David Posted May 21 Report Share Posted May 21 The club have so far announced two pre-season games, which are as follows: Motherwell vs FC Twente (Friday, June 28th 7pm) Motherwell vs D.S.V.D Deurningen (Sunday, June 30th 2pm) I'll add further games to this post as and when they're made official. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toxteth O'Grady Posted May 21 Report Share Posted May 21 Can we not get some friendly matches that are decent away trips, but also a bit closer to home? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kat Posted May 21 Report Share Posted May 21 It would be nice if we could have a glamour tie of some sort set up at Fir Park, it seems like it's been a while as we have been doing pitch works each season for a while. We only announced the two Dutch friendlies last year and I think we may have played Falkirk at Dalziel Park upon our return before heading into the League Cup group stage. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Onthefringes Posted May 21 Report Share Posted May 21 53 minutes ago, David said: The club have so far announced two pre-season games, which are as follows: Motherwell vs FC Twente (Friday, June 28th 7pm) Motherwell vs D.S.V.D Deurningen (Sunday, June 30th 2pm) I'll add further games to this post as and when they're made official. Don’t expect it’ll be a Twente first team otherwise they’d have secured the elusive Nijmegen friendly. Word from across there is that match may behind closed doors even at the local sports facility for similar reasons the first friendly last year was moved venue. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Onthefringes Posted May 21 Report Share Posted May 21 54 minutes ago, Toxteth O'Grady said: Can we not get some friendly matches that are decent away trips, but also a bit closer to home? Doncaster away, Saturday before season starts was mooted on Sunday 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
David Posted May 21 Author Report Share Posted May 21 3 hours ago, Onthefringes said: Don’t expect it’ll be a Twente first team otherwise they’d have secured the elusive Nijmegen friendly. Word from across there is that match may behind closed doors even at the local sports facility for similar reasons the first friendly last year was moved venue. Ah, okay. Interesting to know. I guess it makes sense to have it behind closed doors if that is the case. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
wellgirl Posted May 21 Report Share Posted May 21 3 hours ago, Kat said: It would be nice if we could have a glamour tie of some sort set up at Fir Park, it seems like it's been a while as we have been doing pitch works each season for a while. We only announced the two Dutch friendlies last year and I think we may have played Falkirk at Dalziel Park upon our return before heading into the League Cup group stage. Aye. It would be great. I'd take any team to be fair. 🤣 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted May 21 Report Share Posted May 21 I hate friendlies. There, I said it. I appreciate they are a very necessary component of our pre-season, but forking out cash to watch a half-fit team go through some training moves is rarely entertaining. Especially these days when the entire group stage of the League Cup is also our pre-season. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SteelmaninOZ Posted May 21 Report Share Posted May 21 3 hours ago, weeyin said: I hate friendlies. There, I said it. I appreciate they are a very necessary component of our pre-season, but forking out cash to watch a half-fit team go through some training moves is rarely entertaining. Especially these days when the entire group stage of the League Cup is also our pre-season. Yes Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
wellgirl Posted May 22 Report Share Posted May 22 Friendlies used to be great back in the day to be fair. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TheoBair14 Posted May 28 Report Share Posted May 28 https://x.com/livifcofficial/status/1795515598274744534?s=46&t=Yi0H3LakxlXxc5QEsuI9Ug According to Livingston we host them at Fir Park in a freindly on 6th July in a Freindly Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted May 28 Report Share Posted May 28 52 minutes ago, TheoBair14 said: https://x.com/livifcofficial/status/1795515598274744534?s=46&t=Yi0H3LakxlXxc5QEsuI9Ug According to Livingston we host them at Fir Park in a freindly on 6th July in a Freindly Exactly the kind of glamour tie the fans were hoping for. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
twistandshout1983 Posted May 28 Report Share Posted May 28 Doubt too many will pay to see us play Livingston Wasnt expecting any glamour tie to be fair , though had hoped for maybe an English championship or League 1 club Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
wellfan Posted May 28 Report Share Posted May 28 2 hours ago, TheoBair14 said: https://x.com/livifcofficial/status/1795515598274744534?s=46&t=Yi0H3LakxlXxc5QEsuI9Ug According to Livingston we host them at Fir Park in a freindly on 6th July in a Freindly Sizing each other up for the play-off. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
wellgirl Posted May 28 Report Share Posted May 28 2 hours ago, TheoBair14 said: https://x.com/livifcofficial/status/1795515598274744534?s=46&t=Yi0H3LakxlXxc5QEsuI9Ug According to Livingston we host them at Fir Park in a freindly on 6th July in a Freindly Im quite happy with that. Be good to get back to Fir Park for a friendly Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted May 28 Report Share Posted May 28 20 minutes ago, wellfan said: Sizing each other up for the play-off. I doubt we'll be involved in the League One play-off. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
David Posted May 28 Author Report Share Posted May 28 24 minutes ago, wellfan said: Sizing each other up for the play-off. May 28th. Someone is getting a head start on the competition in the doomsday/naysayers championships. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spiderpig Posted May 28 Report Share Posted May 28 1 minute ago, David said: May 28th. Someone is getting a head start on the competition in the doomsday/naysayers championships. To be fair it must be torture for them just now, season finished, transfer window not open no rumours about incoming players they can label as pish, so every chance for a whinge is taken. 3 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
twistandshout1983 Posted May 28 Report Share Posted May 28 On the subject of a pre-season game with Livingston anyone remember that Motorola Cup in 2000/2001 ? Sure we won 6-1 and Andy Goram lifted a trophy 🏆, memory may be playing tricks Both teams had the Motorola sponsors of course Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
joewarkfanclub Posted May 29 Report Share Posted May 29 All pre season friendlies should be played behind closed doors. It would save us from ourselves. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
pretzel Posted May 29 Report Share Posted May 29 Livingston at home is confirmed for 6th July. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yabba's Turd Posted May 30 Report Share Posted May 30 On 5/28/2024 at 9:52 PM, twistandshout1983 said: On the subject of a pre-season game with Livingston anyone remember that Motorola Cup in 2000/2001 ? Sure we won 6-1 and Andy Goram lifted a trophy 🏆, memory may be playing tricks Both teams had the Motorola sponsors of course Aye and they opened the south stand to home fans for it so we could experience it before sellic wrecked it Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
wellgirl Posted June 13 Report Share Posted June 13 Just bought my Livi ticket. Two quid concession. Just hope that I'll manage to get there (all hail the moonboot I'll hopefully have by then) 😉 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kmcalpin Posted June 17 Report Share Posted June 17 Our choice of strikers for the opening fixture(s) could be somewhat limited, as things stand, if the Bair is afforded a wee well deserved break after international duty. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
StAndrew7 Posted June 17 Report Share Posted June 17 On 5/28/2024 at 9:49 PM, Spiderpig said: To be fair it must be torture for them just now, season finished, transfer window not open no rumours about incoming players they can label as pish, so every chance for a whinge is taken. We were all so young, so innocent back in May, so naive. 😅 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...