wellon Posted January 27 Report Share Posted January 27 27 minutes ago, Ya Bezzer! said: In the past Neil Lennon has publicly said he's not interested in managing a club of our size/budget. Unless he's changed his mind it's not happening. He falls out with folk everywhere he goes, he did well at celtic but had finances to do it...definitely not for me Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
StirlingDosser Posted January 27 Report Share Posted January 27 I think the accusations of abuse are being taken out of context. It isn't nice I get that but I think its just the next phase in the wee tantrum hes been having over the last few weeks. If his family were attending games then they would have been in earshot of the wide ranging feedback he was receiving from the paying customers. Rightly or wrongly no manager is immune to stick from the stands, and from our main stand in particular. The reality is if I was a manager I don't think I'd have my close family in the stand but that's just my outlook. The abuse isn't any more than any other manager in a rough patch has recieved. Take Stevie Robinson who was being labelled an imposter at the end (he was anything but). I've never disliked Kettlewell, I wish him the best, but he was never the man to take the club forward in my view. Time to dust down and move on. Stephen Frail is not the one to do that. 6 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Big Wispy Flossy Posted January 27 Report Share Posted January 27 Neil lennon 😂😂 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
wellsince75 Posted January 27 Report Share Posted January 27 SK for me is bowing out at the right time . He can say I left Motherwell with higher points tally, cup semi and 5th in league when he left. That keeps his stock high . for me he’s looked quite stressed since December and honestly like Mcall and Robinson had ran out of ideas . At his best he and the team did the basics well - that went a long way . Those basics haven’t been in place since November and unlike last season didn’t appear to have the cohesion . got to say he gave his all and did a lot of good things for our club. I don’t this this will put managers off - the modern game is pretty exhausting . i do think we need to go beyond replacing the manager - from recruitment to all mgr staff it’s worth ensuring we’re set for the future . do want to say thanks for SK for all the positives and also for walking when he was out of ideas - full credit to him and wish him well. 3 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
wellon Posted January 27 Report Share Posted January 27 27 minutes ago, mio said: Lennon I think could be a decent enough fit for a club like ours. I think he’s a decent manager as well but I have no doubt there will be a % of our fans who will hate him for a couple of reasons. Is it because he is ginger? 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mio Posted January 27 Report Share Posted January 27 2 minutes ago, wellon said: Is it because he is ginger? As he’s got older it’s gone a bit amber Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bart Verheul Posted January 27 Report Share Posted January 27 Just now, mio said: As he’s got older it’s gone a bit amber Like his teeth 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Big Wispy Flossy Posted January 27 Report Share Posted January 27 2 minutes ago, wellsince75 said: SK for me is bowing out at the right time . He can say I left Motherwell with higher points tally, cup semi and 5th in league when he left. That keeps his stock high . for me he’s looked quite stressed since December and honestly likely Mcall and Robinson had ran out of ideas . At his best he and the team did the basics well - that went a long way . Those basics haven’t been in place since November and unlike last season didn’t appear to have the cohesion . got to say he gave his all and did a lot of good things for our club. I don’t this this will put managers off - the modern game is pretty exhausting . i do think we need to go beyond replacing the manager - from recruitment to all mgr staff it’s worth ensuring we’re set for the future . do want to say thanks for SK for all the positives and also for walking when he was out of ideas - full credit to him and wish him well. Agree with this Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MJC Posted January 27 Report Share Posted January 27 Certain media outlets now running with the headlines that Kettlewell walked due to “fan abuse”. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted January 27 Report Share Posted January 27 2 minutes ago, MJC said: Certain media outlets now running with the headlines that Kettlewell walked due to “fan abuse”. Our official site reports the same. "Stuart approached Chief Executive Brian Caldwell on Monday morning to explain why he wished to resign. Stuart explained that some of the personal abuse was now affecting his family, to the point where they didn’t wish to attend games." Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted January 27 Report Share Posted January 27 Long term, I'd like to bring in someone to play a bit more football. Short term, I'd be delighted if we can bring in someone capable of organising the defence. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
