grizzlyg Posted January 24 Report Share Posted January 24 19 minutes ago, wellgirl said: I am too. Don't think that Im not. Ive been going to Fir Park on and off (when I can afford it) since 1987... Showing my age now. So I'm aware of the rollercoaster. Irrespective of different opinions on here I'm sure we all want the best for the club. Just sods law that when I got a discounted ticket this year (student) we hit yet another rough patch. You went in 1987 and you are a student? How many years is your course on for? 😜😜, only joking, good for you Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
grizzlyg Posted January 24 Report Share Posted January 24 20 minutes ago, wellgirl said: I am too. Don't think that Im not. Ive been going to Fir Park on and off (when I can afford it) since 1987... Showing my age now. So I'm aware of the rollercoaster. Irrespective of different opinions on here I'm sure we all want the best for the club. Just sods law that when I got a discounted ticket this year (student) we hit yet another rough patch. 1977 for me .... definitely showing my age!! 🤣🤣 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
wellgirl Posted January 24 Report Share Posted January 24 5 minutes ago, grizzlyg said: You went in 1987 and you are a student? How many years is your course on for? 😜😜, only joking, good for you Wasn't planned going back to uni, a strange set of circumstances got me to this point. I don't even remember if Motherwell did a student season ticket the first time I was at uni. Probably not from recollection Plus if you are in a low income and in Scotland and study part time you get your fees paid. Not the only reason I'm doing it but it absolutely helps. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
grizzlyg Posted January 24 Report Share Posted January 24 38 minutes ago, wellgirl said: Wasn't planned going back to uni, a strange set of circumstances got me to this point. I don't even remember if Motherwell did a student season ticket the first time I was at uni. Probably not from recollection Plus if you are in a low income and in Scotland and study part time you get your fees paid. Not the only reason I'm doing it but it absolutely helps. Good for you, wasn't being nosey. Good luck x 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
wellgirl Posted January 24 Report Share Posted January 24 11 minutes ago, grizzlyg said: Good for you, wasn't being nosey. Good luck x I know you weren't and thank you 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kmcalpin Posted January 25 Report Share Posted January 25 What are our attacking options for Saturday. As things stand we don't seem to be bringing in an oven ready striker in time; Bair is fit; and Obika isn't fit. Attacking midfielders Nicholson and Halliday are short of match fitness. It would seem we will play with a lone striker, Bair. Now St Johnstone are a strong physical side who'll relish a street brawl. Craig Levein loves his teams to be hard and physical. If Bair is injured? In short do we recall the young and inexperienced Mark Ferrie from Stenhousemuir. Is he match fit? If we field Bair on his own up front its essential we support him from midfield - something we've never been good at. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
bobbybingo Posted January 25 Report Share Posted January 25 1 hour ago, Kmcalpin said: What are our attacking options for Saturday. As things stand we don't seem to be bringing in an oven ready striker in time; Bair is fit; and Obika isn't fit. Attacking midfielders Nicholson and Halliday are short of match fitness. It would seem we will play with a lone striker, Bair. Now St Johnstone are a strong physical side who'll relish a street brawl. Craig Levein loves his teams to be hard and physical. If Bair is injured? In short do we recall the young and inexperienced Mark Ferrie from Stenhousemuir. Is he match fit? If we field Bair on his own up front its essential we support him from midfield - something we've never been good at. I think Ferrie's back. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
wellsince75 Posted January 25 Report Share Posted January 25 I don't think we need 2 strikers - more players who can attack. Spittal moving forward is decent and get the wingbacks pushed up and we can be a reasonable attacking force. Im sure at some point over the next week strikers will arrive. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kmcalpin Posted January 25 Report Share Posted January 25 1 hour ago, wellsince75 said: Spittal moving forward is decent and get the wingbacks pushed up and we can be a reasonable attacking force. Im sure at some point over the next week strikers will arrive. Apart from set pieces, Spittal's biggest weakness is his lack of pace. This does limit his effectiveness when we play with one striker. A decent player nonetheless. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
grizzlyg Posted January 25 Report Share Posted January 25 25 minutes ago, Kmcalpin said: Apart from set pieces, Spittal's biggest weakness is his lack of pace. This does limit his effectiveness when we play with one striker. A decent player nonetheless. Spittal's set pieces weak? Shocking.....you would never hear me shout such a thing at Fir park!!🤣🤣🤣 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
