steelman1991 Posted August 13, 2020 Report Share Posted August 13, 2020 For me there’s not a lot he can do with the back four at the moment DM I’d play Barry Maguire with O’Hara Campbell and Turnbull in front of him Upfront any two from Watt/Lang/Long/White Oh and by the way well still get humped Horgan is going to have afield day no matter what wing he plays on He could start of by dropping Mugabi.Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
CoF Posted August 13, 2020 Report Share Posted August 13, 2020 46 minutes ago, Great Balls of Shire said: I don’t buy the “ lose the dressing room” thing....players , especially at smaller clubs are playing for win bonuses and are motivated by money , that’s not to say they don’t have professional pride too. Sometimes they’re just not very good. When folk use that term, they don't necessarily mean the players have stopped trying. It can mean a whole host of things. Players might lose trust in the managers decisions / tactics so revert to their own ideas because they think they know better. That puts the game plan out the window. They might stop being as receptive in training. As soon as doubt sets in about the manager's game plan then that's a huge problem. Sounds like drivel, but there's also an extra level of performance and effort that can only be found in the mind. That's why sports psychology is so huge now. A happy dressing room playing for the manager will always be able to tap into an extra 5% for every sprint and tackle. Cohesive squads with a leader on the sideline won't be beaten until the final whistle. If all you've got is arguing from the 80th minute then the games done. You could also have cliques forming in the squad. A divided squad off the field is rarely coherent on the field. If the manager isn't in control of all that then it's a massive problem. There's a tipping point where it's impossible for him to get that control back - the mistrust in his tactics is too ingrained in the squad, or the disagreements too deep. That's what losing the dressing room means. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
wellwell91 Posted August 13, 2020 Report Share Posted August 13, 2020 27 minutes ago, steelman1991 said: He could start of by dropping Mugabi. Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Distribution terrible but defended ok last night Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted August 13, 2020 Report Share Posted August 13, 2020 3 minutes ago, wellwell91 said: Distribution terrible but defended ok last night I think Hartley must have been coaching him. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Winning by Name Posted August 13, 2020 Report Share Posted August 13, 2020 2 hours ago, wellsince75 said: who's playing in their natural position that needs a kick up the backside ? Last night we had Lammie out of position which meant we had no width on the left to work with Seedorf (who has no left foot) Long was out of position , which meant Grimmy couldn't overlap with anyone on the right (and Grimmy isn't a natural RB either) Unless big Declan is carrying an injury, I think he would be one. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
0Neils40yarder Posted August 13, 2020 Report Share Posted August 13, 2020 1 hour ago, steelman1991 said: He could start of by dropping Mugabi. Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk One of the few who could hold his head high from yesterday Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
steelman1991 Posted August 13, 2020 Report Share Posted August 13, 2020 One of the few who could hold his head high from yesterday Seriously? Sorry mate can’t agree at all on that one. He’s played in 2 games and been shite in both.He’s absolutely crap and so out of his depth it’s embarrassing. Grimshaw is another who should be replaced. Both are total dug shite.Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
0Neils40yarder Posted August 13, 2020 Report Share Posted August 13, 2020 3 minutes ago, steelman1991 said: Seriously? Sorry mate can’t agree at all on that one. He’s played in 2 games and been shite in both. He’s absolutely crap and so out of his depth it’s embarrassing. Grimshaw is another who should be replaced. Both are total dug shite. Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk He defended ok last night, cannae comment on Utd game as I didnt see it...he was in the top 3 or 4 performers last night Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kmcalpin Posted August 13, 2020 Report Share Posted August 13, 2020 He played ok last night I thought and Robbo complimented him. However a below par Dykes proved a handful for him and he lost out in quite a few aerial duels. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stu92 Posted August 13, 2020 Report Share Posted August 13, 2020 His distribution is pretty poor, but he is probably our fifth or sixth choice centre half so hardly expected to be a ball-playing defender. I thought he done okay last night and in previous games from a purely defensive perspective. Also should've scored last night. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ropy Posted August 13, 2020 Report Share Posted August 13, 2020 1 hour ago, steelman1991 said: Seriously? Sorry mate can’t agree at all on that one. He’s played in 2 games and been shite in both. He’s absolutely crap and so out of his depth it’s embarrassing. Grimshaw is another who should be replaced. Both are total dug shite. Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk His defending was ok last night, if he gets a wee run in the team he will probably improve Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
underboyleheating Posted August 22, 2020 Report Share Posted August 22, 2020 If results don’t improve over the next few games, questions will be asked if he has taken us as far as he can. A disappointing start to the season. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Casagolda Posted August 22, 2020 Report Share Posted August 22, 2020 Robinson Out. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