star sail Posted January 27 Report Share Posted January 27 1 hour ago, Ya Bezzer! said: For the second time in a row a manager has taken us from a relegation situation into the Top 6 and then been abused out of his job. There is no way around saying this, a lot of our fans are deplorable human beings. I feel your frustration. I think it is a sad day for the club. I think there are some in our fanbase who have lost sight of what success means to a club like Motherwell. Maybe we need to be relegated to give sections of our support an appreciation of the contribution SK and the managers before him have made to ensuring our top league status. We can argue about the merits or likewise of Kettlewell as a manager but we certainly cannot say as a collective that we have given him our support in difficult times. I suppose that makes us no better and no worse than every other support out there. Just yet another dissatisfied, angry mob amongst many. There certainly can't be many self congratulatory pats on the back from the Motherwell support this evening. I wish SK all the very best in his next job in football. 3 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
steelman1991 Posted January 27 Report Share Posted January 27 3 minutes ago, weeyin said: Stuart explained that some of the personal abuse was now affecting his family, to the point where they didn’t wish to attend games." So not abuse directly aimed at his family, but they were annoyed, hurt, upset at the abuse aimed at Stuart himself? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted January 27 Report Share Posted January 27 Just now, steelman1991 said: So not abuse directly aimed at his family, but they were annoyed, hurt, upset at the abuse aimed at Stuart himself? Doesn't say it wasn't aimed at his family too. Family members can have "personal abuse" aimed at them too. (I have no idea if that's true, btw). Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
steelman1991 Posted January 27 Report Share Posted January 27 Just now, weeyin said: Doesn't say it wasn't aimed at his family too. Family members can have "personal abuse" aimed at them too. (I have no idea if that's true, btw). I don't doubt that.......but it's not how I choose to interpret the reasoning for his resignation 😉 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MJC Posted January 27 Report Share Posted January 27 27 minutes ago, weeyin said: Our official site reports the same. "Stuart approached Chief Executive Brian Caldwell on Monday morning to explain why he wished to resign. Stuart explained that some of the personal abuse was now affecting his family, to the point where they didn’t wish to attend games." Okay. I can only go on personal experience and I wasn’t at Perth on Saturday or the week before so can’t say anything about what was or wasn’t shouted at Kettlewell. In the games I have been at Fir Park I have heard plenty of criticism and frustration being voiced but I’ve not heard any personal abuse directed at the manager. That’s not to say that it didn’t happen. If that did happen then of course it is out of order if people are getting personal and if his family was being targeted then that’s shameful to be honest. I know that Kettlewell hasn’t done himself any favours of late with his tactics and certain comments about the fans but the football has been pretty dismal throughout his tenure and frustration has been building. That does not of course excuse personal abuse towards the manager himself and especially not towards his family. IF that’s what happened. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
star sail Posted January 27 Report Share Posted January 27 Just read the BBC article. I don't think Brian Caldwell could have been any stronger in his support for Kettlewell. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cameron_Mcd Posted January 27 Report Share Posted January 27 51 minutes ago, weeyin said: in 2025, there's more to abuse than the moaners in the East Stand. Most abuse comes via social media these days, and can be pretty nasty stuff when the anonymous punters hide behind their phones and keyboards. Has the (former) manager not been pretty clear in interviews that he doesn't do social media Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
0Neils40yarder Posted January 27 Report Share Posted January 27 1 hour ago, Big Tosh said: I guess Frail would be the lowest cost option but reckon he'll go too. Who could be next? Might we plunder the Championship for Scott Brown, John McGlynn or Davie Martindale? Any other, possibly left-field, options? Frails relationship with Kettlewell was strained I believe 1 hour ago, Wellsince1976 said: How many will be willing to apply when they see the abuse the manager of a "community club" receives. I was behind him, right up until after the semi, but the football was turgid. I wish him all the best for the future. Loads will apply as always...its a great job, with supportive people at the Club, a decent budget and a good salary 1 hour ago, Ya Bezzer! said: For the second time in a row a manager has taken us from a relegation situation into the Top 6 and then been abused out of his job. There is no way around saying this, a lot of our fans are deplorable human beings. The day that fitba supporters don't let their frustrations be known to players, managers and club officials, is a day that will never happen. 