texanwellfan Posted February 15, 2023 Report Share Posted February 15, 2023 The 3 points were all about putting some hard fkn work into the game. No reason not to have that same work rate every game. Subs were like for like to keep the work rate up. Let’s see if we can work on the football side of things while we put that same effort into every game Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yorkyred Posted February 15, 2023 Report Share Posted February 15, 2023 A big three points that. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mad Dog Posted February 15, 2023 Report Share Posted February 15, 2023 Max had a great game, just the right reaction to being harshly dropped. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
smiddy Posted February 15, 2023 Report Share Posted February 15, 2023 johnstone is our next big salable asset for turnbull see johnstone the boy is class 4 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mfc Posted February 15, 2023 Report Share Posted February 15, 2023 So that's what a win feels like 😀 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
wunderwell Posted February 15, 2023 Report Share Posted February 15, 2023 I really enjoyed Kettlewells interview and paid aspect to the fact of the 3-5-2 and what St Mirren had done to be hard to beat. He installed graft tonight - St Mirren were the better team but a solid foundation and an impressive interview. Well done Stuart. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
stv Posted February 15, 2023 Report Share Posted February 15, 2023 3 hours ago, GazzyB said: Is it a 3-5-2 with McGinn and Johnson as wing backs? Think we are gonna get beat now tbh. Ha, Ha ha . Computer says no. Thank goodness Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fizoxy Posted February 15, 2023 Report Share Posted February 15, 2023 We really did keep it simple, and while we were hardly silky, the new shape halped us play to our strengths a bit more, as well as nullify st mirren a little. Not going to drink the whole bottle of champagne, but that was a huge win and fair play to the likes of Spittal and Goss who dug in. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mio Posted February 15, 2023 Report Share Posted February 15, 2023 Johnstone is a great wee player, definitely cemented himself in that right back position for me. Centre of defence and left back still give me fear but they might improve with more games. van veen was excellent, and incredibly so was spittal. Liked the look of aitchison when he came on and Cornelius put in a good shift. if they all put in that level of effort for the remaining games we’ll pick up points. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted February 15, 2023 Report Share Posted February 15, 2023 You always hope you get a reaction like that when the interim gaffer takes over. Very welcome 3 points. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stevie73 Posted February 15, 2023 Report Share Posted February 15, 2023 Best I’ve seen Big Kev play for a while, midfield still let back line down, would be good to get butcher in midfield as he talks and controls game well, Obika is pish, offered zero, can’t jump doesn’t run to press, and for a big guy can’t even hold up the ball, but Spittal man of the match, must have been at a different game from me, as all he done is put balls out for a throw in. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
smiddy Posted February 15, 2023 Report Share Posted February 15, 2023 11 minutes ago, fizoxy said: We really did keep it simple, and while we were hardly silky, the new shape halped us play to our strengths a bit more, as well as nullify st mirren a little. Not going to drink the whole bottle of champagne, but that was a huge win and fair play to the likes of Spittal and Goss who dug in. why did they 2 only start playing tonight ???????? mday help me pull stevie out from under that bus Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kmcalpin Posted February 15, 2023 Report Share Posted February 15, 2023 58 minutes ago, star sail said: Any suggestion from what we have seen tonight that the players had downed tools for Hammell, or is it just a new manager bounce? Yes a bit of both. A very valuable win. The dressing room was lost months ago. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
spudmfc Posted February 15, 2023 Report Share Posted February 15, 2023 1 hour ago, texanwellfan said: Not sure about Furlong at left full back. Cornelius struggling. Noticeably much more effort from KVV. Carson didn’t look too good at either of our goals. COYW. Need to make and convert more chances. I thought that with furlong in 1st half,but done well enough 2nd half Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
El Grew Posted February 15, 2023 Report Share Posted February 15, 2023 Looked as though Kettlewell’s objective was not to lose the game. tonight. It was a really turgid football match but a very welcome win and 3 points. Puram et ferent ad sidera. 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MelvinBragg Posted February 15, 2023 Report Share Posted February 15, 2023 6 minutes ago, Stevie73 said: Best I’ve seen Big Kev play for a while, midfield still let back line down, would be good to get butcher in midfield as he talks and controls game well, Obika is pish, offered zero, can’t jump doesn’t run to press, and for a big guy can’t even hold up the ball, but Spittal man of the match, must have been at a different game from me, as all he done is put balls out for a throw in. I'm sorry, big man, but you are having a laugh. I was really unimpressed to see Obika in the lineup, for me he's offered nothing any time he's played so far but tonight I thought he and Van Veen linked well (particularly in the second half).I think the key is to give him the ball to his chest. Number of times he took it and held off a defender before giving it to a Motherwell player... And as for Spittal? He set up the first goal and had another couple of good balls cut out by defenders. Did he misplace a pass or two? Aye, find me a player who didn't... I know we all see the game differently but come on... 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
