twistandshout1983 Posted March 3 Report Share Posted March 3 25 minutes ago, grizzlyg said: It has been brilliant and love fact old firm never lose a game fairly, always hard done by. Brings back memories of growing up in Hamilton. "So..if rangers played Celtic who would you support?". No one....I am a well fan. "Aye but if you had to pick a team".....,no one....I am a well fan. "Aye...but who who would you want to win?......NO ONE!!!!! I AM A WELL FAN!!!!!!!!! 😜😜 Followed by which school did u go to ? 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
AllyMax Posted March 3 Report Share Posted March 3 2 hours ago, FirParkCornerExile said: Just for a bit of fun. If we took 9 points from the next 4 games , beating Dundee and Hibs in those 4 games we'd be on 41 points 13/3 Dundee V Aberdeen. Aberdeen win .. Dundee on 33 points Excellent piece of work other than this bit 😁 Aberdeen still waiting for the 'new manager bounce' Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
FirParkCornerExile Posted March 3 Report Share Posted March 3 2 minutes ago, AllyMax said: Excellent piece of work other than this bit 😁 Aberdeen still waiting for the 'new manager bounce' Lol oh Aye Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
David Posted March 3 Report Share Posted March 3 2 hours ago, MJC said: Yes if you want. I'll have a look later. There's a few of them from yesterday reassuring Rangers fans that they'd do their best to peg back Celtic for them and so on. The actual accounts are all pretty similar in the pish they post on the regular. 2 hours ago, MJC said: I would have to disagree though that they have a leaning in one particular direction. Most Hearts fans I know, in fact, ANY Hearts fan that I’ve ever known has only ever had a leaning towards Hearts and no one else. I’ve said this before on these forums, Hearts fans support their club through thick and thin and tend not to care what any one else thinks of them. I know you have a weird hard-on for Hearts, so I'm wary of going down this rabbit hole too much with you, but as another poster mentioned, there are definitely shades of the Celtic/Rangers bigotry aspect when you look at Hearts and Hibs, so it's perfectly natural that an element of Hearts fans would look up to their "big brothers" in Glasgow. And it's not just Hearts. Hibs are just as bad. It's quite pathetic, really. It reminds me a little of how Rangers fans view Chelsea. Anyway, we won. That's the main thing. I couldn't actually care less who won between Hearts and Celtic. Unless we're chasing Hearts for third place, their results have little bearing on me. Neither does who wins the title. I have good mates on both sides of the divide, so whoever wins, I know I'm guaranteed a few free beers when they're out pissed up and celebrating on that weekend. Of course, this result over the weekend will be tainted somewhat if we don't keep this form up into the next few games. We have a real chance of snatching a late top six finish if we play our cards right. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Richie Posted March 3 Report Share Posted March 3 Rodgers knows exactly what he's doing and the fans will lap it up. The thing is, big decisions aside, they get the benefit of the marginal 50/50 fouls all game, week in, week out. As an aside, have the beer fear for the first time ages. Excessive celebration, but some buzz yesterday. Great to finally get that particular monkey off our back. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
grizzlyg Posted March 3 Report Share Posted March 3 7 minutes ago, twistandshout1983 said: Followed by which school did u go to ? Yup.....and the..."well fan from Hamilton?.... shocking"....ye ....as the rangers and Celtic supporter buses drove by....😜 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
grizzlyg Posted March 3 Report Share Posted March 3 12 minutes ago, twistandshout1983 said: One thing I slightly wasn’t happy with yesterday was our own Stephen Craigan , got the feeling he was suggesting we stole an undeserved victory but maybe just me Faddy more than made up for it though Looking forward to Sportscene tonight moving forward I just love Faddy ( don't tell Mrs Grizzly). He defends our team to the limit and you can see how much the well means to him 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
stv Posted March 3 Report Share Posted March 3 4 hours ago, grumpy said: Sherlock + Shit + no, please rearrange into a coherent sentence. Eh, is that a trick question . Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Clackscat Posted March 3 Report Share Posted March 3 47 minutes ago, twistandshout1983 said: One thing I slightly wasn’t happy with yesterday was our own Stephen Craigan , got the feeling he was suggesting we stole an undeserved victory but maybe just me Faddy more than made up for it though Looking forward to Sportscene tonight moving forward I thought he was obviously delighted, and well as we played, we did ride our luck at times which was fair enough to point out. I have thought recently he had gone a bit neutral in his comments in recent times (which is fair enough), but I felt you could hear how happy he was, in fact I commented on it at home. