2024/25 Ins & Outs Discussion

14 minutes ago, gaz7 said:

Calm yourself doon .Just repeating what he said. And stop insinuating what I'm saying as your perception is a wee bit different to mine. If a player says what he said if your not shocked with it then I know what's a load of shite . Eloquently put.

Always calm, Do you really believe that Nicholson was serious when he allegedly said he needs 2 new knees and ankles, what shocked you most not recognising the sarcasm or was it his attempt at humour.

The point is when we scouted him, and then signed him he was fit, so blaming SK for making a mistake after he gets a subsequent injury is nonsense.

1 minute ago, wellfan said:

If I buy a secondhand older vehicle with a known history of breakdowns to a specific part, and I do so because I really like it and it's maybe cheaper than others, it's entirely my fault if it breaks down again on me. If I'm willing to accept that risk, I would buy it as a backup car and not my main car, due to the risk of it being out of action at times. In this scenario, where things break down again after a know history of breakdowns, the buyer carries the can; not the player or anyone else. Nicholson isn't a chancer, but Kettlewell took a chance on him. 

Add in what @gaz7 said above, which I also watched and was a little shocked at, it's staggering that someone with a known, as well as self-proclaimed history of dodgy knees was brought in on that deal and in such an important position to supposedly cover the loss of Spittal. He was a risky signing and now we're paying for it, as he requires to be replaced this month and at short notice. I wish the guy a speedy recovery. 

I understand what you are saying and I would agree with it to a point. But we dont know that he was brought in as a direct replacement for Spittal. Particularly as Spittal was still at the club when he signed.

If he was then its a valid criticism. If he was signed as a back up, less so.

I think Stuparevic is more likely to have been signed as a Spittal replacement, but again I have no evidence of that.

What I do know is, that despite having good technical ability and no significant injury record, he was released by Watford and has now ended up with us. It would suggest that mentality is maybe his problem. Again something SK has taken a chance on.

By and large its the market we are in.....

3 minutes ago, joewarkfanclub said:

I understand what you are saying and I would agree with it to a point. But we dont know that he was brought in as a direct replacement for Spittal. Particularly as Spittal was still at the club when he signed.

If he was then its a valid criticism. If he was signed as a back up, less so.

I think Stuparevic is more likely to have been signed as a Spittal replacement, but again I have no evidence of that.

What I do know is, that despite having good technical ability and no significant injury record, he was released by Watford and has now ended up with us. It would suggest that mentality is maybe his problem. Again something SK has taken a chance on.

By and large its the market we are in.....

Aye, I guess the overall point is that it's a shame that he's out injured again, but it's troublesome that we still do not seem to have a suitable or fit replacement for Spittal. A player of his type is required to make Kettlewell's system tick and should be a top priority. I guess we can all review and moan/rejoice again come the end of the transfer window.

18 minutes ago, joewarkfanclub said:

From the little I've seen of him, Stuparevic seems more like an out and out striker rather than being a skilful and creative baller in the Spittal mould. 

1 hour ago, Spiderpig said:

So Nicholson is a chancer now , a self proclaimed gone wrong, who no doubt conned the doctors, physios, coaching staff etc to gain a contract. And you were shocked at the time, aye OK then ffs what a load of shite 🤦‍♂️

Aye just like Coach Obika.

49 minutes ago, wellfan said:

Aye, I guess the overall point is that it's a shame that he's out injured again, but it's troublesome that we still do not seem to have a suitable or fit replacement for Spittal. A player of his type is required to make Kettlewell's system tick and should be a top priority. I guess we can all review and moan/rejoice again come the end of the transfer window.

No arguments there.

35 minutes ago, Kmcalpin said:

From the little I've seen of him, Stuparevic seems more like an out and out striker rather than being a skilful and creative baller in the Spittal mould. 

Looked more like a 10 to me but I could be wrong. Regardless, I hope SK can use his man management skills to get a tune out of him wherever he plays......

When you're turning over 7 or 8 first team players, there's no point in trying to do a like-for-like replacement, unless it's a keeper.

You need to play to the strengths of the new recruits.

14 hours ago, joewarkfanclub said:

Looked more like a 10 to me but I could be wrong. Regardless, I hope SK can use his man management skills to get a tune out of him wherever he plays......

“Whenever he plays” 

I don’t hold out much hope for that being any time soon. Fully expecting the social media post telling us “Filip Stuparevic will be missing for a significant period of time due to X injury. Speedy recovery Filip” any day now. The type of post we’ve seen all too often about too many players in the last year. :wallbash:

15 hours ago, weeyin said:

When you're turning over 7 or 8 first team players, there's no point in trying to do a like-for-like replacement, unless it's a keeper.

You need to play to the strengths of the new recruits.

I agree.

But if you are the manager and want to play a certain way, you should identify and sign players that fit with that philosophy.

Its an entirely different situation SK finds himself from when he got the job and had someone elses players.

I think this is one of the valid criticisms of him as a manager so far, in that he has signed the players. He should be committing to a tactical set up that maximises the sum of the parts.

Once he has all HIS players fit and available for selection he should be judged at that point.

