one . Was your football pitch not right beside the school? I thought I'd played on it once but it was a very long time ago........ Yes it was red ash and dettol and a wee hand scrubbing brush treatment after the game Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...