smiddy Posted Sunday at 07:57 PM Report Share Posted Sunday at 07:57 PM If we get beat on sat there could be an aufay smell of hibz n it the year yaccies done them, from memory from the last few weeks of the season they only needed 5 ( i think ) points to avoid the playoffs n got next to FA , teat as they say was history Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
wellgirl Posted Sunday at 09:56 PM Report Share Posted Sunday at 09:56 PM 10 hours ago, steelman1991 said: You clearly weren’t at Perth if you think that. I wasn't. But that doesn't change my opinion. Being booed off the park after a very poor result doesn't necessarily translate to loads of fans turning against him. And I'm not the only person who has said the same on here over the last 24 hours Ps. I knew I would get the laughing emoticons but it's no biggie. I've been supporting Motherwell for decades and I don't boo players or the manager - Id rather back the team when we are struggling 1 2 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kmcalpin Posted Sunday at 10:39 PM Report Share Posted Sunday at 10:39 PM 36 minutes ago, wellgirl said: I wasn't. But that doesn't change my opinion. Being booed off the park after a very poor result doesn't necessarily translate to loads of fans turning against him. And I'm not the only person who has said the same on here over the last 24 hours If you had been there at full time you would have felt and heard the toxic atmosphere. Whilst I wouldn't care to apportion a specific percentage you can be assured that loads of fans have turned against SK. That said, I didn't hear much abuse thankfully. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
wellgirl Posted Sunday at 10:44 PM Report Share Posted Sunday at 10:44 PM 16 minutes ago, Kmcalpin said: If you had been there at full time you would have felt and heard the toxic atmosphere. Whilst I wouldn't care to apportion a specific percentage you can be assured that loads of fans have turned against SK. That said, I didn't hear much abuse thankfully. I don't boo managers or players. Never have. Never will. If people want Kettlewell out fair enough. I just hope the next manager lives up to expectations. I know plenty of Motherwell fans who don't want Kettlewell out - my issue is that we're supposed to think the entire support hate him based on yesterday? I don't. It's all a tad polarised on here at the moment and if you say you support Kettlewell you get laughed at and told you're an idiot by people who weren't even born when you started going to games. Or that you somehow are responsible for Motherwell not performing because you don't have high enough expectations for your team (I really have seen it all when I saw a post like that). People who like Kettlewell are responsible for Motherwells current performance I really hope that in two years time when he's gone - if we are still struggling that some people might revisit their opinions of him - doubt it though 1 1 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
FirParkCornerExile Posted Monday at 09:23 PM Report Share Posted Monday at 09:23 PM On 1/19/2025 at 7:57 PM, smiddy said: If we get beat on sat there could be an aufay smell of hibz n it the year yaccies done them, from memory from the last few weeks of the season they only needed 5 ( i think ) points to avoid the playoffs n got next to FA , teat as they say was history No doubt in my mind we will get beat. We are awful all over the park. We look completely disjointed and haven't a clue how to break down a well drilled organised defence. I'm fed up going away from home and watching the same dross week in week out. I'm fed up spending £35/£40 every away game. I have better things to do with my cash so I finally give in, Ill sit this Saturday out. Frankly if I wasn't a season ticket holder Id sit the next home game out too., Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
wellup83 Posted Monday at 10:00 PM Report Share Posted Monday at 10:00 PM Sitting watching the Dundee derby. Great match, end to end and loads of drama. Exactly what a cup tie should be. Dundee one up and getting battered but fighting and scrapping for every ball. Great match. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kmcalpin Posted Monday at 11:25 PM Report Share Posted Monday at 11:25 PM Valakari had done his homework and outhought us tactically on Saturday. So more of the same tactical approach from us will be equally as ineffective. Aside from that, personnel changes will also have to be made, as at a minimum, Vale will be unavailable. Maybe now too, SK will have a better understanding of the strengths of St Johnstone's central defence In short, SK will have to adopt a different gameplan. Hopefully, Paton and Gordon will be available. We've bought our tickets and will be expecting to see improved attitude, tactics and team selection. Its an important fixture for SK and the team. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
FirParkCornerExile Posted yesterday at 12:10 AM Report Share Posted yesterday at 12:10 AM When you are a one trick pony its very easy for opponents to suss you out. Not much homework required. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
wellsince75 Posted yesterday at 02:08 PM Report Share Posted yesterday at 02:08 PM if ever we needed a win it's this week. Just compared stats against St J over the last 14 games. Although we've picked up more points than them during this period our goals for against are both about 1:2 ratio. Our goals conceded slightly worse. Stating the obvious but we need to flip that ratio back to 2:1 in our favour . For moral more than anything else we need to win this one. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throughthelaces Posted yesterday at 02:18 PM Report Share Posted yesterday at 02:18 PM I can't see us getting anything here and truth be told after last weeks performance I'm still feeling insulted and let down by a large number of our playing squad. There are guys on that dressing room who need moved on and we need to as a club have a long hard look at ourselves and footballing departments whether we win or lose or draw this game. That being said can see the players giving a reaction to try take the sting out so I'll predict we win and go back to our usual standards in 2 or 3 games time. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
stv Posted yesterday at 07:23 PM Report Share Posted yesterday at 07:23 PM On 1/19/2025 at 2:38 PM, Kmcalpin said: Our group will be represented next week and I'll be there. However it'll be out of a sense of duty to our club. Not expecting much. Miss placed ? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
texanwellfan Posted 4 hours ago Report Share Posted 4 hours ago Do we have any players back from injury for this game? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kmcalpin Posted 4 hours ago Report Share Posted 4 hours ago 4 minutes ago, texanwellfan said: Do we have any players back from injury for this game? Possibly Paton? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
texanwellfan Posted 4 hours ago Report Share Posted 4 hours ago What’s up with Gordon? Shoulder? Concussion? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
wellgirl Posted 4 hours ago Report Share Posted 4 hours ago 6 minutes ago, texanwellfan said: What’s up with Gordon? Shoulder? Concussion? Was nasty knock he took a few games ago. Think he got flung to the ground and got injured as a result Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
texanwellfan Posted 3 hours ago Report Share Posted 3 hours ago Obviously Mair in goals. Vale suspended? I’d have Wilson and Halliday on the bench. Back 3 of Casey and Balmer plus either O’Donnell or Blaney but per Wee Yin’s observation let’s go with O’Donnell Balmer Casey midfield Andrews Sparrow Nicholson Slattery Maswanhise front two Watt Moses We can bring Kaletta on for Nicholson as he tires. Likewise Wilson for TJ 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...