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MJC Posted March 3 Report Share Posted March 3 54 minutes ago, David said: I'll have a look later. There's a few of them from yesterday reassuring Rangers fans that they'd do their best to peg back Celtic for them and so on. The actual accounts are all pretty similar in the pish they post on the regular. I know you have a weird hard-on for Hearts, so I'm wary of going down this rabbit hole too much with you, but as another poster mentioned, there are definitely shades of the Celtic/Rangers bigotry aspect when you look at Hearts and Hibs, so it's perfectly natural that an element of Hearts fans would look up to their "big brothers" in Glasgow. And it's not just Hearts. Hibs are just as bad. It's quite pathetic, really. It reminds me a little of how Rangers fans view Chelsea. Anyway, we won. That's the main thing. I couldn't actually care less who won between Hearts and Celtic. Unless we're chasing Hearts for third place, their results have little bearing on me. Neither does who wins the title. I have good mates on both sides of the divide, so whoever wins, I know I'm guaranteed a few free beers when they're out pissed up and celebrating on that weekend. Of course, this result over the weekend will be tainted somewhat if we don't keep this form up into the next few games. We have a real chance of snatching a late top six finish if we play our cards right. I’ll look forward to seeing those posts then. I don’t think it’ll be representative of the whole Hearts support but it’ll be interesting to see posts like that nonetheless. I don’t have any kind of ‘hard-on’ for Hearts or any other club other than Motherwell. As I’ve said before, I respect Hearts as a club and admire their support and their fans loyalty to their club. There’s not many, if any, clubs in Scotland have as passionate and loyal support as Hearts do. We won, that is the main thing and you’re right about that. And each to their own. For me though, while winning at Ibrox at last was special and nothing else that happened this weekend could top that, Celtic and Rodgers losing to Hearts and thereby squandering their chance to go back to the top of the league is an extra and we’ll appreciated bonus. 👍 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
wellgirl Posted March 3 Report Share Posted March 3 4 minutes ago, MJC said: I’ll look forward to seeing those posts then. I don’t think it’ll be representative of the whole Hearts support but it’ll be interesting to see posts like that nonetheless. I don’t have any kind of ‘hard-on’ for Hearts or any other club other than Motherwell. As I’ve said before, I respect Hearts as a club and admire their support and their fans loyalty to their club. There’s not many, if any, clubs in Scotland have as passionate and loyal support as Hearts do. We won, that is the main thing and you’re right about that. And each to their own. For me though, while winning at Ibrox at last was special and nothing else that happened this weekend could top that, Celtic and Rodgers losing to Hearts and thereby squandering their chance to go back to the top of the league is an extra and we’ll appreciated bonus. 👍 I think for me the performance was just on another level. Like when you see the video clips you can see just how badly the players wanted that result. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
wellfan Posted March 3 Report Share Posted March 3 1 hour ago, Richie said: As an aside, have the beer fear for the first time ages. Excessive celebration, but some buzz yesterday. 😴🤢🤕🤮 I imagine many of us are hanging out our arses today. I know I am. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yabba's Turd Posted March 3 Report Share Posted March 3 52 minutes ago, MJC said: I don’t have any kind of ‘hard-on’ for Hearts or any other club other than Motherwell. As I’ve said before, I respect Hearts as a club and admire their support and their fans loyalty to their club. There’s not many, if any, clubs in Scotland have as passionate and loyal support as Hearts do. Nobody cares. But you do seem to get off lauding them at any opportunity. (You also know their victory song) 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
dennyc Posted March 3 Report Share Posted March 3 1 hour ago, MJC said: There’s not many, if any, clubs in Scotland have as passionate and loyal support as Hearts do. Sorry that is just not true. EVERY football club in Scotland has passionate and loyal supporters. Hearts being from a large City and being fairly successful just have more of them than say Partick, Kilmarnock, Motherwell etc etc etc. In the same way that the Old Firm have more fans than Hearts. Even that pair have passionate and loyal fans amongst their numbers. And that will be the same Hearts fans that were booing the team and Naismith all match long not that long ago. And in no small numbers. 3 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
santheman Posted March 3 Report Share Posted March 3 And their fans are forever complementing the Bois for their noisy support and wishing their fans were as enthusiastic as ours. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
AllyMax Posted March 3 Report Share Posted March 3 1 hour ago, Yabba's Turd said: Nobody cares. But you do seem to get off lauding them at any opportunity. (You also know their victory song) Loves Hearts, wants Rangers to win the league, talks down Motherwell at every opportunity. Burn the witch !! 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
yosemite sam Posted March 4 Report Share Posted March 4 I reckon MJC (his new name) is just a troll who tries to wind up everyone on here. Best thing to do is just ignore his posts, and don't respond to them. I certainly do. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Big Tosh Posted March 4 Report Share Posted March 4 Growing up as a 'Well fan in Cumbernauld was the same. My Faither told me when they ask what school you go to, just say when I was wee, I went to the wee school, then when I was big, I went to the big school 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
bobbybingo Posted March 4 Report Share Posted March 4 When it comes to the online representatives of the uglies, the question often is, which school did you not go to? 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kmcalpin Posted March 4 Report Share Posted March 4 An ex work colleague of mine from Fife caused some angst and confusion when he applied for a job with a Local Authority in the west of Scotland. Before deciding which colour of application form to send him they asked him the obligatory question of which school he attended. His reply was St Andrews High School (which is in Kirkcaldy). Hilarious! Not really football related, although he did play for East Fife, but funny nonetheless. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
