Motherwell V Aberdeen 5/01/2025

Kmcalpin

Going to say something I very rarely say about Motherwell.  I thought we saw out a 2-0 lead in quite a professional manner.

OK, it's not the same spectacle as the Dundee United match but I'm fine with that!

Thought both teams started pretty jaded looking.  Lot of games in a short period and it looked it.

We started to get into the game about mid way through the first half and scored shortly after.  The red card incident and the quick fire goal afterwards meant we were pretty comfortable for the rest of the match.

Missed a sitter to make it 3-0 (didn't quite see who it was, Vale maybe?) and just saw the game out with minimum fuss in the 2nd half.

Aberdeen had more possession but I felt fine about it and I also thought we looked more likely to score the next goal.  Only hairy moment was when we gave one of their players a wee bit much too space and he hit the bar.

Not an amazing performance but a couple of well taken goals and a fairly calm second half.

11 minutes ago, Ya Bezzer! said:

Going to say something I very rarely say about Motherwell.  I thought we saw out a 2-0 lead in quite a professional manner.

OK, it's not the same spectacle as the Dundee United match but I'm fine with that!

Thought both teams started pretty jaded looking.  Lot of games in a short period and it looked it.

We started to get into the game about mid way through the first half and scored shortly after.  The red card incident and the quick fire goal afterwards meant we were pretty comfortable for the rest of the match.

Missed a sitter to make it 3-0 (didn't quite see who it was, Vale maybe?) and just saw the game out with minimum fuss in the 2nd half.

Aberdeen had more possession but I felt fine about it and I also thought we looked more likely to score the next goal.  Only hairy moment was when we gave one of their players a wee bit much too space and he hit the bar.

Not an amazing performance but a couple of well taken goals and a fairly calm second half.

I agree but it should have been a lot more comfortable, Nicholson's miss was a shocker, as always we defended too deep, but the shot off the bar apart we seen the game out well.

3 minutes ago, Orinoco said:

Nicholson was offside, tho granted it was a terrible attempt.

Not sure what he brings to the table just now.

He's another one of many that needs a lot more game time.

Not having a reserve league and not being able to play bounce games as much as we'd like is a big challenge to getting the long term injured up to match speed.

It’s good to see Vale, McGinn and Slattery back. With this run of games in such a short space of time we need as many bodies as possible. Kaletta done ok today but I think he might be struggling with bug. Didn’t look 100% today. Watt had his worst game today. Maybe had shoes on the wrong feet but still a good player to have. Hopefully we can get Seddon and Stam back soon. I’m assuming Miller out for a while

4 minutes ago, Orinoco said:

Perhaps. Much like Watt, maybe we won't see the best of him, until he gets a run of games. Tho, where do you play him and it's whos expense. Vale looks better at this stage.

If SK subs earlier they will get more minutes. Players should be going all out for 60 mins then sub to continue that level of intensity so we have it for 90 mins. 

7 minutes ago, texanwellfan said:

It’s good to see Vale, McGinn and Slattery back. With this run of games in such a short space of time we need as many bodies as possible. Kaletta done ok today but I think he might be struggling with bug. Didn’t look 100% today. Watt had his worst game today. Maybe had shoes on the wrong feet but still a good player to have. Hopefully we can get Seddon and Stam back soon. I’m assuming Miller out for a while

Its not what Tony does on the ball  but the work he does off it  he must be a feckin pest to play against + he can get us up the park and now got the “auld heed “

4 minutes ago, smiddy said:

Its not what Tony does on the ball  but the work he does off it  he must be a feckin pest to play against + he can get us up the park and now got the “auld heed “

Im a big fan of Watt - he’s got great football intelligence .

id be happy for him to sit just behind the main strikers as he could link up midfield to attack - something we’ve missed for quite a while 

Not a great performance but a great 3 points.

Having three up the park (and a man extra) helped up manage the game a bit better. Not perfect but much I provedfrom Tynecastle.

i hope Maswanishe stays injury free too as he’s a joy to watch and a clear match winner for us.  Great to see Vale back fit as he looked more than handy and slattery and mcginn too

20 minutes ago, Big Wispy Flossy said:

Sorry as much as I admit Tony watt had an influence on today’s result, he was and has been rotten for about 6 games solid. I would send him back to united tomorrow. He had three good chances to get a shot away today and fluffed every one

At least one of those fluffed ones was because the ball he was given was pish, it was put behind him instead of a ball in front of him. A few things didnt come off for him but he put in a shift and won quite a few balls for us. For me apart from 15 mins before half time thought we were rotten. Had Aberdeen scored with the one that hit the bar we'd have has a nail biting second half. 

Shots on target 3 Aberdeen 2

Accurate Passes 253 Aberdeen 408

Forward Passes 156 Aberdeen 195

Total long Balls 68 Aberdeen 59 

Touches in the box 27 Aberdeen 29

Those stats against 10 men are poor. I'm delighted with the 3 points and cant fault the effort but we are still nowhere near a decent team. I have to say in SK defence he was screaming at the midfield during the game to press higher up but they didn't and in his interview readily acknowledges or use of the ball in possession could be better. Davors days have to be numbered. 

