mon_da_well Posted March 20, 2009 Report Share Posted March 20, 2009 Are they...? Paisley Glens Ayr Carlton Yupp, all the same Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
brisbaneMFC Posted March 20, 2009 Report Share Posted March 20, 2009 Sporting goods manufacturers tend to work to templates though. Not like they get a seperate designer for each. Closest you'd get to real variance would only be bigger clubs. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tartan_Special Posted March 20, 2009 Report Share Posted March 20, 2009 Motherwell hoody! now that'd be gid Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fatcalf Posted March 20, 2009 Report Share Posted March 20, 2009 Classic style, except for the last 30 odd years. For me the BAND is classic style.30+ years from the last full hoop, you'd think you'd get over it eh? MON THE BAND! I wouldn't care if it was a hoops, many hoops, stripes, stars, diamonds, rhombus-ish, or covered in parallelograms. It's not about the strip, it's about the team. If it's claret and amber it'll do. Exactly the kind of attitudes created by numerous arseing about by kit manufacturers. When you've got a tradition you should stick with it otherwise, as shown, you lose that identity which was previously considered exclusive. Amber shirt, claret hoop, there's your template. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mon_da_well Posted March 20, 2009 Report Share Posted March 20, 2009 When was that template last used? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nijholt91 Posted March 20, 2009 Report Share Posted March 20, 2009 For the last 20 odd years, we've mostly had a band, I'd say that's become tradition. It's still exclusive, it just doesn't go the whole way round. Get over it! When was that template last used? 36 years ago. 36. Years. Still bitter... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fatcalf Posted March 20, 2009 Report Share Posted March 20, 2009 Point proven once again, cheers lads. Get that Hoop back now before we lose it forever due to ignorance and apathy Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mon_da_well Posted March 20, 2009 Report Share Posted March 20, 2009 If the last time was 30 years ago I wasn't even born. It's just a hoop, relax. Start worrying about more important things, like Jade Goody Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nijholt91 Posted March 20, 2009 Report Share Posted March 20, 2009 Point proven once again, cheers lads. Get that Hoop back now before we lose it forever due to ignorance and apathy And while we're at it get rid of all those new fangled modern cars, Morris Minors are the way forward Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Frazzie Posted March 20, 2009 Report Share Posted March 20, 2009 It wasn't 36 years ago - we wore a hoop all the way round in (I think) 1995-ish. Motorola sponsored it, Pony made it and guys like Tommy Coyne, Dougie Arnott, etc wore it. It wasn't the broad effort we had in the fifties, of course, but it did go all the way round. It had a wee thin one above and below it aswell to make it modern to the time. Was a decent strip. Much better than most that have followed it since. Frazzle Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nijholt91 Posted March 20, 2009 Report Share Posted March 20, 2009 Aw, apologies. 1 in 36 years. Still tradition aye? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Frazzie Posted March 20, 2009 Report Share Posted March 20, 2009 Aye. Frazzle Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nijholt91 Posted March 20, 2009 Report Share Posted March 20, 2009 Nonsense. Nijholt91 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mon_da_well Posted March 20, 2009 Report Share Posted March 20, 2009 What's wrong with the kits we've had? We've had some cracking ones! Once in 36 years is considered tradition? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fatcalf Posted March 20, 2009 Report Share Posted March 20, 2009 We've worn C&A since 1913, the Hoop has adorned the jersey in the majority of those years so yes, tradition. In modern times there has been a shift so time to get back to the proper hoop before more disrespectful young pups take your attitude Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gaag Posted March 20, 2009 Report Share Posted March 20, 2009 Have to say i loved the last seasons home strip effort... Motherwell FC embroidered on the arse, i'd like to see that become tradition Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SteelEdge Posted March 20, 2009 Report Share Posted March 20, 2009 It wasn't 36 years ago - we wore a hoop all the way round in (I think) 1995-ish. Motorola sponsored it, Pony made it and guys like Tommy Coyne, Dougie Arnott, etc wore it. It wasn't the broad effort we had in the fifties, of course, but it did go all the way round. It had a wee thin one above and below it aswell to make it modern to the time. Was a decent strip. Much better than most that have followed it since. Frazzle I've still got that shirt. In fact I was wearing it the other day. Definitely my favourite 'Well shirt. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mon_da_well Posted March 20, 2009 Report Share Posted March 20, 2009 Have to say i loved the last seasons home strip effort... Motherwell FC embroidered on the arse, i'd like to see that become tradition No Gaag, you can't have it! It's not tradition! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Steve Diggle Posted March 20, 2009 Report Share Posted March 20, 2009 A hoop would be good - but its too hard to do - you'd never get the number to stick oan the back. Plus claret material is 30 times more expensive than amber stuff - so if we had claret right roon the XXL strip will be about £75. I think it's about time we had a SteelmenOnline sponsored weight loss anyway. I'm cringing at the thought of all us fat bassas in a Canterbury shirt. The east stand will be like a jumbo water balloon convention Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SteelEdge Posted March 20, 2009 Report Share Posted March 20, 2009 A hoop would be good - but its too hard to do - you'd never get the number to stick oan the back. The hoop can be printed on the same material as the amber body. That's what the mid-nineties Pony shirt was like. And that's what all the teams' shirts are like who have hooped or striped designs (Celtic, Partick Thistle and so on). They don't have individual bits of material all stitched together to make stripes or hoops. I think our kit manufacturers have been quite cheap when it came to the hoop or band. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Steve Diggle Posted March 20, 2009 Report Share Posted March 20, 2009 The hoop can be printed on the same material as the amber body. That's what the mid-nineties Pony shirt was like. And that's what all the teams' shirts are like who have hooped or striped designs (Celtic, Partick Thistle and so on). They don't have individual bits of material all stitched together to make stripes or hoops. I think our kit manufacturers have been quite cheap when it came to the hoop or band. Yep! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
brisbaneMFC Posted March 20, 2009 Report Share Posted March 20, 2009 Vaguely related, last few times we've trekked down for a game I've been very impressed with the number of team members wearing simple black boots. A victory for common sense. Leave the ridiculous coloured efforts to the Jungle Jims and other cretins. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fatcalf Posted March 20, 2009 Report Share Posted March 20, 2009 That's a whole new young 'uns/auld yins argument. Ah remember Georgie Best's white boots being copied in the 70s. Wrong then as it is now IMO Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gaag Posted March 20, 2009 Report Share Posted March 20, 2009 what difference does the colour of boots make? if you're applying logic, then by all rights the boots should be colour co-ordinated with the strips? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
niall Posted March 20, 2009 Report Share Posted March 20, 2009 what difference does the colour of boots make? don't see it making a difference with the football, its just stupid at rugby, if you stamp on someone then its quite obvious who did it! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...