bobbybingo Posted February 25, 2021 Report Share Posted February 25, 2021 13 minutes ago, Coatsy said: I have no idea i did not think anyone of them had played, Lawless played and was reported injured after that brief appearance. Nolan and Foley i have heard nothing about at all. I wondered if Alexander had seen them in training and told them not to bother coming back Foley came on in the Dundee Utd game. I've no reason to doubt they're injured, but with Nolan in particular, it does raise questions regarding the wisdom of bringing in players who haven't played competitive football - even in the reserves - for a long spell, and might be more likely to pick up injuries. Actually, just checked - Foley and Nolan are on the official list. Injuries TBC, return TBC. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kat Posted February 25, 2021 Report Share Posted February 25, 2021 53 minutes ago, 0Neils40yarder said: Yeah all well and good, but I genuinely dont think that the club need to give the fans all of the information we crave...in the old days we got literally fuck all info on the whereabouts of a player other than from teamsheets and when someone signed in or out. We have been pretty open in the recent past with information and maybe GA has come in and put a stop to it. Clubcall was great in the early 90s for some inside info, cost an arm and a leg to get all the scoops though. 4 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
bobbybingo Posted February 25, 2021 Report Share Posted February 25, 2021 2 minutes ago, Kat said: Clubcall was great in the early 90s for some inside info, cost an arm and a leg to get all the scoops though. Ha, forgot about that. Used to phone at work, till I got my arse booted. 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coatsy Posted February 25, 2021 Report Share Posted February 25, 2021 19 minutes ago, bobbybingo said: Foley came on in the Dundee Utd game. I've no reason to doubt they're injured, but with Nolan in particular, it does raise questions regarding the wisdom of bringing in players who haven't played competitive football - even in the reserves - for a long spell, and might be more likely to pick up injuries. Actually, just checked - Foley and Nolan are on the official list. Injuries TBC, return TBC. Thanks for putting me right, got to agree that signing players that are instantly injured should raise some questions presumably about the training/physo assessments Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
bobbybingo Posted February 25, 2021 Report Share Posted February 25, 2021 2 hours ago, Coatsy said: Thanks for putting me right, got to agree that signing players that are instantly injured should raise some questions presumably about the training/physo assessments The January window's a hit or a miss for clubs like us. Can't/won't buy and which club's gonnae loan you a player who's doing well for them. At least we're getting a turn out of Magloire and Roberts done quite well last night, so it hasn't been a dead loss after all. Disappointed Foley's out, would've liked to have seen him get a shot. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
CoF Posted February 25, 2021 Report Share Posted February 25, 2021 4 hours ago, steelboy said: There is a major difference between speculating on something that is going to happen in the future and taking about something that has happened. Speculation is part of a football forum, but a lot of your posts read like you are stating facts or are 'in the know', and that's how those three examples read at the time. Even when you get asked about sources (Gallagher contract), you use some half-truth to claim you were right. Even though it's clear you cant back up your claim. Maybe it's not your intention, but that's how it comes across and I don't think it's a great approach when talking about court cases and child abuse, and to a much lesser extent player contracts. Anyway, I'm tuning out on this and going back to my own ill-informed thoughts on the game itself. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ropy Posted February 25, 2021 Report Share Posted February 25, 2021 2 hours ago, bobbybingo said: Actually, just checked - Foley and Nolan are on the official list. Injuries TBC, return TBC. I don’t think the club understands a forum’s need to speculate, providing information isn’t part of the contract. The silence should be deafening. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
bobbybingo Posted February 25, 2021 Report Share Posted February 25, 2021 18 minutes ago, ropy said: I don’t think the club understands a forum’s need to speculate, providing information isn’t part of the contract. The silence should be deafening. GTF instead of TBC seems like a fair compromise. 1 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
wellowell Posted February 27, 2021 Report Share Posted February 27, 2021 We are so amateurish in some aspects ,to have 3 players we signed in January on an injury list saying TBC is a joke . Are we saying they have been out for weeks but we don’t know what with . Also sure O,Hara is concussion but may be wrong so if so why not say concussion. We seem to have a massive injury list but many are unknown just strange it’s the players who have just been signed that are in that category . Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
0Neils40yarder Posted February 27, 2021 Report Share Posted February 27, 2021 So Declan has now made that appearance that some of the all-knowing worthies of this forum said he would never make...what we talking about now? 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
C&A not the shop Posted February 27, 2021 Report Share Posted February 27, 2021 I think most of the "all knowing" are of the opinion that has contract was amended and the clause in question removed so he could play again. I don't see him starting for us in August. Would love to be wrong though as he's been a great player for us for the most part. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andy_P Posted February 27, 2021 Report Share Posted February 27, 2021 1 hour ago, C&A not the shop said: I think most of the "all knowing" are of the opinion that has contract was amended and the clause in question removed so he could play again. I don't see him starting for us in August. Would love to be wrong though as he's been a great player for us for the most part. I would imagine if the contract has indeed been changed, then presumably the club have been compensated in some regard to facilitate such a change. I know we do well by players who are injured but a player who has become a full Scotland international on our watch and who might have gleaned some kind of financial return if he was under contrast and attracting interest is somewhat different. If and when he does go then we milk it for what we can be that in monetary terms or simply to use as another angle that can be used to sell the club to prospective signings. The parallels of Gallagher and Craig Halkett are there to be seen. There was barely a peep in comparison about Gallagher when both he and Halkett left Livingston at the same time. The press was full of how great a capture Hearts had landed. Fast forward a couple of years and Gallagher's a full internationalist, played in the Europa League, on the verge of playing in the European Championships and we don't even know what online games Halkett plays... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
