smiddy Posted April 3, 2022 Report Share Posted April 3, 2022 ah yodo youv surfaced did our win yesterday depress you with nae cant to slag not falling out with you but just askin if anybody else heard the rumour, did you ?????? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yorkyred Posted April 3, 2022 Report Share Posted April 3, 2022 6 minutes ago, Yodo said: Who wis it told u Yorkyred Come on Yodo, it’s not my fault we won. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
smiddy Posted April 3, 2022 Report Share Posted April 3, 2022 1 minute ago, Yorkyred said: Come on Yodo, it’s not my fault we won. ffs yorky dont mention the WIN word 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
joewarkfanclub Posted April 3, 2022 Report Share Posted April 3, 2022 If Slattery is off at the end of the season, I hope its because someone has come in for him and offered a big fat transfer fee. But given he hasnt been playing, thats unlikely! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Onthefringes Posted April 3, 2022 Report Share Posted April 3, 2022 There’s a dedicated thread to house unfounded rumours. Unlikely. We’d be well served if this came to pass. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
smiddy Posted April 3, 2022 Report Share Posted April 3, 2022 46 minutes ago, Onthefringes said: There’s a dedicated thread to house unfounded rumours. Unlikely. We’d be well served if this came to pass. ok smart arse we will see come the end of the season,,,,, watch this space Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
grizzlyg Posted April 3, 2022 Report Share Posted April 3, 2022 Slattery signed 3yr deal so if he went I would be wanting a good fee Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Onthefringes Posted April 3, 2022 Report Share Posted April 3, 2022 2 hours ago, smiddy said: ok smart arse we will see come the end of the season,,,,, watch this space Noted. What’s smart about saying we’ll be well served if it came to pass? We just ripping up remaining two years of a contract now? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
GazzyB Posted April 4, 2022 Report Share Posted April 4, 2022 Chunky minimum fee release clause thingy? Hope he stays tbh. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yorkyred Posted April 4, 2022 Report Share Posted April 4, 2022 11 hours ago, GazzyB said: Chunky minimum fee release clause thingy? Hope he stays tbh. He’s hardly getting a game, I would move back down south in his position. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
texanwellfan Posted April 4, 2022 Report Share Posted April 4, 2022 So if we manage to maintain top 6 after next week, I think it’s not so much that the manager deserves congratulations and pats on the back because sometimes you can achieve things despite what you do as opposed to because of what you do. I hope he decides to stick with the attempt to play football rather than the eye bleeding fare that’s been on display too often this season. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fizoxy Posted April 4, 2022 Report Share Posted April 4, 2022 The managers job is to win games and get us as high up the league as possible. If he pulls off the result at the weekend (even if we scrape a dire 0-0 and other results help us out) and we get top six, then he deserves the credit. Just the same as he deserves to get slated if the opposite happens.The style of football hasn't been great, but there aren't any points available for entertainment value. Hopefully we can make a couple of tweaks to the squad and a solid preseason with a relatively settled group will result in more exciting football, kind of how it came together for McLean back in the day after a few years of turgid stuff. It isn't a guarantee, but it's what's keeping me going. Sent from my SM-G996U using Tapatalk 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Haggischomper Posted April 5, 2022 Report Share Posted April 5, 2022 The McLean-era is what I keep thinking about currently, too, funnily enough. There are quite a few parallels. Sent from my Pixel 6 Pro using Tapatalk Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yodo Posted April 5, 2022 Report Share Posted April 5, 2022 30 minutes ago, Haggischomper said: The McLean-era is what I keep thinking about currently, too, funnily enough. There are quite a few parallels. Sent from my Pixel 6 Pro using Tapatalk Aye especially defending a corner and leaving nobody up the park very McLean esk 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Onthefringes Posted April 5, 2022 Report Share Posted April 5, 2022 3 hours ago, Yodo said: Aye especially defending a corner and leaving nobody up the park very McLean esk Which every team in the league does except the one we beat on Saturday. There was stats offered recently for conceding 0 from around 170 corner kicks against us. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
texanwellfan Posted April 5, 2022 Report Share Posted April 5, 2022 21 minutes ago, Onthefringes said: Which every team in the league does except the one we beat on Saturday. There was stats offered recently for conceding 0 from around 170 corner kicks against us. Really? We did not concede a goal from 170 corners? You might be right but without checking that’s a difficult stat for me to believe. I’m with Yodo on leave a man up the park. Of course I’m also a “put men on the post” proponent which the pros don’t seem to do anymore. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
