wellup83 Posted Sunday at 06:22 PM Report Share Posted Sunday at 06:22 PM Disappointed. Not bitterly, but disappointed. We can't chase the ball for 90 minutes and expect not to run out of steam. We showed a team, low on confidence, on a poor run, with a volatile fan base far too much respect. We scored a good goal with good play then resorted to hoofball and long throws of which we won not one aerial dual. The introduction of Robinson and Tavares was baffling to say the least. Their defenders were never stretched and nothing changed with their appearances. The only time we looked remotely like troubling them second half was when we got the ball down and passed. Three or four passes would see us on the edge of their box only for us to make a mess of a cross and surrender possession cheaply. It would have been nice to have reached a final but let's face it, we'd have been destroyed by the green side. Never mind, we're after the Scottish anyway. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
FirParkCornerExile Posted Sunday at 06:22 PM Report Share Posted Sunday at 06:22 PM 2 minutes ago, Ya Bezzer! said: Poor performance. Never really got into the game at all. Looking for a decent start but we hardly had a touch for the first 10-15 minutes. Rangers weren't great but our goal came against the run of play. Midfield was never in the match, not even for a spell did we have any control and I don't think we've won a header in Rangers half all match. Even Lennon Miller was subdued today. You need big game players for matches like that and we don't have them. When Rangers scored 4 minutes into the 2nd half the writing was on the wall. We didn't get it right tactically but lets be honest most of the players froze as players at our level usually do. Just need to put it behind us and try and keep our decent league form going. You also need as manager who doesn't think 11 men behind a ball and boot it long will achieve anything. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mfc Posted Sunday at 06:24 PM Report Share Posted Sunday at 06:24 PM 17 minutes ago, FirParkCornerExile said: The game was screaming out for someone who could give us a breather and give the rest of the team an out (Watt) and I do'nt give a fuck if some don't like him he has hold up play in his locker and fouls a plenty and thats where we score most of our goals. That was fuckin abysmal from start to finish and lies squarely with SK. Said he would go out not to lose not to win and he did exactly that..... pathetic utterly pathetic Aye watt should have came on,at the very least he knows how to buy a foul and that would have been enough to break the play up and get us up the park,we would be as well sending him back to utd as soon as we can and same goes for tavares,you can see why he wasn't getting a game for a rotten Hibs team.the more games we play it's becoming clear that up front is an absolute mess,we have umpteen options but yet there isn't a single sign of what were actually trying to with them. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
FirParkCornerExile Posted Sunday at 06:26 PM Report Share Posted Sunday at 06:26 PM Just now, mfc said: Aye watt should have came on,at the very least he knows how to buy a foul and that would have been enough to break the play up and get us up the park,we would be as well sending him back to utd as soon as we can and same goes for tavares,you can see why he wasn't getting a game for a rotten Hibs team.the more games we play it's becoming clear that up front is an absolute mess,we have umpteen options but yet there isn't a single sign of what were actually trying to with them. For me the bigger mess is the midfield. The guys up front get nothing. 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benson Posted Sunday at 06:28 PM Report Share Posted Sunday at 06:28 PM 48 minutes ago, steelboy said: That's our tactics now. The long throws and crossing free kicks from the halfway line are Kettlewell and Frank's game plan. Total chancers. 💯💯💯💯 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mfc Posted Sunday at 06:30 PM Report Share Posted Sunday at 06:30 PM 50 minutes ago, steelboy said: That's our tactics now. The long throws and crossing free kicks from the halfway line are Kettlewell and Frank's game plan. Total chancers. The opposition have sussed the long throw already. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spiderpig Posted Sunday at 06:35 PM Report Share Posted Sunday at 06:35 PM Just back in, big chance for a final missed today, we made them look good. 1-0 in front after a great Halliday goal at half time and we came out and offered feck all 2nd half, no goal threat at all, instead of getting at them and pressing high we sat back and let them dictate the game, when they scored their 1st goal it was only going to end one way. That said it saves the pain of another pumping by Celtic in the final. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
2/6 tae get in Posted Sunday at 06:38 PM Report Share Posted Sunday at 06:38 PM 1 hour ago, steelboy said: Shocking from the manager to move him to RWB when he's been playing out his skin at rcb. He made worse decisions than that. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
steelboy Posted Sunday at 06:42 PM Report Share Posted Sunday at 06:42 PM None of the usual websites have player stats up but i'm fairly certain that Robinson and Tavares both played 33 minutes and didn't complete a single successful pass. Tavares didn't even attempt one. How long are we going to put up with this clown in charge of us? Miller, Wilson and Ox got him out of jail this season so far but his signings and tactics are dire. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
David Posted Sunday at 06:51 PM Report Share Posted Sunday at 06:51 PM 8 minutes ago, steelboy said: How long are we going to put up with this clown in charge of us? Well, seeing as we're sitting 5th in the table and just got to a cup semi-final, I'd imagine that the manager is going nowhere for the time being. 3 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yodo Posted Sunday at 06:52 PM Report Share Posted Sunday at 06:52 PM Blame lies totally at the managers door his tactics were terrible and his substitutions beyond belief . We needed a goal and he sends on two of the worst players we have . Once again the support was brilliant deserve a better manager than Kettlewell Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SteelmaninOZ Posted Sunday at 06:56 PM Report Share Posted Sunday at 06:56 PM Speaking of the gaffer here he is Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