1 hour ago, wellwell91 said: Neil Lennon till the end of the season Wow... 1 hour ago, mio said: Lennon I think could be a decent enough fit for a club like ours. I think he’s a decent manager as well but I have no doubt there will be a % of our fans who will hate him for a couple of reasons. I don't 'hate' him and genuinely couldn't give a shite what his background is...I dislike him because he is an obnoxious wee fanny who has a habit of falling out with folk AND his managerial record is pish 1 hour ago, Pepper said: Tony? Anne 56 minutes ago, Ya Bezzer! said: He said so. So presumably he must be a liar in your eyes. And yet he's made himself unemployed and has no guarantee of ever managing a club again. Do you honestly think it's a wily calculation to further his career? It was obvious over the last couple of weeks he was rattled by the abuse he was getting. I've been ill the last couple of weeks and not very active online but the atrocious abuse towards players, staff etc is there at the best of times, I can only imagine what it's been like since the cup defeat. It's embarrassing and disgusting. Kettlewell has surprised me by leaving, but maybe a pragmatism has kicked in? He doesn't want a relegation on his CV and can see that's the way we are hurtling 55 minutes ago, weeyin said: Time to bring in Simo with that expansive, attractive football that's being played in Perth? Wonder if he will apply again 24 minutes ago, weeyin said: Our official site reports the same. "Stuart approached Chief Executive Brian Caldwell on Monday morning to explain why he wished to resign. Stuart explained that some of the personal abuse was now affecting his family, to the point where they didn’t wish to attend games." Seems to me that his family didn't like what they were hearing in regards to SK from the stands rather than them being abused personally...it would be a bit odd for the average punter to even know if he had a wife, let alone who she actually is. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benson Posted January 27 Report Share Posted January 27 10 hours ago, wellfan said: If a Motherwell manager is only ever tasked with achieving top flight status and nothing else, and is continually rewarded a new contract for delivering that ‘significant achievement’, then we will see no progress as a club in terms of any other goals. It’s an approach that encourages and legitimises a race to stagnation, at all costs, and asks nothing more of the manager and his squad. But if that’s your cup of tea, so be Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ppower Posted January 27 Report Share Posted January 27 Just in and saw Kettlewell had resigned due to fan abuse. Jeez, that's a convenient scapegoat. Abuse goes hand in hand with a football manager. Fans pay hard earned cash in the current cost of living crisis and they go to FP for some pleasure and maybe be entertained which his team tactics couldn't provide. They are entitled to voice their displeasure. He had obviously lost the dressing room, arguments with players, throwing players under the bus in interviews, tombola football, blaming everyone but himself. Happy to take the plaudits when we won but it was everyone else's fault when we lose. Then after the last two horrendous results he turned on the fans. To be honest he should have been gone during last seasons long losing run. He has signed only two players who had a touch of skill and brought that to show, Maswanhise and Theo Bair last season. The rest of his signings you wouldn't get a balloon for. Ultimately it was his style of non football that the fans couldn't stomach any longer. We are the worst football playing team in the league and the last two games against the bottom team just brought it fully into focus. I wish him no ill, but if the board had the guts they would have sacked him before today. Either way he will walk with a severance package. 5 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benson Posted January 27 Report Share Posted January 27 Well many of the fans have got their wish,at least the club didn't have the decision to stick or twist,one thing the guy was certainly passionate about the club and worked hard,football was poor at times and results not great,imo he would have kept us up and a decision made end of season,let's hope we get the right guy in and stay up. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
FirParkCornerExile Posted January 27 Report Share Posted January 27 1 hour ago, santheman said: Probably inevitable but at this moment in time I feel a bit ashamed being a Motherwell fan given the circumstances. Some of our support really are *****. To a degree , he might also be pointing at the easiest target other than himself. I cant comment on the personal abuse as I never witnessed it but it shouldn't happen. There is also the possibility he had lost the dressing room and could see the writing on the wall , so chuck it with a record on paper that stands up and blame everyone else and his future employment is safeguarded. We will never know the truth. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bart Verheul Posted January 27 Report Share Posted January 27 Suspect one of the most pleased at Fir Park with this news will be Scotty, who will surely now get a chance to ask more of the questions he's thought of after the game, rather than having to shelve them after 2 questions when the scheduled 7mins is up 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
FirParkCornerExile Posted January 27 Report Share Posted January 27 1 hour ago, MJC said: For me Stuart Kettlewell leaves the club having overseen some very positive results. Keeping us up more than comfortably in 2023 after the combined debacle of Alexander and Hammell. Securing back to back draws at Celtic Park ending a wretched run against them stretching back to 2018 Being the first Motherwell manager in over twenty years to guide us to a league victory over Rangers and the first in 27 years to win a League match at Ibrox Theo Bair Pulling things around after a dismal run last season and securing Premiership safety And getting us to our first Semi Final in over six years Yes the football was dreadful a lot of the time and the results matched that especially in late 2023 but he does go with some credit in the bank. He does and it serves his future prospects no harm to blame it all on the fans. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...