spudmfc Posted February 15, 2023 Report Share Posted February 15, 2023 1 hour ago, Coatsy said: Half the team look like there blowing oot there arse They were,they did put some shift in,that is all I expect as a Motherwell fan Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stevie73 Posted February 15, 2023 Report Share Posted February 15, 2023 1 minute ago, MelvinBragg said: I'm sorry, big man, but you are having a laugh. I was really unimpressed to see Obika in the lineup, for me he's offered nothing any time he's played so far but tonight I thought he and Van Veen linked well (particularly in the second half).I think the key is to give him the ball to his chest. Number of times he took it and held off a defender before giving it to a Motherwell player... And as for Spittal? He set up the first goal and had another couple of good balls cut out by defenders. Did he misplace a pass or two? Aye, find me a player who didn't... I know we all see the game differently but come on... Must have been at a different game to me, Obika was slow couldn’t jump for any challenges and never chased down any balls put out from the back, but if you think he played well then we will agree to disagree 👍🏻 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
stv Posted February 15, 2023 Report Share Posted February 15, 2023 3 minutes ago, El Grew said: Looked as though Kettlewell’s objective was not to lose the game. tonight. It was a really turgid football match but a very welcome win and 3 points. Puram et ferent ad sidera. Are you bloody diiilerixic Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fizoxy Posted February 15, 2023 Report Share Posted February 15, 2023 I think it's simplifying tactics, the usual manager bounce, and st mirren being nowhere near as good as folk like to make out. 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
smiddy Posted February 15, 2023 Report Share Posted February 15, 2023 3 minutes ago, MelvinBragg said: I'm sorry, big man, but you are having a laugh. I was really unimpressed to see Obika in the lineup, for me he's offered nothing any time he's played so far but tonight I thought he and Van Veen linked well (particularly in the second half).I think the key is to give him the ball to his chest. Number of times he took it and held off a defender before giving it to a Motherwell player... And as for Spittal? He set up the first goal and had another couple of good balls cut out by defenders. Did he misplace a pass or two? Aye, find me a player who didn't... I know we all see the game differently but come on... i waiting on spittal doing what happend at the end of scobby doo and pealing of his spittal face mask to reveal feckin scott brown or somebody 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benson Posted February 15, 2023 Report Share Posted February 15, 2023 Thank feck I stayed home,over 100 quid spent in last 3 games, 3 points is 3 points,well done lads,actually won a game and still pish. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yodo Posted February 15, 2023 Report Share Posted February 15, 2023 3 minutes ago, smiddy said: i waiting on spittal doing what happend at the end of scobby doo and pealing of his spittal face mask to reveal feckin scott brown or somebody So u thought he played well? 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
grizzlyg Posted February 15, 2023 Report Share Posted February 15, 2023 Oh well how good was that tonight? Miles better certainly from effort perspective but frustrating that effort wasn't their in previous games, anyway moving on. Goss Spittal and KVV miles better for effort with Spittal excellent. Butcher and Casey look really good no nonsense signings and young furlong came onto a game. Johnson and Cornelius loads of effort. Obika for a big man doesn't jump well but good on the ground. Loved Kelly doing his Allan McGregor impression and time wasting. My one negative was the booing when SOD came on. Jeez get a grip, I know he hasn't been playing well but are we at the stage where we boo guys wearing our own jersey!! Come on. And I hope buddies are paying Watt's full wage, jeez a shadow of the player that played for us 2 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MelvinBragg Posted February 15, 2023 Report Share Posted February 15, 2023 Just now, Stevie73 said: Must have been at a different game to me, Obika was slow couldn’t jump for any challenges and never chased down any balls put out from the back, but if you think he played well then we will agree to disagree 👍🏻 I don't disagree that he didn't chase any balls down or win a header. On the first issue, not really his strength, no point having a slow striker pressing. On the second, Obika is 6ft tall. Gallagher is 6ft5 (I think) and Taylor is 6ft2. As soon as we starting playing the ball to his chest, he was holding them off and laying it off to Johnston, the midfield and Van Veen. Was he fantastic? No, but he wasn't dreadful either... 6 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...