fatcalf Posted February 27, 2009 Report Share Posted February 27, 2009 It's official, what we all knew to be true, the gaffer has just announced on Setanta's Press Box, exact words tae. Gaun yirsel Noah Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wellworn Posted February 27, 2009 Report Share Posted February 27, 2009 That's telling them Mark. Despite their good run of form, the club have hit the headlines for all the wrong reasons in recent weeks, with the Fir Park pitch coming under heavy criticism. I think it's ludicrous to say that the pitch is dangerous or anything like that, added McGhee. The pitch is just bumpy and not conducive to passing, flowing football. But that affects us more than any other team in the SPL. It's very frustrating for me, but it's not dangerous. I've had no fears for my players when we play on that pitch, I only have fears for the way we are able to play. Our supporters should be watching a team play on a green surface and not a dessert, but the fact is that's the way it is until we get it fixed in the summer. We're going to do major renovations - there will be bulldozers in here, not shovels. So the pitch will be better next season. At the moment it's playable, not enjoyable, but get on with it. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lobey_Dosser Posted February 27, 2009 Report Share Posted February 27, 2009 Superb Mark McGhee. I sense an 'us against them' mentality emerging. Love it! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ONeils40yarder Posted February 27, 2009 Report Share Posted February 27, 2009 Great comments!! Basically says 'shut the fuck up Hateley and Co., you don't know what you are talking about'. I'm sure there will be a Motherwell fan or two somewhere who takes umbrage at his latest comments though. Mon the McGhee!!! p.s. we MUST get the pitch sorted in the summer Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fatcalf Posted February 27, 2009 Author Report Share Posted February 27, 2009 Great comments!! Basically says 'shut the fuck up Hateley and Co., you don't know what you are talking about'. I'm sure there will be a Motherwell fan or two somewhere who takes umbrage at his latest comments though. Mon the McGhee!!! p.s. we MUST get the pitch sorted in the summer Can't see why, as fans we want the best for the club. As manager so does he and when it comes to backing the club against outside attacks we're all in it together. Doesn't take away from the fact this is all our boards doing though, should have been sorted last summer as promised. At least everyone knows about it now so will probably get done this time. Shouldn't have gone this far though. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ONeils40yarder Posted February 27, 2009 Report Share Posted February 27, 2009 I was alluding to the fact that he can't seem to please all Motherwell fans. Purely 'tongue in cheek'!! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tartan_Special Posted February 27, 2009 Report Share Posted February 27, 2009 Git it right roond yeh yah greasy haired English Prack!!!! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
numpty Posted February 27, 2009 Report Share Posted February 27, 2009 Our supporters should be watching a team play on a green surface and not a dessert Somehow, I doubt he really said that Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
milo Posted February 27, 2009 Report Share Posted February 27, 2009 Gonyersel McGhee! Hateley is a fucking knob. Remember when he went on a rant about Faddy taking the ball away after we scored against the h**s and he said if John Brown (who is also a knob) had been playing, he's have knocked his teeth out? What a brilliant well balanced article that was. I urge every 'Well fan not to read these rags. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wellworn Posted February 27, 2009 Report Share Posted February 27, 2009 The full interview is on this link. http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/scotland/7915113.stm Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Haggischomper Posted February 27, 2009 Report Share Posted February 27, 2009 Our supporters should be watching a team play on a green surface and not a dessert, but the fact is that's the way it is until we get it fixed in the summer. What a puddin'. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Neil Posted February 27, 2009 Report Share Posted February 27, 2009 A brilliuant, honest interview from McGhee. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pepper Posted February 27, 2009 Report Share Posted February 27, 2009 Mark Hateley didn't really think his comments through did he. If every ground with a poor playing surface was closed down due to health and safety fears then half the scottish league would collapse. And at amateur level Councils would refuse to allow anyone to play on their pitches for fear of being sued. We all know how H&E obsessed they are. Well done McGee you just said what we were all thinking. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
daver Posted February 27, 2009 Report Share Posted February 27, 2009 What a puddin'. Yes, when I read that I got a lovely image of them trying to play on a nice lemon meringue pie! Seriously though, I think everyone's getting a bit fed up with the continued slating of the pitch and McGhee is obviously frustrated. Everybody know's it's in poor condition and continually talking about it isn't going to make it get better - let's just get on with playing football. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
gunn Posted February 27, 2009 Report Share Posted February 27, 2009 Do you think Jim has learned Up The Well for the back of the bus tomorrow? Would be a funny site seeing all the well players singing on the bus while Jims plays guitar!! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tartan_Special Posted February 27, 2009 Report Share Posted February 27, 2009 "Falkirk , Hearts and those sorts play "direct" football anyway, they dont use the grass, so I dont see why they are bleeting on about it" Fuckin superb Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kmcalpin Posted February 27, 2009 Report Share Posted February 27, 2009 I'm sure there will be a Motherwell fan or two somewhere who takes umbrage at his latest comments though. Of course there will be. Its virtually impossible to get our entire support to agree about anything. There will be those who want action now and not at the end of the season. There will be those who will be worried, very worried, about the effect of bulldozers on the pitch. I could go on and on. Me? I'm encouraged the club seems to be taking the problem seriously. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Deaddogman Posted February 27, 2009 Report Share Posted February 27, 2009 The full interview is on this link. http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/scotland/7915113.stm Does anyone else have buffering problems with this link? I get 6 seconds of film then it re buffers Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SuperSteelman Posted February 27, 2009 Report Share Posted February 27, 2009 Mark McGhee is always honest in his interviews and always sticks up for the club when we need him to, i love the comment "there will be bulldozers in here, not shovels." Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
beesher Posted February 28, 2009 Report Share Posted February 28, 2009 'I think Celtic will finish in the top 6' McGhee is the man. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Motherwell Football Club Posted February 28, 2009 Report Share Posted February 28, 2009 I kept waiting for big Mark to just go,"Wanty just shut it wae the pitch pish." In Marks wording,"Theres more to Motherwell football club than a rubbish playing surface." Anyone else think he's starting to get a wee bit cheeky like his ginger pal? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Busta Nut Posted February 28, 2009 Report Share Posted February 28, 2009 guy's a legend Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lukebmfc Posted February 28, 2009 Report Share Posted February 28, 2009 Leg - end man big jimbob with the gee tair haha Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
jk2205 Posted February 28, 2009 Report Share Posted February 28, 2009 Quality interview from the big man..and a few quality put downs for the wee diddy clubs moaning..(including Celtic) Bit worried about all this Jim O'Brien guitar business though.. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Motherwell Football Club Posted February 28, 2009 Report Share Posted February 28, 2009 I've solved it. Get Jim O'Brien to play a song on his guitar as the teams come out. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...