SteelmaninOZ Posted December 31, 2023 Author Report Share Posted December 31, 2023 19 hours ago, Yodo said: Should be sacked for that team selection Oh dear that didn’t happen eh? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
David Posted December 31, 2023 Report Share Posted December 31, 2023 4 minutes ago, SteelmaninOZ said: Oh dear that didn’t happen eh? No point in quoting him, he doesn't post when we win. He'll be back in full force if we lose to Hibs though. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SteelmaninOZ Posted December 31, 2023 Author Report Share Posted December 31, 2023 1 minute ago, David said: No point in quoting him, he doesn't post when we win. He'll be back in full force if we lose to Hibs though. Aye one of the usual suspects Happy New Year 🥃 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kmcalpin Posted December 31, 2023 Report Share Posted December 31, 2023 16 hours ago, FirParkCornerExile said: Performance doesn't matter right now but you have to say if we continue to play like that for the rest of the season we will be mired in the dogfight right to the last game. I sincerely hope we have a couple of decent signings up our sleeve in the January window because that squad is pitiful. A bit negative maybe but a good bit of truth in what you say. An odd looking line up, but at the end of the day we won and that was the important thing. It affords us some breathing space. I thought we started off well and could have scored a few. Once Livi scored against the run of play though, we looked a bit shaken, but fortunately recovered to restore our 2 goal lead. The second half was absolutely dire. I get that we should have adopted a slightly more cautious approach and let Livi come out a bit more but we sat back a bit too much and made it easy for them, albeit they looked poor and didn't trouble Kelly, although they troubled the woodwork. A better team would have punished us. A good team effort and I thought Bair was excellent - his second goal was an absolute peach and would not have been out of place in the English Premier League. McGinn added some stability to our rearguard. I'm not sure what Shaw added to the team though and I hardly noticed him. Livi’s regulation goal was very soft and similar to one we conceded to Dundee a few weeks ago. On the negative side, we lost almost every aerial battle and the midfield struggled to compete, which wasn't a surprise, given the set up. I thought that the referee was very weak and inconsistent especially with yellow cards. He was well worked by Livingston who adopted their trademark physical and streetwise approach – that’s all they have in their locker. Bair was unlucky not to score a hat trick and we’ve seen similar efforts given in the recent past, where the “offending player” wasn’t interfering with play. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SteelmaninOZ Posted December 31, 2023 Author Report Share Posted December 31, 2023 This happens when you feed the Bair 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
joewarkfanclub Posted December 31, 2023 Report Share Posted December 31, 2023 Like many yesterday, when I saw the team selection, I thought SK had lost the plot again and feared the worst. However, we started very quickly for a change and Livingston just couldnt cope with us. The negative aspect is that we could and should have scored 4 or 5, so when Spencer switched off and let Pitman spring our offside trap, it made for a nervy few minutes until we were able to restore the lead. Big Theo has taken plenty pelters on here, so its only fair he should get the plaudits for his performance yesterday. His assist for Spittal showed great awareness and maturity and his finish for his second goal was just top drawer. Now the downside. It was clear very early second half that Livvy made changes and negated what we were doing. So it was very frustrating that SK didnt alter our set up accordingly. I get that he would be nervous about throwing away a 2 goal lead but we needed to control the midfield at that point so putting Slattery on wide right made absolutely no sense. Still, we got the win. The manager has bought himself some time and he will get the window to try and fix the gaps in our squad. We are up to 8th within striking distance of 7th. After a 15 game winless run, that seems truly mental! Happy Clappy New Year Folks! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SteelmaninOZ Posted December 31, 2023 Author Report Share Posted December 31, 2023 What a cracker of a goal 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
dennyc Posted December 31, 2023 Report Share Posted December 31, 2023 14 hours ago, Jastons said: Managers get praised when things are going well only natural to expect criticism when things are going shite. Fair point. Can you remind folk that Kettlewell deserves some praise for yesterday. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
claretband Posted December 31, 2023 Report Share Posted December 31, 2023 What a cracker of a goal That was definitely reminiscent of KVV in his pomp Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SteelmaninOZ Posted December 31, 2023 Author Report Share Posted December 31, 2023 Including a wee tribute to Phill O’Donnell Lest we forget Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
smiddy Posted December 31, 2023 Report Share Posted December 31, 2023 20 hours ago, stv said: Geez a job. What trade you talking about , is it in real world. I can start on Monday. see my railway quote STV hard to get a start, but when your inn your inn Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
smiddy Posted December 31, 2023 Report Share Posted December 31, 2023 12 hours ago, SteelmaninOZ said: Oh dear that didn’t happen eh? ahh the legend that is YODO !!!!! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Erskine Alpha Posted December 31, 2023 Report Share Posted December 31, 2023 It was a good win. I predicted 4-0 so I wasn’t far off Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
grizzlyg Posted December 31, 2023 Report Share Posted December 31, 2023 1 minute ago, Erskine Alpha said: It was a good win. I predicted 4-0 so I wasn’t far off You got the right number of goals...but not necessarily in the right prediction!! One for the Morecambe and Wise fans Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
numpty Posted January 1 Report Share Posted January 1 Closer than the result that’s currently showing on the front page of the ‘fishel website, anyway. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SteelmaninOZ Posted January 2 Author Report Share Posted January 2 A Geordie came up to Motherwell for the game we can forgive him for taking the long way to Fir Park Glad you enjoyed the experience of Fir Park Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yodo Posted January 3 Report Share Posted January 3 On 12/31/2023 at 10:04 PM, smiddy said: ahh the legend that is YODO !!!!! Another happy clapper eh Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
smiddy Posted January 3 Report Share Posted January 3 sometimes yes sometimes no 😁 , when does neil lennon start ????? :):):) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yodo Posted January 3 Report Share Posted January 3 2 hours ago, smiddy said: sometimes yes sometimes no 😁 , when does neil lennon start ????? :):):) Quicker the better 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
smiddy Posted January 3 Report Share Posted January 3 18 minutes ago, Yodo said: Quicker the better and the how long will it take you to scream " git that pop corn teethed barsteward tae feck " ???? just askin for ma pal called neil 😁 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted January 3 Report Share Posted January 3 To nick Al Franken's quote (about Senator Ted Cruz): I like Neil Lennon more than most of the other posters on here like Neil Lennon. And I hate Neil Lennon. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yodo Posted January 3 Report Share Posted January 3 1 minute ago, weeyin said: To nick Al Franken's quote: I like Neil Lennon more than most of the other posters on here like Neil Lennon. And I hate Neil Lennon. That’s why we are where we are no ambition and hire managers who have no pedigree Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
smiddy Posted January 3 Report Share Posted January 3 Just now, Yodo said: That’s why we are where we are no ambition and hire managers who have no pedigree CHUM Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spiderpig Posted January 3 Report Share Posted January 3 20 minutes ago, Yodo said: That’s why we are where we are no ambition and hire managers who have no pedigree No pedigree...... in Lennons case you missed out no class, no managerial ability, no people who rate or like him, no Motherwell fan apart from you who wants him anywhere near Fir Park. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yodo Posted January 3 Report Share Posted January 3 3 minutes ago, Spiderpig said: No pedigree...... in Lennons case you missed out no class, no managerial ability, no people who rate or like him, no Motherwell fan apart from you who wants him anywhere near Fir Park. As above no lack of ambition and I’m sure there are more than me who like to see him at Fir Park 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...