mio Posted July 27, 2017 Report Share Posted July 27, 2017 It's to do with the wrestler!! Only in the west of Scotland can it be spinned into a 'whit school did you go to' ?nonsense argument!! As for the picture supplied? That looks like Glen Michael? That must've been taken during his spat with palladin on cavalcade!! 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgey Posted July 27, 2017 Report Share Posted July 27, 2017 It's to do with the wrestler!! Only in the west of Scotland can it be spinned into a 'whit school did you go to' ?nonsense argument!! As for the picture supplied? That looks like Glen Michael? That must've been taken during his spat with palladin on cavalcade!! 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
siebsbarmyarmy Posted July 27, 2017 Report Share Posted July 27, 2017 First chance I have had to comment on the McDonald situation. I made and did not hide my disappointment in him last year as I generally thought a lot of our play broke down at him. Due to a few reasons, over playing it, greediness, holding on and a poor touch. Of course he scored a few but tbh no where near as much as he should have. Plus his constant moaning was brutal to watch. Also he was on free kicks etc but look at pre season with Moult, did he over rule him a few times and feck it up? You cannot deny he was crucial to us for a long time over the spells but not last year. He was on he wane and it's the best move for all parties. Not a great loss and probably now at he level he should be. Worked well again with his lack of pre season..... 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
faddythedaddy Posted July 28, 2017 Report Share Posted July 28, 2017 I always thought it was mick because of the Mc at the start of the surname. As did I to be honest. Just think it's pish patter Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
gilmour Posted July 28, 2017 Report Share Posted July 28, 2017 Killie in for Lee Erwin who has terminated his contract at Leeds. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ya Bezzer! Posted July 28, 2017 Report Share Posted July 28, 2017 Season 2017-18 Former players plying their trade in the Scottish Leagues Carswell, Stuart - DumbartonClarkson, David - St. MirrenChalmers, Joe - Inverness Caledonian ThistleCummins, Adam - Queens ParkCurrie, Max - StranraerEwings, Jamie - DumbartonFitzpatrick, Marc - AirdrieoniansForbes, Ross - MortonHateley, Tom - DundeeHetherington, Steven - Alloa AthleticHigginbotham, Kallum - Dunfermline AthleticHiggins, Chris - Ayr UnitedLawless, Steven - PartickMcDonald, Scott - Dundee UnitedMcHugh, Bob - MortonMackin, Dylan - LivingstonMartin, Alan - Queen of the SouthMensing, Simon - Forfar AthleticMoore, Craig - Ayr UnitedMurray, Euan - Raith RoversNeill, Morgyn - StranraerO'Brien, Jim - Ross CountyPage, Johnny - East FifeReid, Craig - Ayr UnitedReynolds, Mark - AberdeenSamson, Craig - St. MirrenSmith, Darren Lee - Stirling AlbionSmith, Graeme - Brechin CityStewart, Ross - St. MirrenSutton, John - St. MirrenThomas, Dom - Kilmarnock Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ONeils40yarder Posted July 28, 2017 Report Share Posted July 28, 2017 Add to that list Lee Erwin - Kilmarnock Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Squirrelhumper Posted July 28, 2017 Report Share Posted July 28, 2017 Add to that list Lee Erwin - Kilmarnock Aye, appears to be a done deal. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ropy Posted July 28, 2017 Report Share Posted July 28, 2017 Some amount of keepers, what a hot bed of keeperdom we are Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ropy Posted July 28, 2017 Report Share Posted July 28, 2017 Aye, appears to be a done deal. I seem to remember that the first goal I saw him score was down at Killie, omen? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
milo Posted July 28, 2017 Report Share Posted July 28, 2017 That's disappointing. Much better option than Bowman or Fisher appear to be. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mio Posted July 28, 2017 Report Share Posted July 28, 2017 Definitely disappointing, I think Erwin will be back as a better player than he was with us and will do well at Killie. To quote him, he's a "class above" what we have up front apart from Moult. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kat Posted July 28, 2017 Report Share Posted July 28, 2017 Erwin officially signed for Killie. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pepper Posted July 28, 2017 Report Share Posted July 28, 2017 Erwin was a one trick pony who will fit in well with the other ex Motherwell donkey they have signed. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ONeils40yarder Posted July 28, 2017 Report Share Posted July 28, 2017 I'd imagine that if we were talking about a striker who scored 8 goals in English League 2, last season at a stinking team, that had also been on loan from Leeds United, we'd probably all be fairly happy if we were taking him on. But because, we know him and he wasnt prolific in his last spell with us, despite being a young lad flung into the whole negativity of that season we are happy to write him off as 'shite' or a 'one-trick pony'. He'll never be prolific but he is a good football player. He'll do a job for Killie, without a shadow of a doubt 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wellfan1984 Posted July 28, 2017 Report Share Posted July 28, 2017 I doubt we'd accept a player who has scored 8 League 2 goals either. We haven't even accepted a player who scored 8 Scottish Premiership goals last season. Erwin a decent player at Motherwell/Killie level though Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Well-Made Posted July 28, 2017 Report Share Posted July 28, 2017 Season 2017-18 Former players plying their trade in the Scottish