Well Up For It! Posted January 5, 2018 Report Share Posted January 5, 2018 Me too, was just being devils advocate (or a dick?) given some criticism of others who have been promoted within the club. Fair do's. Hammell has always struck me as the one from the class of 2002 that would be best suited to coaching/management. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lukemfc1 Posted January 5, 2018 Report Share Posted January 5, 2018 Grew up with Stevie Hammell in the team, he has been an ever present apart from his brief hiatus down south. With the ball at his feet he was better than most defenders at this level. Legit club legend. I'm really happy with the policy of promoting within. I hope we continue to do this. It gives us an identity as a club and keeps a good ethos. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted January 5, 2018 Report Share Posted January 5, 2018 How many appearances did he have? As usual, most sources are just showing league stats. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
steelboy Posted January 5, 2018 Report Share Posted January 5, 2018 581 according to Wiki. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted January 5, 2018 Report Share Posted January 5, 2018 581 according to Wiki. Cheers. I think that means he pipped Joe Wark by one. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgey Posted January 5, 2018 Report Share Posted January 5, 2018 I remember sitting with my dad in the Cooper for our one and only time and seeing a very young Stevie Hamill for the very first time. It was the auld yins last visit to Fir Park. Reminiscing about Cooper, he turned to me and said that blonde boy is quality. Imagine having him in the same team as Coop, he made a donkey like Boyd look like a player, imagine what he couldve done wi some real talent 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Richie Posted January 5, 2018 Report Share Posted January 5, 2018 I thought it was fairly common knowledge Murphy was from Knightswoood and grew up a Rangers fan - Even from when he was with us. Can completely understand the move given that plus family nearby, wages etc. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
superward Posted January 5, 2018 Report Share Posted January 5, 2018 How many appearances did he have? As usual, most sources are just showing league stats.Official site says 582 and post war record holder. Helluva lot of games! Well Legend, Respected, Training youth teams in the Academy already, Uefa A, Elite Youth, Pro licences done and dusted Great appointment Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgey Posted January 5, 2018 Report Share Posted January 5, 2018 https://www.google.co.uk/amp/www.stokesentinel.co.uk/sport/football/gavin-gunning-joins-forest-green-1012518.amp And in contrast, the basket case Gavin Gunning has another former club to add to his list. Gavin Gunning is set to face Port Vale on Saturday after signing for their League Two rivals Forest Green Rovers on a free transfer. Vale boss Neil Aspin is disappointed to lose Gunning, who was a regular in his Vale side before the defenders half-season contract ran out at the end of December. He was offered a deal by Vale but has instead accepted the terms offered by their League Two rivals. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ropy Posted January 5, 2018 Report Share Posted January 5, 2018 Just listened to Hammell's interview, it was interesting that given Leitch spent his Motherwell career passing the ball to Stevie that figuratively that's what has happened again with his recommendation. Hammell is the first player that I can say I have watched his whole career, I was at Aberdeen for his debut and I have a natural affinity with our left backs as that was my position at Muirhouse P.S. all those years ago. There have been a few good ones and Stevie is up there with the best. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Clackscat Posted January 5, 2018 Report Share Posted January 5, 2018 My brother in law works for the pfa in england, actually puts senior players through their coaching qualifications and is an ex pro himself. He has only been at 1 Motherwell game, some years ago away to Thistle. He picked out Stevie Hammell as far and away the best player on the park. I'll trust his judgement on the matter! If Stevie was a world beater he wouldn't have been 18 years or so with us but he has been a terrific consistent player for us with a great professional attitude and by all accounts great in the dressing room and helping others. Great interview on you tube and he has quietly been getting his qualifications and planning for this unlike for example McGhee pulling Faddy out a hat. Best of luck Stevie Sent from my SM-A320FL using Tapatalk Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ya Bezzer! Posted January 5, 2018 Report Share Posted January 5, 2018 Absolutely magnificent servant of the club, third best left back in my time and scorer of header on opening day of the season against Inverness. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
siebsbarmyarmy Posted January 5, 2018 Report Share Posted January 5, 2018 Outstanding player, professional and person. I think its a clear illustration of what he means and brings to the club when you see the comments and praise from current and former players on social media. Extremely highly thought off. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Haggischomper Posted January 5, 2018 Report Share Posted January 5, 2018 Absolutely magnificent servant of the club, third best left back in my time and scorer of header on opening day of the season against Inverness. Who is second best? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Big Wispy Flossy Posted January 5, 2018 Report Share Posted January 5, 2018 Who is second best? Rab McKinnon ? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted January 5, 2018 Report Share Posted January 5, 2018 Who is second best? Has to be Derek Murray. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ya Bezzer! Posted January 5, 2018 Report Share Posted January 5, 2018 Who is second best? Good question cos when I am picking my Motherwell XI it's the toughest choice I have to make. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest Posted January 5, 2018 Report Share Posted January 5, 2018 Tony Straker. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
gilmour Posted January 6, 2018 Report Share Posted January 6, 2018 Good question cos when I am picking my Motherwell XI it's the toughest choice I have to make. I was going through this in my head Keeper easy Randolph, defender Hammell, Midfield O'Donnell and so on but once I got to strikers I haven't a clue. Coyne,McFadden,Moult,Higdon,Arnott,cooper,St John and I could still go on Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
something else Posted January 6, 2018 Report Share Posted January 6, 2018 Mckinnon was the best left back I've seen. Boyd second. Hammell was good and so was Jim Paterson in his short time playing in that position. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ya Bezzer! Posted January 6, 2018 Report Share Posted January 6, 2018 I was going through this in my head Keeper easy Randolph, defender Hammell, Midfield O'Donnell and so on but once I got to strikers I haven't a clue. Coyne,McFadden,Moult,Higdon,Arnott,cooper,St John and I could still go on Coyne is a lock. Second striker is probably the second most difficult choice to make. Used to go for Arnott because he had an very good partnership with Coyne. But now I tend to go towards Scott McDonald who was a similar player but a better goalscorer in his prime. I shoehorn McFadden in at right wing. We'll score more than we concede! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
joewarkfanclub Posted January 6, 2018 Report Share Posted January 6, 2018 Stevie Hammell. More appearances than Joe Wark. Nuff said Club Legend. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted January 6, 2018 Report Share Posted January 6, 2018 Coyne is a lock. Second striker is probably the second most difficult choice to make. Used to go for Arnott because he had an very good partnership with Coyne. But now I tend to go towards Scott McDonald who was a similar player but a better goalscorer in his prime. I shoehorn McFadden in at right wing. We'll score more than we concede! Coyne was briliant. But it would still have to be a Pettigrew / Graham strike force for me. 3 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
gilmour Posted January 6, 2018 Report Share Posted January 6, 2018 Coyne is a lock. Second striker is probably the second most difficult choice to make. Used to go for Arnott because he had an very good partnership with Coyne. But now I tend to go towards Scott McDonald who was a similar player but a better goalscorer in his prime. I shoehorn McFadden in at right wing. We'll score more than we concede! Cooper on the left and Faddy on the right. Christ that would be terrifying. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Haggischomper Posted January 6, 2018 Report Share Posted January 6, 2018 Mckinnon was the best left back I've seen. Boyd second. Hammell was good and so was Jim Paterson in his short time playing in that position. For me, Hammell > Boyd. Plus he isn't a cock like Boyd is 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...