Spiderpig Posted January 21, 2017 Report Share Posted January 21, 2017 I did. The only positive thing to come out of the game, see you all in the Caribbean. you not CM wellfan in disguise are you he likes exotic locations 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
GrahamH Posted January 21, 2017 Report Share Posted January 21, 2017 Somebody should ask McGhee if he's ever heard what people say about doing the same thing over and over again and expecting a different result... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
underboyleheating Posted January 21, 2017 Report Share Posted January 21, 2017 I can see the headlines... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
underboyleheating Posted January 21, 2017 Report Share Posted January 21, 2017 In the 50 odd years that I have watched Motherwell, we have never looked comfortable holding on to a lead against the Old Firm. We could be winning 3-0 with a minute to go and we would still endeavour to lose it 4-3. it’s the Motherwell way. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted January 21, 2017 Report Share Posted January 21, 2017 Motherwell are feckin useless at seeing games out, losing late goals to a 37 year old again, 1 would have been bad enough but 2 is a feckin disgrace. Got our goal and then shat it big time seems to be the Motherwell way at Ibrox, that playoff win seems a lifetime ago now.For all his faults, Baraclough won us the playoff game because he went there with the right attitude - not the jaded approach taken by McGhee and McCall with their "need them to have an off day" patter and then line up too defensively. If we'd just turn up and get stuck in we couldn't have a worse record in the last 20+ years than we do now, but for some reason successive managers think changing tactics that see us consistently lose is the way to play. 3 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
milo Posted January 21, 2017 Report Share Posted January 21, 2017 Do you think McManus will slaughtered by McGhee they way Ainsworth was after Thistle that time? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
siebsbarmyarmy Posted January 21, 2017 Report Share Posted January 21, 2017 Actually amazing how a game of football can leave you utterly deflated. Just infuriating to again lose to this team who are actually shite. Worse thing is we have them again next week and the exact same will happen again. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
underboyleheating Posted January 21, 2017 Report Share Posted January 21, 2017 Just infuriating to again lose to this team who are actually shite. My Partick Thistle mate said the same thing when Rangers scored a late winner against them. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
postiejim Posted January 21, 2017 Report Share Posted January 21, 2017 Early 70's 2-1 up at firpark Rangers equalise late on and win the replay 4-2 at Ibrox . 1975 2 up at Hampden in the semis Gers win 3-2 1992 as holders we go to Ibrox score first then lose the match 2-1 Then there was the famous Steve Woods game when he gifted Rangers a late equaliser and the won the replay. Then we saw Terry Butchers young side 2-1 up at half time and playing Rangers of the park....we lost 4-3. Today we witnessed the most recent kick in the baws when we are 1-0 up with five tae go and lose 2-1. Season well and truly over ! No matter how much things change ,they remain the same. Totally sick and scunnered . Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted January 21, 2017 Report Share Posted January 21, 2017 We need to drop this 'season over, chat. Staying in the top flight is essential this year and if the players start thinking the season is over the Championship beckons. 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
underboyleheating Posted January 21, 2017 Report Share Posted January 21, 2017 Season well and truly over ! At least we have the play-off games to look forward to. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
milo Posted January 21, 2017 Report Share Posted January 21, 2017 Indeed. Loads to play for. Infact, given the choice I would much rather we won next week rather than today. Still an utter boot in the baws though. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
postiejim Posted January 21, 2017 Report Share Posted January 21, 2017 We need to drop this 'season over, chat. Staying in the top flight is essential this year and if the players start thinking the season is over the Championship beckons. It's over in the sense we've nothing really to be positive about ,look forward to a relegation dog fight which is on the cards if you want ,for me, as Roy Orbison sang, " it's over". Anyway you won't get much positively on here now after today. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shotts Well Fan Posted January 21, 2017 Report Share Posted January 21, 2017 Fucking devastated. Never in any danger for most of second half and 2 defensive mistakes, fucks us up. McManus runs out after the Fat boy crosses it leaving the rest of the defence standing, just stay where you are and head it away. What the fuck was he trying for the pass for the second goal- your not Baressi yah fucking diddy just get it into the stand. How come our 30 somethings fall apart and are breathing out their arses in the last 10 mins when Miller comes alive. Not good enough and can you imagine what Mpult must be thinking? he burst his guts on his own for 70 odd minutes and scores a great goal only to be let down by someone probably earning twice his pay. He will be off as soon as he has a decent offer. Complete shite. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
