wellfan Posted Sunday at 07:12 PM Report Share Posted Sunday at 07:12 PM 2 hours ago, Lord Tanamo said: What is it with you fukkers ? Nae wonder the old school guys have left this site in droves. Post a non-opinionated fact (for the benefit of younger viewers) and ye get turned on . WTF LOL ROFL LMAO That’s young-speak, btw. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
texanwellfan Posted Sunday at 07:19 PM Report Share Posted Sunday at 07:19 PM Ok! Back to the football. As someone mentioned we really need to pick up at least 6 out of the next 9 points so it would be good to have the new guy in place and at least have a few days for him to work with the players if possible. Even with our depleted squad we are still capable of making top 6. If we have the new guy (with new attitude/approach/tactics) in place AND some players back we should be able to have a good run in to the split. COYW !!! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
wellfan Posted Sunday at 07:24 PM Report Share Posted Sunday at 07:24 PM 4-4-2, please. Or any other system with a flat back 4. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MelvinBragg Posted Sunday at 07:49 PM Report Share Posted Sunday at 07:49 PM 19 minutes ago, wellfan said: 4-4-2, please. Or any other system with a flat back 4. 442 with two wingers wouldn't work. Everyone plays three in centre midfield now. So unless you've got Ngolo Kante, or plan on playing counter attacking football with a solid defence. A solid defence we don't have. Every single full back we have is a wing back and way better at going forward than attacking. And we don't seem to have two centre backs solid enough to play in a back four. The ones we haven't aren't good enough when we play three of them. Other than that it's a fantastic idea... 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
wellfan Posted Sunday at 08:12 PM Report Share Posted Sunday at 08:12 PM 23 minutes ago, MelvinBragg said: 442 with two wingers wouldn't work. Everyone plays three in centre midfield now. So unless you've got Ngolo Kante, or plan on playing counter attacking football with a solid defence. A solid defence we don't have. Every single full back we have is a wing back and way better at going forward than attacking. And we don't seem to have two centre backs solid enough to play in a back four. The ones we haven't aren't good enough when we play three of them. Other than that it's a fantastic idea... I guess we’re better off sticking with the leaky back 5 then. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Richie Posted 21 hours ago Report Share Posted 21 hours ago Regarding the previous Gerrard chat, I know it was largely tongue in vheek, but apparently Carlisle are approaching him. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
wellfan Posted 20 hours ago Report Share Posted 20 hours ago 33 minutes ago, Richie said: Regarding the previous Gerrard chat, I know it was largely tongue in vheek, but apparently Carlisle are approaching him. Owned by some rich Americans. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spiderpig Posted 20 hours ago Author Report Share Posted 20 hours ago 1 hour ago, Richie said: Regarding the previous Gerrard chat, I know it was largely tongue in vheek, but apparently Carlisle are approaching him. His career record as a manager / head coach is not very inspiring, a fantastic player but that's about it, even at 44 he'd walk into our current team and be a star. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ya Bezzer! Posted 20 hours ago Report Share Posted 20 hours ago On 2/2/2025 at 7:49 PM, MelvinBragg said: 442 with two wingers wouldn't work. Everyone plays three in centre midfield now. So unless you've got Ngolo Kante, or plan on playing counter attacking football with a solid defence. A solid defence we don't have. Every single full back we have is a wing back and way better at going forward than attacking. And we don't seem to have two centre backs solid enough to play in a back four. The ones we haven't aren't good enough when we play three of them. Other than that it's a fantastic idea... A lot of the time defending errors are made in midfield. 4-4-2 is the simplest, least complex system and you should be able to get a team to defend in 2 banks of 4. Also the three centre midfield vs the two centre midfield thing is a bit of a myth. Often it ends up 2 v 2 as very few teams play a flat 3. There are lots of tactics videos on this. As for full backs, that's pretty much the case at every club for decades. They still have to defend though, just the same as strikers sometimes have to chase back or get behind the ball and wingers have to drop back off the ball. And there in lies the problem for me. Too many players at this level are either a bit lazy or don't have the engine. To play at the very top you need the technique but you also have. to absolutely work your arse off. That's what I don't see very often at this level. If you could get players at this level to physically work as hard as players at the top level, even without the technique, you'd dominate. 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kmcalpin Posted 18 hours ago Report Share Posted 18 hours ago 1 hour ago, Ya Bezzer! said: A lot of the time defending errors are made in midfield..... Too many players at this level are either a bit lazy or don't have the engine. To play at the very top you need the technique but you also have. to absolutely work your arse off. That's what I don't see very often at this level. If you could get players at this level to physically work as hard as players at the top level, even without the technique, you'd dominate. Good post. Our off the ball work when not in possession is very poor. Frequently our midfield defends only 30 yards in front of our keeper and looks disorganised. One mistake and we're in trouble. Now, I know there are reasons for this, at least in part. Some players like Halliday just don't have the legs or others like Paton are returning from injury. That's maybe a signing issue in itself. However going back to the game on Sunday, I was impressed by Celtic's work rate and organisation, during the short time we were in possession. They closed us down quickly, got in our faces, and looked organised. At one point, Manwhanise was suffocated by 3 defenders near the corner flag. We just don't do that. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
