Kmcalpin Posted December 7, 2016 Report Share Posted December 7, 2016 Was speaking to one of the programme sellers last week and he said that he had heard from someone in the club that mcghee doesnt rate him and he was brought in as a last minute offer from west ham Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
AlmostFrazzled Posted December 7, 2016 Report Share Posted December 7, 2016 To be fair, him being shit is the theory I am behind. Surely you'd think if he's fit and ready to play he'd at least have made the bench when you consider the weans who've been involved in the matchday squads recently. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andy_P Posted December 7, 2016 Report Share Posted December 7, 2016 It actually came up last night. McGhee was asked directly at AGM what the situation was with him and as has been alluded to above, he responded that as of yet he hasn't shown a sufficient amount to justify much of an inclusion in the U20's far less the first-team. He comes at no cost to the club. McGhee then went on to make a more general point that it perhaps gave an indication of the perception of the level of Scottish football when the parent club made the offer with the belief that he might add to our first team. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
superward Posted December 7, 2016 Report Share Posted December 7, 2016 It actually came up last night. McGhee was asked directly at AGM what the situation was with him and as has been alluded to above, he responded that as of yet he hasn't shown a sufficient amount to justify much of an inclusion in the U20's far less the first-team. He comes at no cost to the club. McGhee then went on to make a more general point that it perhaps gave an indication of the perception of the level of Scottish football when the parent club made the offer with the belief that he might add to our first team. Good to hear it clarified that he came at no cost to the club. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lobey_Dosser Posted December 7, 2016 Report Share Posted December 7, 2016 We seemingly had a number of targets ready to push the button on when it came to replacing Marvin. Evidently the timing of the transfer prevented an acquisition in August but hopefully one or two options remain open for January. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
milo Posted December 7, 2016 Report Share Posted December 7, 2016 That's actually quite reassuring to hear that Belic isn't a) costing us anything and b) has only not featured because he's simply not shown enough. I'm fine with all that having previously questioned his validity. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
David Posted December 7, 2016 Report Share Posted December 7, 2016 Not too sure the idea of taking players on blind faith is a good way to go right enough. Had McGhee seen this lad play previously? Or did he just go with what he was told by someone outwith the club? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Onthefringes Posted December 7, 2016 Report Share Posted December 7, 2016 Recommended late in the window from a 'friend' at West Ham. With friends like that, who needs enemies? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
superward Posted December 7, 2016 Report Share Posted December 7, 2016 No fee or wages...your as well taking the risk late on in the window I say. You never know. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yassin Posted December 7, 2016 Report Share Posted December 7, 2016 Not really sure why anybody has a problem with this tbh. We agree to taking an unknown on loan for no cost, and in the off chance that he turns out to be a player- fantastic- if not, then there's no harm done. For every Casagolda or Semih Aydilek there's a Henrik Ojamaa. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
numpty Posted December 7, 2016 Report Share Posted December 7, 2016 Only downside really is that if, as in this case, it turns out to be a waste of time for the player himself, potentially hindering his development, then it might put a damper on any other deals or negotiations between the two clubs in future. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
middleeastdave Posted December 8, 2016 Report Share Posted December 8, 2016 Is he any relation to West Ham Manager? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
capt_oats Posted December 8, 2016 Report Share Posted December 8, 2016 Is he any relation to West Ham Manager? Unlikely given his surname's different and they're different nationalities. There's been no mention of him being a relation that I've read. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
CMWellfan Posted December 8, 2016 Report Share Posted December 8, 2016 As far as I can see, the only "established," players we signed in the summer were Tait, Clay & McHugh. Everyone else was a speculative punt. Which is a mental managerial position to take. It should have been six established plus 3 punts. Burrows thinks he's running a branch of Ladbrokes. We must hold the record for the most lame players in any first team squad in the SPL. We should open a glue factory and melt our knacked players down. Try to get some money back. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Haggischomper Posted December 8, 2016 Report Share Posted December 8, 2016 Yeah, fabulous suggestions as always. 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kmcalpin Posted December 8, 2016 Report Share Posted December 8, 2016 As far as I can see, the only "established," players we signed in the summer were Tait, Clay & McHugh. Everyone else was a speculative punt. Which is a mental managerial position to take. It should have been six established plus 3 punts. Burrows thinks he's running a branch of Ladbrokes. Try to get some money back. I take your general point but its the manager/head coach who decides how the playing budget is spent. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
capt_oats Posted December 8, 2016 Report Share Posted December 8, 2016 As far as I can see, the only "established," players we signed in the summer were Tait, Clay & McHugh. Everyone else was a speculative punt. Which is a mental managerial position to take. It should have been six established plus 3 punts. Burrows thinks he's running a branch of Ladbrokes. We must hold the record for the most lame players in any first team squad in the SPL. We should open a glue factory and melt our knacked players down. Try to get some money back. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