stv Posted August 22, 2020 Report Share Posted August 22, 2020 Someone tell him you can change tactics during the game. Fuk keeping possesion and our shape ,just try and score thats how u win. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stu92 Posted August 22, 2020 Report Share Posted August 22, 2020 We’re not playing bad. We’re dominating games. Questions need to be asked just as much of the forwards as they do of the manager. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
steelboy Posted August 22, 2020 Report Share Posted August 22, 2020 Lose on Thursday and he'll surely resign. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lobey_Dosser Posted August 22, 2020 Report Share Posted August 22, 2020 It’s a shame Robinson didn’t get one of the many jobs he’s been linked with. He’s put his heart and soul into the club but it seems apparent that the spark has gone. I’m coming to the conclusion that Robinson is a good manager in need of a new challenge while we have a relatively good squad in need of a new voice. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ropy Posted August 22, 2020 Report Share Posted August 22, 2020 He has a challenge right in front of him, identify a forward line that works, perhaps two in the middle with Seedorf (or any of the other six) switching wings. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
wellsince75 Posted August 22, 2020 Report Share Posted August 22, 2020 the issue over the last 12 months is other teams know exactly how to play against us. Initially teams played higher up the park and we countered, they've learned to sit in and we can't actually get past their frontline - unless Turnbull does something. I don't believe the stikers are the total problem - we're not working the keeper as we don't create real chances . My frustration is for 15 games or so now we've persevered with a formation that doesn't work. A few subtle changes could make a big difference. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shaka Posted August 22, 2020 Report Share Posted August 22, 2020 Robinson should be sacked! He has watched how poor we were in Jan/Mar, had a transfer window where he was backed to the hilt, and we are a disorganised shambles and if anything look WORSE than the latter part of last season. 2 wins from 14 and no wins this season is an utter fucking disgrace. However, scout extraordinaire Foyle will still be here, and Las will be the new manager so whats the point in sacking Robinson? Its just replacing clueless shite with more clueless shite. We either need to rip out everything, root and stem, or just keep Robbo and save any compo money for another fucking useless "striker" who can "play all across the front 3" Glentoran are a pub team who we should be beating by several goals, unfortunately its guaranteed we will scrape a 1-0 or maybe an extravagant 2-0 and the rest of the shite this season will be forgotten and the slate will be wiped clean cause weve won a fucking game. 1 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
middleeastdave Posted August 22, 2020 Report Share Posted August 22, 2020 I would think that Robinson will be under a lot of pressure as a result to the start of the season, let’s remember two months ago we were all pleading for him not to take the NI job, I am semi confident he will turn things around and I cannot see Burrows sacking him, so everyone jump on Motherwell rollercoaster!! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yorkyred Posted August 22, 2020 Report Share Posted August 22, 2020 1 hour ago, steelboy said: Lose on Thursday and he'll surely resign. Good try. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
grizzlyg Posted August 22, 2020 Report Share Posted August 22, 2020 I feel questions need to be asked about our scouting setup and also our youth academy, if there are no youngsters ready to step up then questions should be asked as to why. Over past 2-3 years how many have been promoted?.....about 4 I reckon which is very poor. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
CoF Posted August 22, 2020 Report Share Posted August 22, 2020 22 minutes ago, Shaka said: Robinson should be sacked! He has watched how poor we were in Jan/Mar, had a transfer window where he was backed to the hilt, and we are a disorganised shambles and if anything look WORSE than the latter part of last season. 2 wins from 14 and no wins this season is an utter fucking disgrace. However, scout extraordinaire Foyle will still be here, and Las will be the new manager so whats the point in sacking Robinson? Its just replacing clueless shite with more clueless shite. We either need to rip out everything, root and stem, or just keep Robbo and save any compo money for another fucking useless "striker" who can "play all across the front 3" Glentoran are a pub team who we should be beating by several goals, unfortunately its guaranteed we will scrape a 1-0 or maybe an extravagant 2-0 and the rest of the shite this season will be forgotten and the slate will be wiped clean cause weve won a fucking game. Jeez. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Big Stall Posted August 22, 2020 Report Share Posted August 22, 2020 44 minutes ago, grizzlyg said: I feel questions need to be asked about our scouting setup and also our youth academy, if there are no youngsters ready to step up then questions should be asked as to why. Over past 2-3 years how many have been promoted?.....about 4 I reckon which is very poor. The youths that would have been ready were purchased by Leeds and Rangers i believe. Not much we can do when a bigger club comes in offering 6figure? Sums for school weans. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...