supermarv Posted January 21, 2017 Report Share Posted January 21, 2017 The season isn't over we got put out the cup we are 2 points off 6th in the table and if we beat they h**s next week then we will be up there 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Welldaft Mk1 Posted January 21, 2017 Report Share Posted January 21, 2017 Back in town after the game. I celebrated the goal like a nutter. Then promptly sat down quietly waiting for the inevitable to unfold. But even I thought 1-0 up with 5 to go we would get a draw. But as my mate pointed out if Liverpool can lose to Bournemouth 4-3 after being 3-1 up ! Hurts like hell though. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
asdf1234 Posted January 21, 2017 Report Share Posted January 21, 2017 Absolutely gutted for McGhee in particular. Thought his tactical planning was spot on. Let them have possession most the game then go after it with 20 mins left. Let down by shite McManus pass even though I thought his passing out the back had been brilliant all day. Shame but certainly a solid performance from most of the boys 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
supermarv Posted January 21, 2017 Report Share Posted January 21, 2017 Just me that thought heneghan was absolutely shite and got bullied by kenny miller Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
sinjy Posted January 21, 2017 Report Share Posted January 21, 2017 Any defeat after being 1-0 up with ten to go is devastating but to lose to those bastards is beyond devastating. I hate them with a vengeance. On my way home from the pub I was listening to the tam news from other ties and I switched it off. Just can't bear to think we are out and have no interest in the cup now when others have yet to play. Gutted. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
postiejim Posted January 21, 2017 Report Share Posted January 21, 2017 Absolutely gutted for McGhee in particular. Thought his tactical planning was spot on. Let them have possession most the game then go after it with 20 mins left. Let down by shite McManus pass even though I thought his passing out the back had been brilliant all day. Shame but certainly a solid performance from most of the boys That's a decent assessment, but I'll take results over performance especially in a cup tie. But your comments are pretty much on the money. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
postiejim Posted January 21, 2017 Report Share Posted January 21, 2017 Sorry double post. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shire Greats Posted January 21, 2017 Report Share Posted January 21, 2017 If anyone is so inclined , could they compile a list of the last minute /late goals we have lost over past couple of seasons. Other thoughts on the game , McKay roasted Tait and we were lucky not to concede from him being turned inside out. Also, If we lose Moult i, we could be in trouble Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
steelboy Posted January 21, 2017 Report Share Posted January 21, 2017 We were poor first half and dragged them down a bit second half. We shouldn't have lost after scoring in 75 minutes but they scored one good goal and McManus fucked up after being outstanding for the last few months. Chalmers is never cut out for this level and Clay is the invisible man. Tait can't handle anyone running at him. Postives were McHugh and Lasley looking like they could be a good partnership, McHugh provides the security and Keith wins the ball. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lobey_Dosser Posted January 21, 2017 Report Share Posted January 21, 2017 Strangely came away from Ibrox not as gutted as you would expect. I wasn't particularly keen on McGhee's tactics but I can understand he setup that way, unfortunately though we didn't have the players to execute the plan with Chalmers, Clay and Tait not up to the required standard. Having said that I felt relatively confident after Moult's textbook header, particularly with McDonald on the pitch. Just need to move on now, hopefully the blue pounds earned today can sort out our left hand side and keep us out a relegation battle. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
grizzlyg Posted January 21, 2017 Report Share Posted January 21, 2017 Lost count of times we have lost late goal at Ibrox. I am not a usual McGhee hater but today raging as why we sit back when we aren't good enough defensively. Why not be brave and have a go. Yet another non existent cup run so well done McGhee 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...