Leagues Carswell, Stuart - Dumbarton Clarkson, David - St. Mirren Chalmers, Joe - Inverness Caledonian Thistle Cummins, Adam - Queens Park Currie, Max - Stranraer Ewings, Jamie - Dumbarton Fitzpatrick, Marc - Airdrieonians Forbes, Ross - Morton Hateley, Tom - Dundee Hetherington, Steven - Alloa Athletic Higginbotham, Kallum - Dunfermline Athletic Higgins, Chris - Ayr United Lawless, Steven - Partick McDonald, Scott - Dundee United McHugh, Bob - Morton Mackin, Dylan - Livingston Martin, Alan - Queen of the South Mensing, Simon - Forfar Athletic Moore, Craig - Ayr United Murray, Euan - Raith Rovers Neill, Morgyn - Stranraer O'Brien, Jim - Ross County Page, Johnny - East Fife Reid, Craig - Ayr United Reynolds, Mark - Aberdeen Samson, Craig - St. Mirren Smith, Darren Lee - Stirling Albion Smith, Graeme - Brechin City Stewart, Ross - St. Mirren Sutton, John - St. Mirren Thomas, Dom - Kilmarnock David Gormley at Clyde Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ONeils40yarder Posted July 28, 2017 Report Share Posted July 28, 2017 When we generally take our strikers from the Conference, I reckon I'd be delighted at someone with a semi-decent ratio at League2 level coming in to be honest. As for hitting double-figures up here, I'm not convinced he will either, but I dont think anyone has every claimed that he was a lethal goalscorer Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andy_P Posted July 28, 2017 Author Report Share Posted July 28, 2017 But because, we know him and he wasnt prolific in his last spell with us, despite being a young lad flung into the whole negativity of that season we are happy to write him off as 'shite' or a 'one-trick pony'. There's also the whole attitude change that some fans adopt towards a player whenever they have left us to the point that history is almost re-written in some cases as positive contributions are played down and any deficiencies highlighted. I dread to think of the meltdown that awaits if and when Thomas and Erwin combine to put us to the sword! 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Well 4 Europe Posted July 28, 2017 Report Share Posted July 28, 2017 When we generally take our strikers from the Conference, I reckon I'd be delighted at someone with a semi-decent ratio at League2 level coming in to be honest. As for hitting double-figures up here, I'm not convinced he will either, but I dont think anyone has every claimed that he was a lethal goalscorer It was actually League 1 level he was playing at last season, 10 goals in 30 starts in all comps for a struggling Oldham side. Take out Louis Moult and I genuinely don't think the other half a dozen or so strikers we've signed since Erwin left have actually managed that between them. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dezz Posted July 28, 2017 Report Share Posted July 28, 2017 Were Oldham not League 1 last year? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ONeils40yarder Posted July 28, 2017 Report Share Posted July 28, 2017 There's also the whole attitude change that some fans adopt towards a player whenever they have left us to the point that history is almost re-written in some cases as positive contributions are played down and any deficiencies highlighted. I dread to think of the meltdown that awaits if and when Thomas and Erwin combine to put us to the sword! Yip, its completely bizarre behaviour at times Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted July 28, 2017 Report Share Posted July 28, 2017 I dread to think of the meltdown that awaits if and when Thomas and Erwin combine to put us to the sword! I know. It's horrible how our opponents have players that want to play. Neither Thomas or Erwin wanted to play for us. They both had their chance, and they both left. Good luck to them, but I'm not worried about them. When a team beats us, I really don't care if it's ex-players that are involved any more than I care if it's our opponents ex-players that score for us when we win. Like I said in an earlier post, my bigger concern is for the Scottish game where Erwin joins a long list of players with potential who couldn't cut it with a lower league English Team. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ONeils40yarder Posted July 28, 2017 Report Share Posted July 28, 2017 It was actually League 1 level he was playing at last season, 10 goals in 30 starts in all comps for a struggling Oldham side. Take out Louis Moult and I genuinely don't think the other half a dozen or so strikers we've signed since Erwin left have actually managed that between them. Shows how much interest I take in English fitba...apologies, but enhances my point. For talking sake, if we were looking at signing Kevin Van Veen (who I've never heard of to be fair) from Scunthorpe on a free signing we'd all be up for that I'd imagine...he scored a similar amount of goals to Lee Erwin last season. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Welldaft Mk1 Posted July 28, 2017 Report Share Posted July 28, 2017 There's also the whole attitude change that some fans adopt towards a player whenever they have left us to the point that history is almost re-written in some cases as positive contributions are played down and any deficiencies highlighted. I dread to think of the meltdown that awaits if and when Thomas and Erwin combine to put us to the sword! They inevitably will... I am less bothered about Thomas than I am Erwin tbh. Dom may prove us all wrong and thrive at Killie. But I really warmed to Erwin in his last few months with us and was sorry to see him go. History has proved it was the wrong decision in terms of his career imho even if it meant more money. I still think there is a very good player in Erwin. No offence to the lad, but I now hope I am proved wrong ! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...