The CEO’s monthly chat

1 hour ago, SteelmaninOZ said:

I’m completely unconvinced on Brian.

Turning 14 year olds away from Fir Park is detrimental to the long term future of our club. SPFL guidance is set at 12, why does BP and BC deem it appropriate without consultation to set ours to 14? Third Year High School students can’t attend football with their mates? Crap.

Away fans being sat in the top tier is crap and it’ll rightfully deter them from attending Fir Park. I suppose the bottom tier will be in use when the Old Firm are in town… Completely out of touch.

I hope I’m wrong but I fear he may only be paying lip service to his support of Fan Ownership. I suppose time will tell.

55 minutes ago, Mootherwell86 said:

I’m completely unconvinced on Brian.

Turning 14 year olds away from Fir Park is detrimental to the long term future of our club. SPFL guidance is set at 12, why does BP and BC deem it appropriate without consultation to set ours to 14? Third Year High School students can’t attend football with their mates? Crap.

It looks like he knows he has made an arse of this but doesn't want to back down after having his recommendation to accept 'Erik's' bid kicked into the bin by the support.

The signs at the moment aren't great.

What he's saying about the police operating a defacto blacklist is something that needs to be looked into. Why aren't they using banning orders?

Havering complete pish about it being down to the SFA when it clearly wasn't in place last season.

"The last thing we want to do is knock people back" says the guy who knocks people...

"People of my generation went at that age no problem". Naw kids born in 2010 were going no problem in May this year.

Fully welcome the improved Comms but I don't find myself enamoured by him like others do. He was one of the ones the voted for the Barmack scam yet he's managed to escape from it unscathed and with the majority seeming to praise him. The previous 2 posters have summed my thoughts up quite well.

I am so angry at this 14 year olds need to be accompanied biggest load of crap i have ever heard. as a yong lad my dad would take me to motherwell games when i was under 12 up in Scotland on holiday i would attend southend united games with him every week and sometimes away games when we went on the train.  he passed away when i was 12 and I  carried on the going to see southend at home and more games away when i would go on the train. I f i had not been allowed to go to football because i was not accompanied with an adult it would have devastated me.  

2 minutes ago, ropy said:

To clarify, 14 year olds are allowed in on their own, it is 13 year olds who are not.  Is that correct?

My understanding is that it's 14 years and above.

Now it's public knowledge and we know the legal reasons behind it, can the ones who are maybe borderline(ie look young for their age) not just bring some form of ID with them then we don't have the situation where they're denied entry by the stewards or is that too simple.

3 minutes ago, santheman said:

Now it's public knowledge and we know the legal reasons behind it, can the ones who are maybe borderline(ie look young for their age) not just bring some form of ID with them then we don't have the situation where they're denied entry by the stewards or is that too simple.

I personally witnessed various groups of youngsters being denied entry on Sunday by overzealous jobsworths in hi-vis. Again, the SPFL guidance is 12 years old, why are we making it harder for young people to attend Fir Park? 

20 minutes ago, ropy said:

To clarify, 14 year olds are allowed in on their own, it is 13 year olds who are not.  Is that correct?

Yes that is correct. It's 13 and unders that need to be accompanied and that's on the website for our next home game. 

5 minutes ago, Mootherwell86 said:

I personally witnessed various groups of youngsters being denied entry on Sunday by overzealous jobsworths in hi-vis. Again, the SPFL guidance is 12 years old, why are we making it harder for young people to attend Fir Park? 

Rangers are 13 and under. It's not just Motherwell. 

• Confused 1

16 minutes ago, santheman said:

No. It's under 14s that can't go to a game on their own. 

2 minutes ago, Mootherwell86 said:

I’m not interested in Rangers. 

Good for you.👏👏

The point I was trying to make is that we aren't the only spl club with this age limit. 

BTW. I agree with you on the over zealous stewarding 

10 minutes ago, Mootherwell86 said:

Truthfully I don't know but I assume it's up to each individual club to set what they think is an appropriate age to meet the safeguarding guidelines.

Don't know about other Scottish clubs but Man Utd don't let any under 14s in but Fulham is under 16 for example that's why I'm assuming it's up to individual clubs but I could be wrong.

I used to get dropped off at home games when I was 9 but that was in the 60s but the world's a different place now.

Authorities overreacting? Possibly but that's a social and political argument.

Personally I think 12 is about the right age.

1 minute ago, santheman said:

Truthfully I don't know but I assume it's up to each individual club to set what they think is an appropriate age to meet the safeguarding guidelines.

Don't know about other Scottish clubs but Man Utd don't let any under 14s in but Fulham is under 16 for example that's why I'm assuming it's up to individual clubs but I could be wrong.

I used to get dropped off at home games when I was 9 but that was in the 60s but the world's a different place now.

Authorities overreacting? Possibly but that's a social and political argument.

Personally I think 12 is about the right age.

Man U and Liverpool have the same rules as we have so you're probably right. It's up to the individual club 

20 minutes ago, Mootherwell86 said:

Straight from Rangers  website…

See Rule F

IMG_2263.thumb.png.4558c49daea561f5f731f5194ea0f2b4.png

When I googled earlier today it said under 13s - for some reason I have trouble posting attachments on here - always says the size is too big 

I can understand the logic behind this age restriction. Despite how it's dressed up, its all about protecting the organisation legally in our increasingly litigatious world. That being the case, just say so. 

It's quite ludicrous though that there's no consistent standard being applied throughout Scotland. Why not? 

9 minutes ago, Kmcalpin said:

I can understand the logic behind this age restriction. Despite how it's dressed up, its all about protecting the organisation legally in our increasingly litigatious world. That being the case, just say so. 

It's quite ludicrous though that there's no consistent standard being applied throughout Scotland. Why not? 

Totally understand your point regarding legally protecting the club.

However, the standard is set by SPFL guidance which is Under 12s. The club of its own volition has decided to make it Under 14s. That is the part that I cannot understand.

There seems to be a lot of folk getting their knickers in a twist about what ultimately is the Safeguarding of Children in a football stadium.

I get the fact that when we were younger we all had the opportunity to attend the football unaccompanied at a younger age, but times have moved on.

As KMcAlpin quite rightly says, we live in a far more litigious society than ever these days. 

Clubs and organisations are held accountable to far higher standards than ever before, so rightly or wrongly, there has to be some sort of legislation or guidelines to cover these things.

I do think that there should be a benchmark that all Scottish clubs should adhere to so that it is the same for everyone but as there isnt, the club has to pick a number and there will never be unanimous agreement on these kind of things.

Motherwell have picked 14.

Rangers have picked 13.

Some clubs in England (I checked Sheffield United and West Ham) are 16 for goodbess sake!

There are loads of things folk could quite rightly have a go at the club for. Im just not sure this is one of them.