David Posted August 8, 2017 Report Share Posted August 8, 2017 This is something I've wondered for a while. In the past it was only Celtic and Rangers who had their own TV channel, but now we're seeing the likes of Hibs and even Thistle with a subscription channel on their websites? They offer live access to their games for overseas fans, and delayed coverage for UK based fans (entire 90 minutes are made available from midday the next day). Anyone know why we can't be doing something like this? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Busta Nut Posted August 8, 2017 Report Share Posted August 8, 2017 we tried it. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted August 8, 2017 Report Share Posted August 8, 2017 "Tried" is a bit generous. Unless that includes the talk about trying it rather than actually broadcasting anything to test. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fizoxy Posted August 8, 2017 Report Share Posted August 8, 2017 I would like this, from the highlights I can only ever see who's good. I need to see the full games to know who's shite. Unless they're Zack Jules. We already record the whole games and provide commentary, so my guess is the hosting platform would be the stumbling block. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
David Posted August 8, 2017 Author Report Share Posted August 8, 2017 I would like this, from the highlights I can only ever see who's good. I need to see the full games to know who's shite. Unless they're Zack Jules. We already record the whole games and provide commentary, so my guess is the hosting platform would be the stumbling block. Couldn't we just copy Thistle? I assume they're not paying a fortune or using anything that would be outwith our reach? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted August 8, 2017 Report Share Posted August 8, 2017 Sounds like a job for our marketing department to rustle up a partnership with a hosting company. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
sbcmfc Posted August 9, 2017 Report Share Posted August 9, 2017 The content the club put out isn't too bad. They do a highlights package and loads of other interviews and stuff including the MixLR commentary. Live streaming for exiles would be nice I'm sure, but it's a pretty small market. While it's not all about making money, there would be a cost involved that wouldn't come back. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
capt_oats Posted August 9, 2017 Report Share Posted August 9, 2017 This is something I've wondered for a while. In the past it was only Celtic and Rangers who had their own TV channel, but now we're seeing the likes of Hibs and even Thistle with a subscription channel on their websites? They offer live access to their games for overseas fans, and delayed coverage for UK based fans (entire 90 minutes are made available from midday the next day). Anyone know why we can't be doing something like this? I'll admit I've not paid that much attention but I'm not sure how popular Thistle's platform actually is. I'm pretty sure quite a few of their fans have pointed to our #content as a model that they'd prefer rather than the subscription service. Live games and delayed coverage aside I don't think the Jagzone content is really any different to what Motherwell are doing with their YouTube channel. The only difference is that Thistle fans are being asked to pay for it. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
numpty Posted August 9, 2017 Report Share Posted August 9, 2017 Live streaming for exiles would be nice I'm sure, but it's a pretty small market. While it's not all about making money, there would be a cost involved that wouldn't come back. It's just frustrating that when they're already filming and commentating on almost every game, they can't go the final few yards so we can see the pictures alongside the live comms... or even just the pictures. The bandwidth cost of the actual streaming is probably pretty small... in the absence of any other overheads, I'd guess they'd be more than covered if every viewer was asked to pay a couple of quid to watch every week. Or it could just be considered a Well Society perk for overseas members, since the other ones aren't usually much use to us. (Though here in Ireland, I'd lose out both ways as they're not allowed to live stream Scottish fitba' here either...) The whole rights/geolocation issue is the main problem I presume -- as far as I know, none of the 'simple' solutions (YouTube, Facebook, Periscope, uStream and whatnot) have either a way to stream to paid subscribers only, or to block viewers by IP or location. So presumably the club would need to pay for some bespoke solution, and that's what'd put the price up for viewers. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kmac Posted August 9, 2017 Report Share Posted August 9, 2017 Contacted the club about this quite a few times.... As was said above, other clubs broadcast live oversees and we already have the tv cameras and commentary so should be a logical step! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