twistandshout1983 Posted 16 hours ago Report Share Posted 16 hours ago https://news.stv.tv/sport/ayr-united-boss-scott-brown-rules-himself-out-of-vacant-motherwell-job Can't say I was a fan tbh 😭 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spiderpig Posted 16 hours ago Author Report Share Posted 16 hours ago 7 minutes ago, twistandshout1983 said: https://news.stv.tv/sport/ayr-united-boss-scott-brown-rules-himself-out-of-vacant-motherwell-job Can't say I was a fan tbh 😭 We just need Lennon to do the same and we can relax a bit. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kmcalpin Posted 16 hours ago Report Share Posted 16 hours ago I can only assume that Broonie has been awarded a pay rise in the past few days. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
twistandshout1983 Posted 16 hours ago Report Share Posted 16 hours ago 4 minutes ago, Spiderpig said: We just need Lennon to do the same and we can relax a bit. I would be astonished if Lennon was anywhere near Fir Park , can't see that happen either Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spit_It_Out Posted 15 hours ago Report Share Posted 15 hours ago 35 minutes ago, twistandshout1983 said: I would be astonished if Lennon was anywhere near Fir Park , can't see that happen either It's a new board making the new decisions for the club you just don't know what way they are going to go. Anything could happen part of me thinks Frail might still get the gig. Hopefully we get someone in that's hands on wants to change the recruitment side of things aswell the Daws experiment needs to come to a close it's ran it's course for me. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
FirParkCornerExile Posted 15 hours ago Report Share Posted 15 hours ago 49 minutes ago, twistandshout1983 said: https://news.stv.tv/sport/ayr-united-boss-scott-brown-rules-himself-out-of-vacant-motherwell-job Can't say I was a fan tbh 😭 and who says he was a front runner , made up media pish. I wouldn't have been unhappy if we had gone for him but couldnt care less he has ruled himself out from a job he may not have been getting offered anyway. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
twistandshout1983 Posted 15 hours ago Report Share Posted 15 hours ago 8 minutes ago, FirParkCornerExile said: and who says he was a front runner , made up media pish. I wouldn't have been unhappy if we had gone for him but couldnt care less he has ruled himself out from a job he may not have been getting offered anyway. The Media in Scotland will link anyone with a Celtic or a Rangers connection to any job up here, recent past suggests the person who eventually gets the job will be none of the names linked 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
joewarkfanclub Posted 14 hours ago Report Share Posted 14 hours ago 1 hour ago, Kmcalpin said: I can only assume that Broonie has been awarded a pay rise in the past few days. I believe he got a pay rise and an extension when he turned the Hibs job down. Ayr have real aspirations of making the top tier this year. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
texanwellfan Posted 13 hours ago Report Share Posted 13 hours ago I notice nobody has mentioned Neil Warnock. 😂😂😂 well done everybody👏👏 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
stv Posted 13 hours ago Report Share Posted 13 hours ago I quite fancy that old boy Neil Warnock done a steadfast job at Aberdeen. Can’t beat a bit of experience. 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
wellon Posted 12 hours ago Report Share Posted 12 hours ago 3 hours ago, Kmcalpin said: I can only assume that Broonie has been awarded a pay rise in the past few days. Why? Do we know he was even being considered? Maybe by bookies but not board hopefully Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kmcalpin Posted 12 hours ago Report Share Posted 12 hours ago 4 minutes ago, wellon said: Why? Do we know he was even being considered? Maybe by bookies but not board hopefully Just an unsubstantiated hunch. Speculation if you will. Nothing more. He must have had some reason for coming out and saying that. Otherwise why not just keep quiet? There was no pressure on him to say anything. Did something similar over the St Johnstone vacancy when he was given a rise by Ayr. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted 12 hours ago Report Share Posted 12 hours ago I am also ruling myself out of the Motherwell job. They are a great club and I'm sure they will find the right person, but that person will not be me. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted 11 hours ago Report Share Posted 11 hours ago Just now, Kmcalpin said: Just an unsubstantiated hunch. Speculation if you will. Nothing more. He must have had some reason for coming out and saying that. The reason will have been a journalist calling him up, or talking at a presser and asking that specific question so they can fill a page. They will be asking any OF related manager the same so they can get their clicks. Hence the sub headline "The former Celtic captain has been tipped as a frontrunner to replace Stuart Kettlewell at Fir Park." Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
texanwellfan Posted 11 hours ago Report Share Posted 11 hours ago It also helps keep the Ayr supporters happy. Even if he was not being considered there was enough crap in the newspapers to where Ayr supporters would be concerned but fair do’s to Brown for killing any speculation early on instead of leaving Ayr fans wondering. Of course there was the other Brown a while back who was going nowhere but just having a wee chat 😳 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...