grizzlyg Posted January 25 Report Share Posted January 25 My team. Would love to start young Lennon but don't want him to get rough treatment and another injury, give him last half hour. I would switch to a back 4 Kelly SOD. Butcher. mcGinn. Monty Davor Paton. Halliday. Gent Spittal Bair Might be there which would be my first away game since.....no idea COYW Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
steelboy Posted January 25 Report Share Posted January 25 Having seen Halliday on Saturday he's clearly miles away from fitness. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
wellfan Posted January 25 Report Share Posted January 25 10 minutes ago, grizzlyg said: My team. Would love to start young Lennon but don't want him to get rough treatment and another injury, give him last half hour. I would switch to a back 4 Kelly SOD. Butcher. mcGinn. Monty Davor Paton. Halliday. Gent Spittal Bair Might be there which would be my first away game since.....no idea COYW I agree with you on Miller. I also think Mugabi will start this game, as his powerful heading will be needed to deal with the inevitable many balls shelled into the box and long balls over the top. Butcher doesn't seem able to deal with those (E.g. Butcher vs Sammon). So, I think we'll see the same team and starting formation as the Alloa game, with Miller, Halliday, Elliot, and Nicholson to come off the bench and change things when/if needed in the second half. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
grizzlyg Posted January 25 Report Share Posted January 25 15 minutes ago, wellfan said: I agree with you on Miller. I also think Mugabi will start this game, as his powerful heading will be needed to deal with the inevitable many balls shelled into the box and long balls over the top. Butcher doesn't seem able to deal with those (E.g. Butcher vs Sammon). So, I think we'll see the same team and starting formation as the Alloa game, with Miller, Halliday, Elliot, and Nicholson to come off the bench and change things when/if needed in the second half. You are probably right pal. In the air Bevis is fine....it's ball with his feet that scares me!! 😜😜. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
smiddy Posted January 25 Report Share Posted January 25 21 hours ago, wellgirl said: Wasn't planned going back to uni, a strange set of circumstances got me to this point. I don't even remember if Motherwell did a student season ticket the first time I was at uni. Probably not from recollection Plus if you are in a low income and in Scotland and study part time you get your fees paid. Not the only reason I'm doing it but it absolutely helps. good on yi hen get right intae it n good luck me a can feckin hardly spell unavursity 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
smiddy Posted January 25 Report Share Posted January 25 20 hours ago, grizzlyg said: Good for you, wasn't being nosey. Good luck x i yi wur :):) nosey barsteward Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
grizzlyg Posted January 25 Report Share Posted January 25 18 minutes ago, smiddy said: i yi wur :):) nosey barsteward 🤣🤣🤣 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
grizzlyg Posted January 25 Report Share Posted January 25 20 minutes ago, smiddy said: i yi wur :):) nosey barsteward Yer right ....ye Cannae spell......ya duck!! 🤣🤣🤣🤣, just kidding 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
wellgirl Posted January 25 Report Share Posted January 25 48 minutes ago, smiddy said: good on yi hen get right intae it n good luck me a can feckin hardly spell unavursity Criminology:) am loving it to be fair. My spelling is ok but I've had to work on so many other things... Hopefully Motherwell will kick on and I'll only be crying about my essays going forward:). 3 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
smiddy Posted January 25 Report Share Posted January 25 26 minutes ago, wellgirl said: Criminology:) am loving it to be fair. My spelling is ok but I've had to work on so many other things... Hopefully Motherwell will kick on and I'll only be crying about my essays going forward:). been there with the essay crying 2 nurses in the hoose 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
texanwellfan Posted January 25 Report Share Posted January 25 57 minutes ago, smiddy said: been there with the essay crying 2 nurses in the hoose You best go on a wee holiday cause there’s another one on the way, a week on Monday. 😟 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SteelmaninOZ Posted January 25 Author Report Share Posted January 25 The gaffer says Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SteelmaninOZ Posted January 26 Author Report Share Posted January 26 11 hours ago, smiddy said: i yi wur :):) nosey barsteward He wiz tae 🧐 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
grizzlyg Posted January 26 Report Share Posted January 26 55 minutes ago, SteelmaninOZ said: He wiz tae 🧐 Away you concentrate on Australia Day!! 🤣🤣🤣 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
couttsy Posted January 26 Report Share Posted January 26 If reports are to be believe and Montgomery is out, I suspect we’ll see Gent moved back to LWB and Miller/Halliday/Nicholson (whoever is fittest) coming in. I’d bite your hand off for a point given the state we’re in with injuries and incomplete recruitment. Would love to know what the plan is if Bair gets injured at some point today/tomorrow!? Hope to hell we have one….. Next 3 are huge, could really be doing with taking 5/6 points minimum. Particularly when you look at how tough the 3 after that are (on paper at least). 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...