grizzlyg Posted April 5, 2022 Report Share Posted April 5, 2022 35 minutes ago, texanwellfan said: Really? We did not concede a goal from 170 corners? You might be right but without checking that’s a difficult stat for me to believe. I’m with Yodo on leave a man up the park. Of course I’m also a “put men on the post” proponent which the pros don’t seem to do anymore. Played amateur fitba for 25 years and we always left players on the post. Can't believe so many clubs don't adopt that policy Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
texanwellfan Posted April 5, 2022 Report Share Posted April 5, 2022 46 minutes ago, grizzlyg said: Played amateur fitba for 25 years and we always left players on the post. Can't believe so many clubs don't adopt that policy Put your short guys on the post. Not like they are going to win any heading duels. Leave speedy guy up the park. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
grizzlyg Posted April 5, 2022 Report Share Posted April 5, 2022 45 minutes ago, texanwellfan said: Put your short guys on the post. Not like they are going to win any heading duels. Leave speedy guy up the park. You obviously saw me play many times over the years then as I defended the post!! Heh he 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Winning by Name Posted April 6, 2022 Report Share Posted April 6, 2022 16 hours ago, Yodo said: Aye especially defending a corner and leaving nobody up the park very McLean esk So long as we end up winning the cup in a year or two I will be happy! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Winning by Name Posted April 6, 2022 Report Share Posted April 6, 2022 12 hours ago, texanwellfan said: Really? We did not concede a goal from 170 corners? You might be right but without checking that’s a difficult stat for me to believe. I’m with Yodo on leave a man up the park. Of course I’m also a “put men on the post” proponent which the pros don’t seem to do anymore. I agree completely. 'Man on the post'! That's what I told my son when he was playing and I smiled the other week when I heard him telling his own son to do the same. Cant understand why the pros dont seem to do it anymore. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Onthefringes Posted April 6, 2022 Report Share Posted April 6, 2022 14 hours ago, texanwellfan said: Really? We did not concede a goal from 170 corners? You might be right but without checking that’s a difficult stat for me to believe. I’m with Yodo on leave a man up the park. Of course I’m also a “put men on the post” proponent which the pros don’t seem to do anymore. Really. One of a few stats offered at the recent AGM when questioned about ‘leaving somebody up the park’. Football has evolved too. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
joewarkfanclub Posted April 6, 2022 Report Share Posted April 6, 2022 Crowding tbe box and blocking space for a free run seems to be the order of the day. Cant argue with the stats if they support it. But as a team who seem set up for the counter attack its very frustrating to see us regularly clear the ball from our box to see it come straight back in again. Stats or not Id much prefer to see 1 of Shields or Woolery or Efford or KVV left up to at least give us a chance to counter Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ya Bezzer! Posted April 10, 2022 Report Share Posted April 10, 2022 LONGEST RUN OF LEAGUE DEFEATS SO FAR THIS SEASON St Johnstone 8 - Hibs (H), Dundee (A), Aberdeen H), Rangers (A), Motherwell (A), Ross County (H), Celtic (H), Hearts (A) Dundee 6 - Rangers (A), Ross County (A), Hibs (A), Hearts (H), Aberdeen (A), Livingston (A) Dundee Utd 6 - Motherwell (A), Celtic (H), Livingston (H), Rangers (A), Hibs (H), St Mirren (H) Aberdeen 5 - Motherwell (A), St Johnstone (H), St Mirren (A), Celtic (H), Dundee (A) Hibs 5 - Rangers (A), Dundee Utd (H), Aberdeen (A), Celtic (H), Ross County (A) Livingston 4 - Rangers (A), Aberdeen (H), Motherwell (H), Hibs (A) Ross County 4 - Motherwell (A), Dundee Utd (A), St Mirren (H), Livingston (H) Hearts 3 - Rangers (A), Dundee (H), St Johnstone (A) (Agg 2-9. -7 GD) St Mirren 3 - Hearts (H), Celtic (A), Ross County (A) (Agg 0-5, -5 GD) Motherwell 3 - Celtic (H), Hearts (A), Dundee Utd (A) (Agg 1-6, -5GD) Rangers 1 Celtic 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
joewarkfanclub Posted April 10, 2022 Report Share Posted April 10, 2022 1 hour ago, Ya Bezzer! said: LONGEST RUN OF LEAGUE DEFEATS SO FAR THIS SEASON St Johnstone 8 - Hibs (H), Dundee (A), Aberdeen H), Rangers (A), Motherwell (A), Ross County (H), Celtic (H), Hearts (A) Dundee 6 - Rangers (A), Ross County (A), Hibs (A), Hearts (H), Aberdeen (A), Livingston (A) Dundee Utd 6 - Motherwell (A), Celtic (H), Livingston (H), Rangers (A), Hibs (H), St Mirren (H) Aberdeen 5 - Motherwell (A), St Johnstone (H), St Mirren (A), Celtic (H), Dundee (A) Hibs 5 - Rangers (A), Dundee Utd (H), Aberdeen (A), Celtic (H), Ross County (A) Livingston 4 - Rangers (A), Aberdeen (H), Motherwell (H), Hibs (A) Ross County 4 - Motherwell (A), Dundee Utd (A), St Mirren (H), Livingston (H) Hearts 3 - Rangers (A), Dundee (H), St Johnstone (A) (Agg 2-9. -7 GD) St Mirren 3 - Hearts (H), Celtic (A), Ross County (A) (Agg 0-5, -5 GD) Motherwell 3 - Celtic (H), Hearts (A), Dundee Utd (A) (Agg 1-6, -5GD) Rangers 1 Celtic 1 Thats a good stat. But what about runs without a win? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...