grizzlyg Posted July 30, 2020 Report Share Posted July 30, 2020 The 2 full backs concern me. Grimmy can never be faulted for effort and energy but he isn't a natural right back. Carroll I feel is ok but too often turns back once over halfway line. He is at least a natural left back but maybe with competition in that area both players will up their game. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yassin Posted July 30, 2020 Report Share Posted July 30, 2020 Carroll is class imo. He'll probably never play for us again though, a good 8 months seems to be the most we can expect from a left back not named S. Hammell. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted July 30, 2020 Report Share Posted July 30, 2020 9 minutes ago, Yassin said: Carroll is class imo. He'll probably never play for us again though, a good 8 months seems to be the most we can expect from a left back not named S. Hammell. I think Joe Wark might have something to say about that. (Derek Murray does not). 3 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yassin Posted July 30, 2020 Report Share Posted July 30, 2020 44 minutes ago, weeyin said: I think Joe Wark might have something to say about that. (Derek Murray does not). That predates Stevie leaving his cursed amulet behind in the dressing room when he went to Southend 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
steelboy Posted July 30, 2020 Report Share Posted July 30, 2020 Carroll was excellent for us. He doesn't take many risks on the ball but still chipped in with assists and goals. His defending was very good and he knew when to rely on his pace/strength and when to foul. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
grizzlyg Posted July 30, 2020 Report Share Posted July 30, 2020 10 minutes ago, steelboy said: Carroll was excellent for us. He doesn't take many risks on the ball but still chipped in with assists and goals. His defending was very good and he knew when to rely on his pace/strength and went to foul. Looks like I am in the minority about Carroll, i think my problem is I compare every left back to Rob McKinnon who was just awesome Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
steelboy Posted July 30, 2020 Report Share Posted July 30, 2020 Five subs are confirmed so there should be plenty of game time to go about. It'll be grim holding onto a result against the Old Firm and they bring another three attackers on for the last ten. There will be loads more fouls as well. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
0Neils40yarder Posted July 30, 2020 Report Share Posted July 30, 2020 7 hours ago, Jumbomuir said: Don't think so, why can't you just be positive about the team instead of your constant rumblings about, no being good enough!!!!! Which player did I say wasn't good enough? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
0Neils40yarder Posted July 30, 2020 Report Share Posted July 30, 2020 5 hours ago, Al B said: But, the guy he was talking about not rating doesn't even play for us? He didnae make a mess of himself though Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jumbomuir Posted July 30, 2020 Report Share Posted July 30, 2020 21 minutes ago, 0Neils40yarder said: He didnae make a mess of himself though Away and get a job!!!!!! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
0Neils40yarder Posted July 30, 2020 Report Share Posted July 30, 2020 10 minutes ago, Jumbomuir said: Away and get a job!!!!!! Just in fae a shift dafty Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yorkyred Posted July 30, 2020 Report Share Posted July 30, 2020 1 hour ago, steelboy said: Carroll was excellent for us. He doesn't take many risks on the ball but still chipped in with assists and goals. His defending was very good and he knew when to rely on his pace/strength and when to foul. I’m also a big fan, with I think more to come. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
0Neils40yarder Posted July 30, 2020 Report Share Posted July 30, 2020 3 minutes ago, Yorkyred said: I’m also a big fan, with I think more to come. Same here... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spit_It_Out Posted July 30, 2020 Report Share Posted July 30, 2020 Good to see everyone is getting fired up for the new season!Defo need full back cover on the right outwith that good squad best we have had in a few years cant mind last time the midfield was so stacked. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stu92 Posted July 31, 2020 Report Share Posted July 31, 2020 Agree that we probably need a bit more cover at full back, but would be very surprised if we got it. Utility cover is best we can hope for I reckon given the signings we've been making further up the field. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
