Well Up For It! Posted September 13, 2016 Report Share Posted September 13, 2016 Think it was £100-150k for Roddie. The one that got me during that era was John Hendry, over £200k iirc. My bad - was Hendry I was thinking of. The guy that came from Spurs. I always thought that was one of our biggest ever transfer fees. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Big Tosh Posted September 13, 2016 Report Share Posted September 13, 2016 Andy Roddie made such a non-impression that I can remember a game at Tynecastle when I shouted "C'mon tae f--k Roddie". My mate turned to me and said, "Roddy who?" Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MelvinBragg Posted September 13, 2016 Report Share Posted September 13, 2016 I think I was at Andy Roddie's one good game for us. Seem to remember him playing well down at Kilmarnock the day we won 4-2 with Coyne scoring a hattrick... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joeboy Posted September 13, 2016 Report Share Posted September 13, 2016 I think I was at Andy Roddie's one good game for us. Seem to remember him playing well down at Kilmarnock the day we won 4-2 with Coyne scoring a hattrick... Watching the highlights of that game back, I always think it was incredibly unselfish for him to square it for Coyne's first. Especially when he was a player in need of a goal so much. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Desp Posted September 13, 2016 Report Share Posted September 13, 2016 The main thing I remember about Andy Roddie was the claret & amber gloves he used to wear that said Motherwell across them. I also owed a pair. He goes down as a good guy in my book for that. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Brazilian Posted September 13, 2016 Report Share Posted September 13, 2016 Andy Roddie made such a non-impression that I can remember a game at Tynecastle when I shouted "C'mon tae f--k Roddie". My mate turned to me and said, "Roddy who?" were it not for his Cup goal contribution wee Joe Mcleod would be another in that category, remembered for a shout, over his appearances. "Aw fur fux ache Mcleod, we could've bought Barrat hoose instead of you" Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Big Tosh Posted September 14, 2016 Report Share Posted September 14, 2016 On that vein, maybe another topic (but I don't know how to do it)? Funniest lines at a football match: Heard in the Cooper at a match v Celtic. Petrov did his usual in the box with the inevitable award of a penalty to them..."F--k sake ref. A hard-on would go doon quicker than him!" Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
don_keyride Posted September 14, 2016 Report Share Posted September 14, 2016 A guy behind me at the 2011 cup final shouted 'For fuck sake Motherwell. Show some self-belief ya shower of useless bastards' 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ECOSSE1991 Posted September 17, 2016 Report Share Posted September 17, 2016 Welshman Ben Ellis signed from Bangor in Northern Ireland in October 1930 for £350 and £50 if he played 12 first team appearances. The houses behind the Cooper stand are in a development named after Ben and his right back teammate James Blair, Ellis Way and Blair Path. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...