another number Posted March 18, 2009 Report Share Posted March 18, 2009 Slightly different to your favourite every player. Who was your first favourite player? Before you knew about tactics and what not who did you just decide spur of the moment, as you do when your younger, was going to be your favourite player? Doesn't need to be a reason (my wee brothers was Danny Murphy ) I remember quite liking Lee McCulloch when I first started getting into going to games a lot, but the first player I remember calling my favourite was Ged Brannan. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nijholt91 Posted March 18, 2009 Report Share Posted March 18, 2009 Luc! Luc! Luc! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mon_da_well Posted March 18, 2009 Report Share Posted March 18, 2009 I don't know for sure. I think Dougie. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Frazzie Posted March 18, 2009 Report Share Posted March 18, 2009 The first player I remember liking was Johnny Gahagan when I was a nipper, but as I grew up it was always Dougie Arnott. I reckon any youngster starting out just now will love Klimpl though. Frazzle Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TvTotherwell Posted March 18, 2009 Report Share Posted March 18, 2009 Tommy Boyd for me. seen him back heel the ball at the byline of malps's legs and out for a goal kick. I was so impressed. loved him from that moment. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mon_da_well Posted March 18, 2009 Report Share Posted March 18, 2009 Aye, was either Dougie Arnott or Tommy Coyne. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
scott_mfc Posted March 18, 2009 Report Share Posted March 18, 2009 Tommy Coyne! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cakes Posted March 18, 2009 Report Share Posted March 18, 2009 Before you knew about tactics and what not... I still don't. It'd be Johnny Gahagan for me, though I liked Ally Mauchlen too. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Steve Diggle Posted March 18, 2009 Report Share Posted March 18, 2009 Joe Wark Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Iain7_mfc Posted March 18, 2009 Report Share Posted March 18, 2009 Aye either Dougie or Tommy Coyne M'Lord! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ScottW1886 Posted March 18, 2009 Report Share Posted March 18, 2009 My first 3 were Johnny Gahagan, Stevie Kirk and Dougie Arnott and had the pleasure of meeting all 3 of them last week.... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
macdmfc Posted March 18, 2009 Report Share Posted March 18, 2009 Dougie Arnott when I was a kid and only allowed to go occassionally to the games. although I did go through a phase of Stephen Mcmillan when I started to go the games every week. Dougie is still my all time favourite Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
myteam Posted March 18, 2009 Report Share Posted March 18, 2009 as we have not been supporting the well as long as most of you on here, although i wish i knew some of the players mentioned, in my time it has to be faddy Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Del_Superwell Posted March 18, 2009 Report Share Posted March 18, 2009 my first favourite player and probably still is James McFadden. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
numpty Posted March 18, 2009 Report Share Posted March 18, 2009 Probably Joe Wark, John Gahagan or Brian McLaughlin for me. Although I went to games in the 70's and saw the likes of Wullie Pettigrew and Bobby Graham up front, I was too young to appreciate them, really. Should probably also mention Iain MacLeod as me and my dad quite often got to use his comps Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Welldel Posted March 18, 2009 Report Share Posted March 18, 2009 The original "Psycho " Graeme Forbes Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Well Up For It! Posted March 18, 2009 Report Share Posted March 18, 2009 Probably Kirky or Maxwell cause the Final is one of the first games I can remeber and they two stood out. Although, the only poster of a Motherwell player I've ever had up on my wall was Mitchell Van Der Gaag! Right next to Oh-Ah Cantona! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Malky79 Posted March 18, 2009 Report Share Posted March 18, 2009 Probably Bobby Russell, especially after that goal at Parkhead. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted March 18, 2009 Report Share Posted March 18, 2009 Wullie P, closely followed by Bobby Graham. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joeboy Posted March 18, 2009 Report Share Posted March 18, 2009 Was always Tommy Coyne for me. Got a "Tommy Coyne 9" tammy at my first Motherwell game and there was no looking back from there, and a hero worship began! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Deaddogman Posted March 18, 2009 Report Share Posted March 18, 2009 Charlie Aitken followed closely by Ian St.John Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Haggischomper Posted March 18, 2009 Report Share Posted March 18, 2009 Luc Nijholt from when I started going regularly. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
stuwell Posted March 18, 2009 Report Share Posted March 18, 2009 Willie Pettigrew and Peter Marinello - at the time I just didn't understand how important Bobby Grahame was. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
WishyWell Posted March 18, 2009 Report Share Posted March 18, 2009 Joint award: Willie P and Joe Wark. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BobWilson (Anchorman) Posted March 18, 2009 Report Share Posted March 18, 2009 Boaby Graham for me... Still love boaby. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...