13 minutes ago, FirParkCornerExile said:

Not that it will happen but would anyone take Tony Watt back? a no from me,  a mercenary wage thief,  who has done fuck all since he left.

Tony Watt comes back to Fir Park I will not set foot in it until he leaves again.

I don't mind players leaving however him and Declan Gallagher the way they went about things before they left the club nah they can fek right off.

I‘m not a fan of bringing back ex players but I would take Tony Watt back right now if we had the chance as he instantly improves that forward line of ours.

I get why there is a bit of bad feeling towards him for the way he left but the club weren’t blameless in that episode either.

• Haha 2
  • Sad 1

15 minutes ago, MJC said:

I‘m not a fan of bringing back ex players but I would take Tony Watt back right now if we had the chance as he instantly improves that forward line of ours.

I get why there is a bit of bad feeling towards him for the way he left but the club weren’t blameless in that episode either.

why what did the club do?

4 minutes ago, FirParkCornerExile said:

why what did the club do?

Was there not a bit of bad blood between him and Burrows at the time leading to his departure being hastened to January rather than the summer when he had originally signed the pre contract? Seem to remember it spilled over the first time he played against us at Tannadice and him and Burrows were in each others faces at the tunnel.

11 minutes ago, MJC said:

Was there not a bit of bad blood between him and Burrows at the time leading to his departure being hastened to January rather than the summer when he had originally signed the pre contract? Seem to remember it spilled over the first time he played against us at Tannadice and him and Burrows were in each others faces at the tunnel.

not from what I remember we offered him the best deal we could , he made all the right noises then fucked off to Tannadice. The only slight spat with Burrows came at Tannadice when he scored against us and noised up our fans. Burrows was standing at the tunnel when he was subbed and they had a heated exchange. Which was later put down by both to heat of the moment spat.

3 minutes ago, FirParkCornerExile said:

not from what I remember we offered him the best deal we could , he made all the right noises then fucked off to Tannadice. The only slight spat with Burrows came at Tannadice when he scored against us and noised up our fans. Burrows was standing at the tunnel when he was subbed and they had a heated exchange. Which was later put down by both to heat of the moment spat.

Oh right maybe i just read too much into his clash with Burrows and his departure being brought forward. 

It was gutting to lose him at the time but sadly money talks.

Don’t get me wrong Watt is clearly a bit of a helmet with ideas way above his station, but I would still take the chance on him again if it was possible, which of course it isn’t. 

14 minutes ago, MJC said:

Oh right maybe i just read too much into his clash with Burrows and his departure being brought forward. 

It was gutting to lose him at the time but sadly money talks.

Don’t get me wrong Watt is clearly a bit of a helmet with ideas way above his station, but I would still take the chance on him again if it was possible, which of course it isn’t. 

Not often I say this but got to agree with MJC on this one. I actually thought Watt's departure was more down to differences between him and Alexander but I've maybe got that wrong.  He can clearly play a bit and despite the prima donna attitude worked hard for us under Robinson and Alexander too mostly. The right manager could probably get him playing again. He's a player that can hold up a ball and bring people in, which we currently don't have. Probably better than anything we have right now.

Edit - Not that I think there's a chance in hell of it happening, but it certainly wouldn't upset me.

7 minutes ago, AllyMax said:

Not often I say this but got to agree with MJC on this one. I actually thought Watt's departure was more down to differences between him and Alexander but I've maybe got that wrong.  

When he got the offer from Dundee United he told the club he would down tools if they didn't let him move. It was just money. 

Was Alexander not apparently relatively happy to lose Watt (and replace him with Efford?) 

I've still never really understand what happened there. Watt obviously played the best 6 months of his career under GA but it didn't really seem like that was down to any sort of brilliant man management that unlocked something, more that he just lucked into Watt hitting a purple patch while he was at the helm? I say this as someone who was something of an Alexander sympathiser up until the end.

11 minutes ago, Yassin said:

Was Alexander not apparently relatively happy to lose Watt (and replace him with Efford?) 

I've still never really understand what happened there. Watt obviously played the best 6 months of his career under GA but it didn't really seem like that was down to any sort of brilliant man management that unlocked something, more that he just lucked into Watt hitting a purple patch while he was at the helm? I say this as someone who was something of an Alexander sympathiser up until the end.

That was my impression too, but according to Steelboy, it's an absolute fact that Watt threatened to down tools if we didn't let him go. He must have a source inside the club that we're not privvy to.

50 minutes ago, AllyMax said:

Not often I say this but got to agree with MJC on this one. I actually thought Watt's departure was more down to differences between him and Alexander but I've maybe got that wrong.  He can clearly play a bit and despite the prima donna attitude worked hard for us under Robinson and Alexander too mostly. The right manager could probably get him playing again. He's a player that can hold up a ball and bring people in, which we currently don't have. Probably better than anything we have right now.

Edit - Not that I think there's a chance in hell of it happening, but it certainly wouldn't upset me.

hes not had more clubs than most player have in 10 careers for nothing. Hes either trouble, lazy or pish or a combination of any two from three.