wellfan Posted March 4 Report Share Posted March 4 (edited) This short highlight video demonstrates how much he's improved his technical game and learned to use his strength against tough defenders. He'll be getting called up again by Canada if he continues on this path. As a critic of him getting a 2-year deal, which I would say was justified criticism back then, I'm delighted to be proven wrong. With the odd blip here and there, he is continually improving, and it looks set to continue. We should extend and enhance his deal now to maximise any potential fee we may get for him and as a reward for all his hard work because I imagine he's probably one of the lowest earners at the club. 🐻 Edited March 4 by wellfan Changed to called up 'again' by Canada. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
grizzlyg Posted March 4 Report Share Posted March 4 16 minutes ago, wellfan said: This short highlight video demonstrates how much he's improved his technical game and learned to use his strength against tough defenders. He'll be getting called up by Canada if he continues on this path. As a critic of him getting a 2-year deal, which I would say was justified criticism back then, I'm delighted to be proven wrong. With the odd blip here and there, he is continually improving, and it looks set to continue. We should extend and enhance his deal now to maximise any potential fee we may get for him and as a reward for all his hard work because I imagine he's probably one of the lowest earners at the club. 🐻 Weren't many folk that were happy with the signing and the 2yr deal (myself included) but by jeez the Bair has proved us all wrong and he is such a popular figure with the fans . Workrate was never in question, was the end product. Fair play to SK for obviously noticing potential. Yup it's strange as now probably best to extend contract as I would expect English championship clubs maybe to be interested. £2,000,000 offer could really force our hand Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted March 4 Report Share Posted March 4 Fans are becoming more and more impatient when comes to giving time for players to develop (and coaches to develop them). Watching players develop over the course of a season is one of my favourite parts of supporting a team like ours. I shouldn't be surprised when fans complain about a new recruit after 2 or 3 games, but sometimes it feels like they have no idea about the game - even though we have countless examples of players that turned out to be good (or great) after months of good coaching and first team exposure. There's always lots of chat about how we need to give youngsters a chance, yet guys like Bair and Slattery who were 22 and 23 when they joined us are expected to be at their peak, despite accepting Motherwell level wages. Of course, there are times when it doesn't work out. Even players with bags of skill and potential can fail; especially when they aren't prepared to learn (looking at you Dom Thomas), but there's needs to be a bit more realism when it comes to recruitment. It's different when we are signing a 27 year old, but when we are signing players with only a season (or less) behind them it's never going to be about instant success. And having written all that, I know nothing will change and 2 or 3 of our summer recruits will be written off as useless by September. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
FirParkCornerExile Posted March 4 Report Share Posted March 4 22 minutes ago, grizzlyg said: Weren't many folk that were happy with the signing and the 2yr deal (myself included) but by jeez the Bair has proved us all wrong and he is such a popular figure with the fans . Workrate was never in question, was the end product. Fair play to SK for obviously noticing potential. Yup it's strange as now probably best to extend contract as I would expect English championship clubs maybe to be interested. £2,000,000 offer could really force our hand Fans basically know fuck all about football. Supporting a team is 95% emotion 5% rational constructive thought. Wherever there is emotion there is irrational thought . It was the same when Vale signed, fans couldn't wait to put his Wiki stats up and moan like fuck that he was useless. 1 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
joewarkfanclub Posted March 4 Report Share Posted March 4 33 minutes ago, grizzlyg said: Weren't many folk that were happy with the signing and the 2yr deal (myself included) but by jeez the Bair has proved us all wrong and he is such a popular figure with the fans . Workrate was never in question, was the end product. Fair play to SK for obviously noticing potential. Yup it's strange as now probably best to extend contract as I would expect English championship clubs maybe to be interested. £2,000,000 offer could really force our hand Some of that close contact stuff is pretty impressive. I love the bit where Lundstram tries to tackle him and just bounces off! Brilliant. No doubt Theo has worked hard with the manager to develop himself over the course of the season and its paying dividends for all concerned. I still think he has room to develop further and if he does what a player we will have on our hands. I think the concerns at the start of the season were probably justified. For me it was more the length of contract given rather than whether he would be any good or not. 2 years seemed like a bit of a risk on someone who hadnt really shown anything at this level. Glad to be proved wrong though and I would have no issues extending him on improved terms to protect our asset. Hopefully a push for top 6 and the guaranteed revenue that comes with it can come our way and allow us to start planning early for next season. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...