dennyc Posted February 27, 2021 Report Share Posted February 27, 2021 A question for those in the know. What is the up to date position regarding young Sam Campbell who was on the point of leaving us to head South, with Motherwell having agreed terms with both Leeds and Liverpool? Not seen anything since he went down for his trial at Liverpool. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Goggles & Flippers Posted February 27, 2021 Report Share Posted February 27, 2021 21 minutes ago, Andy_P said: I would imagine if the contract has indeed been changed, then presumably the club have been compensated in some regard to facilitate such a change. I know we do well by players who are injured but a player who has become a full Scotland international on our watch and who might have gleaned some kind of financial return if he was under contrast and attracting interest is somewhat different. If and when he does go then we milk it for what we can be that in monetary terms or simply to use as another angle that can be used to sell the club to prospective signings. The parallels of Gallagher and Craig Halkett are there to be seen. There was barely a peep in comparison about Gallagher when both he and Halkett left Livingston at the same time. The press was full of how great a capture Hearts had landed. Fast forward a couple of years and Gallagher's a full internationalist, played in the Europa League, on the verge of playing in the European Championships and we don't even know what online games Halkett plays... Doesn’t it highlight the mercenary nature of the modern agent. agent: ”I’d like to get my client improved terms, he’s achieved blah, done blah and got international blah” club: ”ok, improved weekly wage however we’d like an appearance trigger” ”how about naw” ”how about aye” “Ok then” Fast forward 6 months .... agent: “see that legally binding agreement, can we pie it?” Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Onthefringes Posted February 27, 2021 Report Share Posted February 27, 2021 40 minutes ago, dennyc said: A question for those in the know. What is the up to date position regarding young Sam Campbell who was on the point of leaving us to head South, with Motherwell having agreed terms with both Leeds and Liverpool? Not seen anything since he went down for his trial at Liverpool. He’s injured? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
dennyc Posted February 27, 2021 Report Share Posted February 27, 2021 Just now, Onthefringes said: He’s injured currently Thanks. Hope he recovers as certainly one for the future. With us or not. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ropy Posted February 27, 2021 Report Share Posted February 27, 2021 53 minutes ago, Onthefringes said: He’s injured? Presumably a knee? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
KirkySuperSub Posted February 27, 2021 Report Share Posted February 27, 2021 No doubt the jury is out on the scouting and fitness elements of the club, but given Liam Kelly's performances alone since he came in, you could argue January's transfer window has been more positive than negative and has made all the difference...given the alternative was running with Morisson (unknown?) / Chapman for the second half of the season. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
livivoice Posted February 28, 2021 Report Share Posted February 28, 2021 So good has Kelly been he might just push himself into contention for Scotland's 3 rs goalkeeper at the Euros. Current guy Mc Laughlin at Rangers barely gets a game . 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
joewarkfanclub Posted February 28, 2021 Report Share Posted February 28, 2021 Kelly must be in with a real shout of that Euro spot, which would be another massive feather in the cap for the club. The only other contenders for me would be Xander Clarke or Robbie McCrorie, but I think Kelly is better than both of them. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
livivoice Posted February 28, 2021 Report Share Posted February 28, 2021 23 minutes ago, joewarkfanclub said: Kelly must be in with a real shout of that Euro spot, which would be another massive feather in the cap for the club. The only other contenders for me would be Xander Clarke or Robbie McCrorie, but I think Kelly is better than both of them. Miles ahead of Mc Crorie. Clarke far to erratic. Only other possibility is Archer who showed improvement with us but now almost permanently on bench at Middlesbrough. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
joewarkfanclub Posted February 28, 2021 Report Share Posted February 28, 2021 4 hours ago, livivoice said: Miles ahead of Mc Crorie. Clarke far to erratic. Only other possibility is Archer who showed improvement with us but now almost permanently on bench at Middlesbrough. I agree. Archer isnt playing so wont be in the mix. Similarly McLaughlan. I am not aware of any other good Scottish keepers playing at a decent level that would be considered. Bain maybe? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kmcalpin Posted February 28, 2021 Report Share Posted February 28, 2021 15 minutes ago, joewarkfanclub said: I am not aware of any other good Scottish keepers playing at a decent level that would be considered. Bain maybe? Craig Gordon? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
C&A not the shop Posted March 1, 2021 Report Share Posted March 1, 2021 12 hours ago, Kmcalpin said: Craig Gordon? I think they'll take Gordon for sentimental reasons. I don't think he should go though. 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
joewarkfanclub Posted March 1, 2021 Report Share Posted March 1, 2021 On 2/28/2021 at 9:22 PM, Kmcalpin said: Craig Gordon? Marshall and Gordon are stick ons. As would McGregor be if he hadnt "retired", but the 3rd place is up for grabs. I think Kelly has a right good shot at it. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...