C&A not the shop Posted July 31, 2020 Report Share Posted July 31, 2020 With the transfer window open until October then back open again January it's really only 2.5 months we would be unable to bring in a replacement should Grimshaw get injured so as long as Grimshaw stays fit until the window closes I can't see anyone else coming in. McGinley will be the left back option until Carrol is fit. So unless Carroll has a set back then I don't see any other LBs coming in. In fact I don't see any more activity unless there's a bad injury somewhere in the team. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yorkyred Posted July 31, 2020 Report Share Posted July 31, 2020 1 hour ago, C&A not the shop said: With the transfer window open until October then back open again January it's really only 2.5 months we would be unable to bring in a replacement should Grimshaw get injured so as long as Grimshaw stays fit until the window closes I can't see anyone else coming in. McGinley will be the left back option until Carrol is fit. So unless Carroll has a set back then I don't see any other LBs coming in. In fact I don't see any more activity unless there's a bad injury somewhere in the team. Guess it depends who leaves ( if anyone) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Big Wispy Flossy Posted July 31, 2020 Report Share Posted July 31, 2020 There’s suggestions our reserves may well be queen of the south’s first team next season (a slight exaggeration given restrictions on player movement) but a few could be headed there for sure Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ropy Posted July 31, 2020 Report Share Posted July 31, 2020 Any of the defenders can cover right back or scope to go three at the back in an emergency Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andy_P Posted July 31, 2020 Report Share Posted July 31, 2020 I might well be off the mark but I have it in my mind that Gallagher played right-back for Livi in the 3-2 game on the last day of the season before he joined us. I would need to confess he was largely unknown to me beforehand and the reports that he was about join obviously made him one to look out for in that game. But I then seem to remember hearing, I can only presume it would have been on the radio going over Fir Park, that he was going to be playing full-back and thinking the "scouting" of him might not be a true reflection seeing as he would be out of position. That could of course be tosh that somehow I've imagined to be true. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yorkyred Posted July 31, 2020 Report Share Posted July 31, 2020 5 minutes ago, Andy_P said: I might well be off the mark but I have it in my mind that Gallagher played right-back for Livi in the 3-2 game on the last day of the season before he joined us. I would need to confess he was largely unknown to me beforehand and the reports that he was about join obviously made him one to look out for in that game. But I then seem to remember hearing, I can only presume it would have been on the radio going over Fir Park, that he was going to be playing full-back and thinking the "scouting" of him might not be a true reflection seeing as he would be out of position. That could of course be tosh that somehow I've imagined to be true. He certainly did play as a full back that game. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted July 31, 2020 Report Share Posted July 31, 2020 Donnelly has "right back" listed as one of his positions in wikipedia. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Winning by Name Posted July 31, 2020 Report Share Posted July 31, 2020 15 minutes ago, weeyin said: Donnelly has "right back" listed as one of his positions in wikipedia. Yes, to me Donnelly would be the one to replace Grimshaw if necessary. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kmcalpin Posted July 31, 2020 Report Share Posted July 31, 2020 4 hours ago, Andy_P said: I might well be off the mark but I have it in my mind that Gallagher played right-back for Livi in the 3-2 game on the last day of the season before he joined us. Yes he can play right back Andy. However it’s only in truly exceptional circumstances that I’d move him out of central defence. He’s the massive rock on which our defence is founded. If we were to move him out wide it would destabilise the middle of our rearguard. We do have a couple of more preferable options to fill in for Grimmy should he be indisposed. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andy_P Posted July 31, 2020 Report Share Posted July 31, 2020 25 minutes ago, Kmcalpin said: Yes he can play right back Andy. However it’s only in truly exceptional circumstances that I’d move him out of central defence. He’s the massive rock on which our defence is founded. If we were to move him out wide it would destabilise the middle of our rearguard. We do have a couple of more preferable options to fill in for Grimmy should he be indisposed. I wouldn't disagree with any of that Dave. It was more a thought that, whilst not ideal, there are one or two options Gallagher among them. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...