stv Posted Sunday at 07:11 PM Report Share Posted Sunday at 07:11 PM Watt was an obvious sub to hold the ball up a bit and get fouls further up the park . The two he put on were worse than pathetic. Cup semis must be won with a bit of forward play , looked like he was out for a draw today. Rangers were there for the taking . Disappointed but not surprised. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
wellsince75 Posted Sunday at 07:17 PM Report Share Posted Sunday at 07:17 PM Frustrating as the chance was there. Especially riding our luck and being 1-0 up . im a huge advocate of watt from his first time at the club and can see why people calling for him to come on . he looks out of shape and hasn’t had much game time , not convinced he’d have been the answer - albeit not any worse than who we did bring on . frustratingly even a poor rangers team on a poor run have players who are simply much better than the ones we have . Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chanzeypopz Posted Sunday at 07:23 PM Report Share Posted Sunday at 07:23 PM 1 hour ago, MJC said: Our support were magnificent today. That’s the only positive to take from that. We also didnt get beat 6-0 and get to play celtic one less time this season, So theres that too 💁♀️ 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
sailor_h Posted Sunday at 07:26 PM Report Share Posted Sunday at 07:26 PM When I see someone playing football, trying to use their speed I think I’ll get someone on who thinks there is a football & if I just run the manager will appreciate me. Fu*k off Robinson. And I don’t want any of you to tell me about the goal he has scored because it’s just the 1 thing he has ever done. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SteelmaninOZ Posted Sunday at 07:28 PM Report Share Posted Sunday at 07:28 PM Ach cheer up 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
texanwellfan Posted Sunday at 07:29 PM Report Share Posted Sunday at 07:29 PM I don’t necessarily think we played bad, we just didn’t play good. I agree with others in that I would not have subbed Tavares and Robinson on. Either leave original two on or bring on Watt and Moses. Having said that, I am not calling for SK’s head. For all his faults I think he is a good manager for us. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
steelboy Posted Sunday at 07:32 PM Report Share Posted Sunday at 07:32 PM Just now, texanwellfan said: I don’t necessarily think we played bad, we just didn’t play good. I agree with others in that I would not have subbed Tavares and Robinson on. Either leave original two on or bring on Watt and Moses. Having said that, I am not calling for SK’s head. For all his faults I think he is a good manager for us. We were dire. Stama, Robinson and Tavares would struggle to get a game for most teams in the Championship. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
santheman Posted Sunday at 07:32 PM Report Share Posted Sunday at 07:32 PM The old failings. No-one physical enough up front to hold the ball up and let our midfield (what midfield you might ask) up in support. You can't give a team like Rangers that amount of possession and territorial advantage and expect anything. Was disappointed we didnt at least have a wee spell of pressing them back. On the bright side I don't have to visit that sh**hole of a ground again for a while. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Richie Posted Sunday at 07:32 PM Report Share Posted Sunday at 07:32 PM Yeah, Watt would have made sense today. He's also a bit of a shithouse and absolutely wouldn't have been fazed by the occasion. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
FirParkCornerExile Posted Sunday at 07:53 PM Report Share Posted Sunday at 07:53 PM 8 minutes ago, santheman said: The old failings. No-one physical enough up front to hold the ball up and let our midfield (what midfield you might ask) up in support. You can't give a team like Rangers that amount of possession and territorial advantage and expect anything. Was disappointed we didnt at least have a wee spell of pressing them back. On the bright side I don't have to visit that sh**hole of a ground again for a while. When you set out not to win that's exactly what happens. Watt must be fuckin raging at that today. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
joewarkfanclub Posted Sunday at 08:03 PM Report Share Posted Sunday at 08:03 PM 7 minutes ago, FirParkCornerExile said: When you set out not to win that's exactly what happens. Watt must be fuckin raging at that today. Not saying I wouldnt have brought Watt and Moses on instead of Robinson and Tavares, but Watt would have no right to be raging. If he put the work in to lose weight and get fitter he would be a shoe in for a start far less as a second half sub. He is a shadow of the player we had before and if he isnt willing or able to get himself in shape, I would have no interest in offering him a contract at the end of his loan. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
FirParkCornerExile Posted Sunday at 08:07 PM Report Share Posted Sunday at 08:07 PM 3 minutes ago, joewarkfanclub said: Not saying I wouldnt have brought Watt and Moses on instead of Robinson and Tavares, but Watt would have no right to be raging. If he put the work in to lose weight and get fitter he would be a shoe in for a start far less as a second half sub. He is a shadow of the player we had before and if he isnt willing or able to get himself in shape, I would have no interest in offering him a contract at the end of his loan. he still have been better than the utter dross that came on. 2 stone over weight and blind he'd have been better. 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
steelboy Posted Sunday at 08:19 PM Report Share Posted Sunday at 08:19 PM 9 minutes ago, FirParkCornerExile said: he still have been better than the utter dross that came on. 2 stone over weight and blind he'd have been better. It's not possible to play worse than Tavares did today. When we played Panathinaikos away a Greek paper gave Omar Daley 0/10 which I had never seen before. For Tavares today you need to go into negative numbers. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...