Our New Manager, who do we want?

Spiderpig

1 hour ago, numpty said:

Are we confident that he didn't fully back or suggest most of those mistakes in the first place, given that (officially) we're not managerless as a result of how the team is playing?

We won't know till we see his first team selection on Sunday and how we set up, and yes we are managerless because the team have been brutal for weeks and SK had no idea how to turn it round and walked. Don't believe the personal abuse fairy tales were the reason.

1 hour ago, Spit_It_Out said:

I really fancy a punt on David Healy from Linfield coming up to last year of contract maybe we could tempt him over.

Tbh all I want I someone with a plan b in locker that shall do for me lol.

Linfield are in with a shout of the league title so I can't see Healy going anywhere before the summer.

Healy would be a good shout, good young manager by all accounts and likes attacking sides. The other guy over there in the south Stephen Bradley at shamrock rovers is viewed highly as well.

i would like to see Graham Arnold but im not sure that’d happen?

as for names like Billy Davies and big dunc, dear god no!!!

Any suggestion of Duncan Ferguson is pure ignorance. Some people remember him prancing up and down the touchline for Everton and think we need that "passion", and don't bother to look at his actual record.  He relegated ICT, had them playing eye bleeding football, and signed his own son who was hopeless

Of all the names I've seen so far, I'd rather have kettlewell back. 

7 minutes ago, mio said:

Healy would be a good shout, good young manager by all accounts and likes attacking sides. The other guy over there in the south Stephen Bradley at shamrock rovers is viewed highly as well.

i would like to see Graham Arnold but im not sure that’d happen?

as for names like Billy Davies and big dunc, dear god no!!!

Shamrock in the Europa conference play offs. Just missed out on automatic qualification to last 16 on goal difference  

10 hours ago, fizoxy said:

There's always one or two that get themselves linked with a job just to get their name out, and that's what Arnold strikes me as. He has had good success, and I have to imagine he's out of our range. I don't know much about his style though. 

Not sure what owen coyle has done in the last 10 years to deserve to be linked. 

No chance of McGlynn, he's months away from promoting falkirk, and took a few years to build that side. 

Brown is building experience, and is probably viable, but he did sign a new contract when he rejected St J.

Naismith had shankland to thank, then rue. He did have the curse of Europe to deal with, but his recruitment wasn't great.

Lennon seems more like an until the end of the season thing, but there's a section of our fans that will be sick in their mouths.

There will be a few of the media darlings linked as well, and at least one who has no chance will rule himself out because if the fan abuse. I'll nominate Kevin Thomson for that spot. 

This is a chance for a brand new executive team to put their stamp on things, and it's a good opportunity for someone to come in, figure things out, scrape us the points we need, and hit the summer with a clean slate. However, this has Frail until the end of the season written all over it. 

Falkirk only a few points ahead of Ayr now and Ayr on good run so wouldn't rule out Mcglyn.  It won't be Frail. Coyle has managed at top level so there is skill there even though he's not been hands on for a while. He's been a good student if the game. Also has contacts.

Arnold may get it as platform for bigger club. 

Board couldn't even get a basic statement right . Will they do any better appointing a new manager 🤔

Think we need a manager with a bit of experience contacts and knowledge  . Kind of Craig Brown type , last three have been relative novices at the managerial gig. They didn't work out and went the same way. .ie ran out of ideas after a while . 

The Aussie guy fits the bill but suspect he knows nothing about football in the UK.

1 hour ago, stv said:

The Aussie guy fits the bill but suspect he knows nothing about football in the UK.

I bet he does, these guys are football anoraks when it comes to UK football and he’d have taken a keen interest when postecoglu was at Celtic.

a guy like this will have contacts all over the world and I’d guarantee he’d be knowledgeable about places like the Japanese league as well as the other Asian leagues as he’d need to play these countries in that Oceania groups. 

id love to see this appointment if he was at all interested.

5 hours ago, Kmcalpin said:

Yes, a decent shout. Raith tried to land him recently without success.

In all fairness for most any manager we're a better proposition than raith rovers we're an established spfl premiership side and in a better location in between two major cities so in theory easier to attract players. It isn't a like for like comparison really. 

2 hours ago, Big Stall said:

Wouldnt have an issue with Brown if he is identified as the best candidate. The problem he will have will be similar to mccall in that there will be a section of our fans who will never accept him*.

*that section will be the opposite of the mccall haters

I think Scott Brown would be a very interesting choice. I would also be happy with Neil Lennon.

They both have a winning mentality and have both played the game at the highest level. NL has Champions League management experience. I am sure our fans would accept him if the football became more enjoyable again.

Lennon could actually be like a Craig Brown appointment. A wealth of experience and a strong reputation in the game.

I did not ever get the sense that McCall was not accepted at Motherwell. In fact, I would think most Well fans will remember him with a great deal of goodwill. 

4 minutes ago, star sail said:

I think Scott Brown would be a very interesting choice. I would also be happy with Neil Lennon.

They both have a winning mentality and have both played the game at the highest level. NL has Champions League management experience. I am sure our fans would accept him if the football became more enjoyable again.

Lennon could actually be like a Craig Brown appointment. A wealth of experience and a strong reputation in the game.

I did not ever get the sense that McCall was not accepted at Motherwell. In fact, I would think most Well fans will remember him with a great deal of goodwill. 

I've always said Neil Lennon would be a good shout but he's always linked to us and nothing. He doesn't need us tbh 

7 minutes ago, star sail said:

McCall was one of my favourite well managers, I never even considered him as ex rangers.  That is how Brown or Lennon I would have no issue with.   I seem to remember wee Tommy was ex rangers and he done not too bad

I had imagined when Brown took over at Ayr he'd be building a team in his own image.

However, he has done the exact opposite, and I have really enjoyed watching them in the Friday night games I've seen.

Would be a bit of a punt from a managerial experience perspective, but no doubts he knows the Scottish game inside out.

Genuine question.......what do people actually see in Lennon as a manager ? Last time he was in charge up here, he turned a team almost guaranteed to win the league into also rans......during what their fans would have seen as the most important league championship in their history. He's also not exactly been outstanding in any of his other jobs. All this 'he won't stand for any nonsense' pish won't wash as a reason to employ him. The dole is full of football managers who 'wouldn't stand any nonsense'. 

What are his achievements to date which make him a good fit for a mid table side struggling with form ?

16 minutes ago, Spiderpig said:

We don't need him or any of the bigoted baggage that he brings with him.

Im personally not bothered about "bigoted baggage". I just said that he's been linked with us a lot in the past and still is if you look at the bookies odds. 

For all Neil's faults I think he was targeted badly by a bunch of morons.  Getting sent bullets in the post. That's not on him 

My family are Irish Roman Catholic on my dad's side and they came to Scotland because of the troubles. If people are bigots that's on them. 

Do I have baggage because I'm half Irish? Robbo is Northern Irish. What's the difference - because Neil managed Celtic? 

Just now, Kmcalpin said:

Was there not some issue with his training ground behaviour whilst at Hibs? 

There were issues at Hibs I think but pretty sure he was vindicated over it in the end. I've never banged the we must have Lennon drum but I don't think he would come here in a million years. Like someone else said he's made his millions and he doesn't need us