superward Posted August 9, 2017 Report Share Posted August 9, 2017 I guess the easy way to do it would be to price it and just pass that fully on to the interested exiles. If enough people want it then it happens. If not then it disnae. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spiderpig Posted August 9, 2017 Report Share Posted August 9, 2017 Sounds like a job for our marketing department to rustle up a partnership with a hosting company. Somebody send a message to cm wellfan the forums resident taxi driving marketing and internet expert, should be no bother for him to set up. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
David Posted August 9, 2017 Author Report Share Posted August 9, 2017 I'll admit I've not paid that much attention but I'm not sure how popular Thistle's platform actually is. I'm pretty sure quite a few of their fans have pointed to our #content as a model that they'd prefer rather than the subscription service. Live games and delayed coverage aside I don't think the Jagzone content is really any different to what Motherwell are doing with their YouTube channel. The only difference is that Thistle fans are being asked to pay for it. It's the live games and delayed coverage that's the main attraction though, isn't it? Especially for overseas fans. They don't even need to put too much into it, the new EFL iFollow package is basically one camera angle filming the whole game with no commentary or replays. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Busta Nut Posted August 9, 2017 Report Share Posted August 9, 2017 What sort of camera is used to record the games for the MFC TV? I know ye can broadcast on a phone these days but would the camera have the ability to go live? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
numpty Posted August 9, 2017 Report Share Posted August 9, 2017 What sort of camera is used to record the games for the MFC TV? I know ye can broadcast on a phone these days but would the camera have the ability to go live? Possibly not directly, but if not they could likely hook it up to a laptop and use something like OBS Studio (free) or something better (not free) to stream via their service of choice. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted August 9, 2017 Report Share Posted August 9, 2017 The biggest technical challenge, I suspect, would be applying the appropriate geographic restrictions. But I imagine services like Youtube Live Stream manage that. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
David Posted August 10, 2017 Author Report Share Posted August 10, 2017 The biggest technical challenge, I suspect, would be applying the appropriate geographic restrictions. But I imagine services like Youtube Live Stream manage that. As I said before, Thistle can manage to do this, so is it really outwith our capabilities? It would likely be a decent little earner, especially from fans overseas. Think most clubs charge UK-based fans £4.99 or something for all the miscellaneous content plus delayed coverage of the full 90 minutes, and overseas fans a tenner or something for the same coverage except the games are streamed live. An overseas address and bank account are required for the live streaming service. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
CoF Posted August 10, 2017 Report Share Posted August 10, 2017 The content the club put out isn't too bad. They do a highlights package and loads of other interviews and stuff including the MixLR commentary. Yep. We're a lot better served than many other premiership clubs. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
stuwell Posted August 10, 2017 Report Share Posted August 10, 2017 Yep. We're a lot better served than many other premiership clubs. True but to keep the overseas fans who pay into the Well society feeling valued I think this could be a worthwhile cost especially if the are willing to pay a bit extra to part fund it. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fizoxy Posted August 10, 2017 Report Share Posted August 10, 2017 That's what I was thinking, right now I pay nothing to the club weekly, as do most overseas fans, so this would hopefully bring us some money. However I don't know 1) how many overseas fans we have, and 2) how much it costs to do. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
numpty Posted August 10, 2017 Report Share Posted August 10, 2017 That's what I was thinking, right now I pay nothing to the club weekly, as do most overseas fans, so this would hopefully bring us some money. However I don't know 1) how many overseas fans we have, and 2) how much it costs to do. I don't know either, but I'm expecting Ally Maxwell to phone us all personally and sort it out. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fizoxy Posted August 10, 2017 Report Share Posted August 10, 2017 I tweeted flow and he gave an answer, I think it shows in the shout box? Either way, it's something they are looking at. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted August 10, 2017 Report Share Posted August 10, 2017 That's what I was thinking, right now I pay nothing to the club weekly, as do most overseas fans. If this did get up and running, I imagine fees would just cover the costs. If you want to contribute to the club, however, the Well Society is the way to go. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fizoxy Posted August 10, 2017 Report Share Posted August 10, 2017 Yeah, that's the plan. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...