grizzlyg Posted March 27, 2020 Report Share Posted March 27, 2020 Hi Folks Hope you are well and staying safe and sticking to the guidelines in place. Just a wee note to say that the BBC SCOTLAND channel is showing the 91 cup final in its entirety on Sunday from 7.15pm. Means I will need to record Antiques Roadshow now!! COYWWWWWWW 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spiderpig Posted March 27, 2020 Report Share Posted March 27, 2020 Hampden Park 18th of May 1991 watching us lift the Scottish cup and the Olympic stadium in Athens on 8th of August 2012 for our 1st champions league away tie my two proudest moments as a well fan, happy days. Can't believe the cup win was 29 years ago. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
grizzlyg Posted March 27, 2020 Author Report Share Posted March 27, 2020 Wasnt at Athens mate and gutted I didnt make it to Dortmund or Nancy. However I know it only meant premiership survival but seeing us beat gers 6-1 on aggregate was immense Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BAZ Posted March 29, 2020 Report Share Posted March 29, 2020 Watching this on BBC Scotland. What a game and what a goalie. Brings back all happy memories. Those were the days. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted March 29, 2020 Report Share Posted March 29, 2020 It's been fun watching the retro 90's rules where you can pass the ball back for the keeper to pick up and assault the keeper in mid-air without getting a foul against you. 2 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted March 29, 2020 Report Share Posted March 29, 2020 Even our cup winning team was useless at seeing out a game with a 2 goal lead. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
0Neils40yarder Posted March 29, 2020 Report Share Posted March 29, 2020 Was that one booking in the entire 120mins of fitba? Some of the challenges would lead to retrospective bans nowadays... And there is nae way any player would even contemplate staying on the park with injuries like Maxy had... ... Changed days indeed 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Keith mac Posted March 29, 2020 Report Share Posted March 29, 2020 I was at the final arrived 15 minutes late as I was in the train stuck at airbles but managed to get out up the hill and taxi straight into hampden . It's the first time I e ever seen it in full and it was good to see how good the game was again . I remember how quiet the well fans were at the start of extra time we were drained. I have to comment how good Jim Griffin was possibly nijholt as well he could put a good dig in. After the game I was back shift so couldn't even get a drink Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Big Wispy Flossy Posted March 29, 2020 Report Share Posted March 29, 2020 Nijholt was certainly mixing it. My memory convinced me john Clark and Dave bowman were the only ones fouling that game Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mfc Posted March 29, 2020 Report Share Posted March 29, 2020 I was only 8 back in 91 so i dont remember a great deal from being at the game or the day in general but the one thing i do remember was my rangers supporting pal begging to be stevie kirk when we went for a kick about out in the street later that night .i never get tired of watching the final,seeing darren jackson greeting like a big lassie when he went up for his medal is a particular delight. 1 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
grizzlyg Posted March 29, 2020 Author Report Share Posted March 29, 2020 Still hard to believe man of the match was Dave Bowman!! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
0Neils40yarder Posted March 29, 2020 Report Share Posted March 29, 2020 Even now, 29 years later, I'd still love to batter fuck out of Darren Jackson 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
joewarkfanclub Posted March 30, 2020 Report Share Posted March 30, 2020 Thoroughly enjoyed that tonight. I must admit enjoying the referees performance. Some really meaty challenges going in from both sides but he kept control of the game and stopped it from boiling over without being over fussy and brandishing cards galore. Just wouldnt happen nowadays. I had also forgotten what a good game Jimmy Griffen had. Quite a battle between him and Bowman and at times McInally, but he more than held his own and would have been my MoM if it hadnt been for the heroics of Ally Maxwell. Looking at our team now, other than David Turnbull, are there any of our current players that would get in the 91 team? 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
CoF Posted March 30, 2020 Report Share Posted March 30, 2020 5 hours ago, weeyin said: It's been fun watching the retro 90's rules where you can..... assault the keeper in mid-air without getting a foul against you. Aye, they changed that rule at the end of season 2013/14. 2 3 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