40 minutes ago, Big Wispy Flossy said:

Sorry as much as I admit Tony watt had an influence on today’s result, he was and has been rotten for about 6 games solid. I would send him back to united tomorrow. He had three good chances to get a shot away today and fluffed every one

I’d sign him back if we get the chance

Just back from the game. It's a bit of a trek for me these days, with the drive to Wemyss Bay and the ferry, but glad I went to that one. Just read through the comments and I think Ya Beezer summed up what I thought.

TJ and Davor looked like they wanted to get sent off early doors. I think Kaleta is a liability TBH, never defends his area and seems to wander back when we have a break against us. Tony Watt saw a fair bit of the ball today and I thought he was doing a lot of the things that he used to do for us, control the ball and quick flicked passes but at the moment they're just not coming off for him. Thought the defence looked pretty solid mostly and (on my son's insistance) I kept a close eye on Halliday. He honestly does a lot of stuff that he's not going to win gold medals for but his positional awareness and ability to break up stuff coming towards us and jump in when someone makes a mistake can't be underestimated. A lot of his forward passing maybe isn't finding the mark but he does a lot of important stuff, a lot of it unseen.

Vale I thought made a big difference when he came on and Nicholson should have got an easy 3rd (if he was onside). Good to see Slattery and McGinn back on the pitch.

I actually thought we were pretty comfortable after the 2nd goal. Aberdeen had a lot of ball, but there was never what you would call a backs to the wall defending performance. I actually thought we were worth another goal or two.

On a side note, in the second half a couple of times when we had men still up the park when the ball went to Ox.....Ketts was screaming at him to play the ball out quickly and he stopped and wasted time instead. The gaffer was losing his shit about it. 

Still, ye canny beat a wee trip home with 3 points in the bag.

23 hours ago, MelvinBragg said:

For anyone looking for cause for optimism, I've been rostered on to work for two home games so far this season.

Motherwell 3 Hearts 1

Motherwell 4 Dundee United 3

Rostered on to work tomorrow so if we somehow win, I'm taking the credit...

Sorry you missed it but hope you work more games based on that record.

44 minutes ago, AllyMax said:

Just back from the game. It's a bit of a trek for me these days, with the drive to Wemyss Bay and the ferry, but glad I went to that one. Just read through the comments and I think Ya Beezer summed up what I thought.

TJ and Davor looked like they wanted to get sent off early doors. I think Kaleta is a liability TBH, never defends his area and seems to wander back when we have a break against us. Tony Watt saw a fair bit of the ball today and I thought he was doing a lot of the things that he used to do for us, control the ball and quick flicked passes but at the moment they're just not coming off for him. Thought the defence looked pretty solid mostly and (on my son's insistance) I kept a close eye on Halliday. He honestly does a lot of stuff that he's not going to win gold medals for but his positional awareness and ability to break up stuff coming towards us and jump in when someone makes a mistake can't be underestimated. A lot of his forward passing maybe isn't finding the mark but he does a lot of important stuff, a lot of it unseen.

Vale I thought made a big difference when he came on and Nicholson should have got an easy 3rd (if he was onside). Good to see Slattery and McGinn back on the pitch.

I actually thought we were pretty comfortable after the 2nd goal. Aberdeen had a lot of ball, but there was never what you would call a backs to the wall defending performance. I actually thought we were worth another goal or two.

On a side note, in the second half a couple of times when we had men still up the park when the ball went to Ox.....Ketts was screaming at him to play the ball out quickly and he stopped and wasted time instead. The gaffer was losing his shit about it. 

Still, ye canny beat a wee trip home with 3 points in the bag.

Glad someone else appreciates the unglamorous stuff that Halliday does. He got us out of a few situations today with his positional sense.

Like you I thought we looked pretty comfortable in central defence although I still don't think we defend particularly well in our wide areas.

I also have the feeling that the refs now have a bit of an agenda against Ketts although admittedly he doesnt help himself at times.

Walsh today had a little smirk to himself when he dished out the yellow card.

That was a red card all day long. It occurred right in front of us. At first I thought that Watt had actually been nutted. I've seen several such incidents over the years and the culprit has always been red carded. The culprit's comments to match officials in the aftermath wouldn't have helped his cause either. I suspect though that TW wound him up in some way. You simply can't behave like that and expect to stay on the pitch. Jimmy Teleen's comment afterwards  that he didn't see it was nothing short of bizarre as it happened about 2 feet in front of him. 

2 minutes ago, santheman said:

Glad someone else appreciates the unglamorous stuff that Halliday does. He got us out of a few situations today with his positional sense.

Like you I thought we looked pretty comfortable in central defence although I still don't think we defend particularly well in our wide areas.

I also have the feeling that the refs now have a bit of an agenda against Ketts although admittedly he doesnt help himself at times.

Walsh today had a little smirk to himself when he dished out the yellow card.

Aye, I was sitting on the PO'D and saw that too. I've not seen back what Maswahise was booked for but it looked like nothing to me and if I remember right thats what Kettlewell was shouting about at the ref. he was maybe needing a wee vape and was feeling a bit aangry 😄

6 minutes ago, wellfan said:

A thoroughly deserved and much-needed home win today, with a lot to be pleased and pissed off about in equal measure. 

their effort and application cannot be faulted , the quality of our passing is honking. Watt and Halliday really helped compensate for that today. TW final ball was erratic but he took so much pressure of the rest of his teammates he was worth his place.