Our New Manager, who do we want?

Spiderpig

The last man we need at the helm is Billy Davies. He went full tinfoil hat in his last few jobs and has a track record of falling out with the board. And as per Wikipedia, it was even worse than I remember at the time:

Davies' second spell proved to be a controversial and damaging one.He dismissed long-serving club staff without explanation, shouted at a photographer taking photos for the club's matchday programme after a match at Millwall, banned journalists as part of a "near media blackout", and employed his cousin, Jim Price, a suspended solicitor, as his closest advisor.

After an eight-game winless run left Nottingham Forest one place and two points outside of the play-off positions, and having seen his side lose 5–0 to local rivals Derby County two days earlier, Davies was dismissed on 24 March 2014. A statement on Forest's website read simply: "Nottingham Forest Football Club have confirmed the termination of manager Billy Davies' employment.

Louise Taylor of The Guardian pointed to Davies' "paranoia", "self-destructive insecurities" and "obsession with conspiracy theories and old grudges" as the reasons behind his downfall, suggesting that he had "shattered" his reputation. The Daily Telegraph's John Percy, who was one of a number of reporters who were "accused of being in league with his former employers" for questioning decisions Davies made, said that Davies was "destined for failure" because he was "obsessed" with conspiracies and hidden agendas. He pointed to the "huge funds" Davies was given to get Forest promoted and suggested that he "could have got away with" the "unsavoury" behaviour, had Forest been winning.John Payne of The Metro said that Davies owed the Forest fans an apology for his behaviour after failing to acknowledge them at the end of the defeat to Derby and "insulted fans' intelligence" by refusing to answer straight questions on the rare occasion he gave press interviews.

30 minutes ago, weeyin said:

The last man we need at the helm is Billy Davies. He went full tinfoil hat in his last few jobs and has a track record of falling out with the board. And as per Wikipedia, it was even worse than I remember at the time:

But think of the players he could sign? I’m positive John Spencer is available (as long as we can give him a £100k car)and I believe he has a brother John Davies who could fill in for Lennon miller.

yeah…… it’s a hard NO for me bring back that lunatic Davies.

Lowe's managerial style has been influenced by Jürgen Klopp, Pep Guardiola, Rafa Benítez and Lowe's long-time friend Steven Gerrard, among others.[3] He is attack-minded, and Bury in 2018–19 were one of the Football League's highest-scoring teams; their style, described as "gung-ho",[3] soon brought success as the club finished second in League Two and earned promotion back to League One.[41] Lowe explained in an interview with The Guardian that he wanted to instil a "winning philosophy" and that, by outscoring their opponents, Bury would have a greater chance of achieving that goal. The on-field strategy was effectively a 3-1-4-2 formation.[3]

8 minutes ago, weeyin said:

Falkirk making and missing the best chances then lose a goal on the break.

Continue to make and miss the best chances, then lose a goal when they can't defend a corner.

Looks like McGlynn is doing a live audition for the job.

According to the BBC, he switched his formation around to counter Falkirk in this match.  Audition passed.

Evatt prefers to play attacking possession-based football, with his Barrow team nicknamed "Barrowcelona" due to the attacking football they played.[68][69] At Barrow he played a 3-4-1-2 formation and used the same system at Bolton Wanderers. He changed to a 4-2-3-1 formation, with Bolton going from 20th to third and achieving promotion to League One.[69][70][56] Evatt frequently decides against naming a substitute goalkeeper on the bench, preferring to have more attacking options and has had outfield players do goalkeeping training, just in case.[71][72] Evatt will sometimes bring on attacking players when winning matches rather than defensive players, preferring to score more goals than defend a lead.[73]

On 1/29/2025 at 8:46 PM, wellgirl said:

I've always said Neil Lennon would be a good shout but he's always linked to us and nothing. He doesn't need us tbh 

Wouldn't touch him with a barge pole. Showed how inept he was loosing title to poor rangers side then has been poor when budget reduced. Hes not got the moral character we want either.. 

4 hours ago, wunderwell said:

Evatt prefers to play attacking possession-based football, with his Barrow team nicknamed "Barrowcelona" due to the attacking football they played.[68][69] At Barrow he played a 3-4-1-2 formation and used the same system at Bolton Wanderers. He changed to a 4-2-3-1 formation, with Bolton going from 20th to third and achieving promotion to League One.[69][70][56] Evatt frequently decides against naming a substitute goalkeeper on the bench, preferring to have more attacking options and has had outfield players do goalkeeping training, just in case.[71][72] Evatt will sometimes bring on attacking players when winning matches rather than defensive players, preferring to score more goals than defend a lead.[73]

He sounds an ideal candidate get him

12 hours ago, wunderwell said:

Evatt frequently decides against naming a substitute goalkeeper on the bench, preferring to have more attacking options and has had outfield players do goalkeeping training, just in case.[71][72] Evatt will sometimes bring on attacking players when winning matches rather than defensive players, preferring to score more goals than defend a lead.

When can he start?

12 hours ago, wellfan said:

Stuart McCall, please! His win % and PPM are the best I've seen in my four decades as a 'Well fan. Halcyon days. 

Even then some fans were too busy complaining about how useless Hollis, Hately, Page, Forbes, Kerr etc. were to fully enjoy it.

13 hours ago, wellfan said:

Stuart McCall, please! His win % and PPM are the best I've seen in my four decades as a 'Well fan. Halcyon days. 

A manager who took us to the champions league for the 1st time and gave me some of my proudest moments as a well fan would be welcome anytime.

On 1/30/2025 at 7:19 PM, steelman1991 said:

Reckon that comment says more about you mate than the board members at the time. Why wouldn't they fly the Union Flag?

@steelman1991  I was actually trying to state a fact and refrain from the "should it shouldn't it" debate.

However, to clarify and assist you with an accurate opinion of me, I can confirm the flying of the Union Flag did not offend me. 

On 1/30/2025 at 9:27 PM, santheman said:

As was the Saltire (take from that what you like)

What is it with you fukkers ?  Nae wonder the old school guys have left this site in droves. Post a non-opinionated fact (for the benefit of younger viewers) and ye get turned on . WTF 

18 hours ago, weeyin said:

Even then some fans were too busy complaining about how useless Hollis, Hately, Page, Forbes, Kerr etc. were to fully enjoy it.

Quite, I might be remembering this wrongly, but the season we finished 2nd, did we not take all our points from bottom six sides and basically lose to everyone in the tops six, then after the split I think we won one and got that shitfest draw at pittodrie. There were plenty on here greetin' about how shite we were then too.

40 minutes ago, Lord Tanamo said:

What is it with you fukkers ?  Nae wonder the old school guys have left this site in droves. Post a non-opinionated fact (for the benefit of younger viewers) and ye get turned on . WTF 

Think you need a wee lie doon mate.

You're the one trying to push an agenda.

1 hour ago, Lord Tanamo said:

@steelman1991  I was actually trying to state a fact and refrain from the "should it shouldn't it" debate.

However, to clarify and assist you with an accurate opinion of me, I can confirm the flying of the Union Flag did not offend me. 

No you weren’t it was abundantly clear what your agenda was with the accompanying comment about “60 somethings Protestant businessmen”

feel free though to join the “old school guys” over on P&B.