superward Posted December 8, 2016 Report Share Posted December 8, 2016 As far as I can see, the only "established," players we signed in the summer were Tait, Clay & McHugh. Everyone else was a speculative punt. Which is a mental managerial position to take. It should have been six established plus 3 punts. Burrows thinks he's running a branch of Ladbrokes. We must hold the record for the most lame players in any first team squad in the SPL. We should open a glue factory and melt our knacked players down. Try to get some money back. If you count Tait, Clay and McHugh as established then Brill, Bowman and Heneghan were all established at the respective levels also. Blyth and Lucas are the punts and both been curtailed by injury. Belic cost nothing..so not a punt in my eyes. As for melting players down I find it funny you want Chalmers given a new contract in another thread when he is number 1 on the list for melting due to always being injured. Also, it was made very clear at the AGM that McGhee has full and final say on how the playing budget he is given is spent. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
postiejim Posted December 8, 2016 Report Share Posted December 8, 2016 As far as I can see, the only "established," players we signed in the summer were Tait, Clay & McHugh. Everyone else was a speculative punt. Which is a mental managerial position to take. It should have been six established plus 3 punts. Burrows thinks he's running a branch of Ladbrokes. We must hold the record for the most lame players in any first team squad in the SPL. We should open a glue factory and melt our knacked players down. Try to get some money back. With only a few weeks left till 2017 this must be in with a chance of "best post of 2016" . Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yassin Posted December 8, 2016 Report Share Posted December 8, 2016 With only a few weeks left till 2017 this must be in with a chance of "best post of 2016" . 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options... CrosshillWell Posted December 8, 2016 Report Share Posted December 8, 2016 The guy's pissed off that Trump hasn't offered him a job as head of trade or international development. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options... CMWellfan Posted December 8, 2016 Report Share Posted December 8, 2016 If you count Tait, Clay and McHugh as established then Brill, Bowman and Heneghan were all established at the respective levels also. Blyth and Lucas are the punts and both been curtailed by injury. Belic cost nothing..so not a punt in my eyes. As for melting players down I find it funny you want Chalmers given a new contract in another thread when he is number 1 on the list for melting due to always being injured. Also, it was made very clear at the AGM that McGhee has full and final say on how the playing budget he is given is spent. Brill - injured for years. Bowman - non league. Heneghan - fair enough, and I'm delighted he's worked out well. Belic - write off, Blyth - write off. Lucas - write off. Would you like to argue any of those points? Re Chalmers - I tipped him to come on to a game this season and prior to his injury, he did. I took some slating for that call at the time. I don't mind guys like McHugh being posted missing due to injury, he took a bad one. I do mind us filling our squad with fragile players with next to zero track record. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options... CMWellfan Posted December 8, 2016 Report Share Posted December 8, 2016 (edited) With only a few weeks left till 2017 this must be in with a chance of "best post of 2016" . You're away with the fairies, boss. Roughly a third of our first team squad has either no-showed on the pitch this season, or appeared for "ten minutes." It's a disgraceful reflection upon our summer recruitment. Edited December 8, 2016 by Yabba's Turd Abuse removed. No need to be calling anyone names. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options... Busta Nut Posted December 8, 2016 Report Share Posted December 8, 2016 You are very aggressive 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options... hammy Posted December 8, 2016 Report Share Posted December 8, 2016 This forum needs more taxi-driving self made internet marketing gurus. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options... Prev 1 2 3 Next Page 2 of 3 Join the conversation You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account. Reply to this topic... × Pasted as rich text. Paste as plain text instead Only 75 emoji are allowed. × Your link has been automatically embedded. Display as a link instead × Your previous content has been restored. Clear editor × You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL. Loading... × Desktop Tablet Phone Submit Reply Share More sharing options... Followers 1
CrosshillWell Posted December 8, 2016 Report Share Posted December 8, 2016 The guy's pissed off that Trump hasn't offered him a job as head of trade or international development. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
CMWellfan Posted December 8, 2016 Report Share Posted December 8, 2016 If you count Tait, Clay and McHugh as established then Brill, Bowman and Heneghan were all established at the respective levels also. Blyth and Lucas are the punts and both been curtailed by injury. Belic cost nothing..so not a punt in my eyes. As for melting players down I find it funny you want Chalmers given a new contract in another thread when he is number 1 on the list for melting due to always being injured. Also, it was made very clear at the AGM that McGhee has full and final say on how the playing budget he is given is spent. Brill - injured for years. Bowman - non league. Heneghan - fair enough, and I'm delighted he's worked out well. Belic - write off, Blyth - write off. Lucas - write off. Would you like to argue any of those points? Re Chalmers - I tipped him to come on to a game this season and prior to his injury, he did. I took some slating for that call at the time. I don't mind guys like McHugh being posted missing due to injury, he took a bad one. I do mind us filling our squad with fragile players with next to zero track record. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
CMWellfan Posted December 8, 2016 Report Share Posted December 8, 2016 (edited) With only a few weeks left till 2017 this must be in with a chance of "best post of 2016" . You're away with the fairies, boss. Roughly a third of our first team squad has either no-showed on the pitch this season, or appeared for "ten minutes." It's a disgraceful reflection upon our summer recruitment. Edited December 8, 2016 by Yabba's Turd Abuse removed. No need to be calling anyone names. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Busta Nut Posted December 8, 2016 Report Share Posted December 8, 2016 You are very aggressive 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
hammy Posted December 8, 2016 Report Share Posted December 8, 2016 This forum needs more taxi-driving self made internet marketing gurus. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...