0Neils40yarder Posted March 30, 2020 Report Share Posted March 30, 2020 6 hours ago, joewarkfanclub said: Thoroughly enjoyed that tonight. I must admit enjoying the referees performance. Some really meaty challenges going in from both sides but he kept control of the game and stopped it from boiling over without being over fussy and brandishing cards galore. Just wouldnt happen nowadays. I had also forgotten what a good game Jimmy Griffen had. Quite a battle between him and Bowman and at times McInally, but he more than held his own and would have been my MoM if it hadnt been for the heroics of Ally Maxwell. Looking at our team now, other than David Turnbull, are there any of our current players that would get in the 91 team? Gallagher and Campbell Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Winning by Name Posted March 30, 2020 Report Share Posted March 30, 2020 1 hour ago, 0Neils40yarder said: Gallagher and Campbell I agree with you mate Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
joewarkfanclub Posted March 30, 2020 Report Share Posted March 30, 2020 They wouldnt be far away but McCart and Paterson were good centre halves. In fact Paterson quite similar in style to Gallagher and just as good in the air. Campbell would be there or there abouts, but would struggle to dislodge a fit Colin ONeill. O'Donnell and Angus in the centre were different kinds of players so maybe an unfair comparison there. I wondered about the goalkeepers. Maxy was outstanding for us for 3 seasons. Gillespie and Carson are both very good, would they challenge him for no1 jersey? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
0Neils40yarder Posted March 30, 2020 Report Share Posted March 30, 2020 Paterson was just about done in 1991, and as slow as a week in the jail... I'd have Gallagher ahead of him. Campbell would get in over Angus for me 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Great Balls of Shire Posted March 30, 2020 Report Share Posted March 30, 2020 Posed the question to some mates last night ( remotely of course) ....Did they think the standard in general was better, same or worse than now......the ones who got back to me thought we played more football on deck now.....I tend to agree , after watching again last night, surprised how many long balls were played.Not complaining mind you. i thought the standout players for both teams were Phil for us and John ONeil for them, wonder why he never went further. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Great Balls of Shire Posted March 30, 2020 Report Share Posted March 30, 2020 16 hours ago, weeyin said: It's been fun watching the retro 90's rules where you can pass the ball back for the keeper to pick up and assault the keeper in mid-air without getting a foul against you. Clark was solid and didn’t hold back and obviously did Maxi a lot of harm, but I don’t think there was any malicious intent there....prob a foul tho....all worked out in the end Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted March 30, 2020 Report Share Posted March 30, 2020 6 minutes ago, Great Balls of Shire said: Clark was solid and didn’t hold back and obviously did Maxi a lot of harm, but I don’t think there was any malicious intent there....prob a foul tho....all worked out in the end I didn't suggest it was intentional - but it was 100% a foul and 100% a yellow card even in the 90s. Even then keepers received more than generous protection. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stuwell2 Posted March 30, 2020 Report Share Posted March 30, 2020 There’s one later in the game where he try’s to smash him in the throat with a forearm Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
well_said Posted March 30, 2020 Report Share Posted March 30, 2020 Apparently the ball is still in intensive care. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
steelboy Posted March 30, 2020 Report Share Posted March 30, 2020 I hated John Clark back in the 90s when he was at Falkirk. Him and Stevie Fulton in the same team was horrible. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kmcalpin Posted March 30, 2020 Report Share Posted March 30, 2020 6 hours ago, Great Balls of Shire said: Clark was solid and didn’t hold back and obviously did Maxi a lot of harm, but I don’t think there was any malicious intent there....prob a foul tho....all worked out in the end I've watched this time and again over the years and Clark clearly intended to batter Maxi as he turned around to protect himself just before he slammed into him. A clear foul. Did he intend to very seriously injure him? I doubt it. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...