Orinoco Posted Monday at 01:15 PM Report Share Posted Monday at 01:15 PM Something different! Good background in coaching at various levels. Of course good coaches don't always make good managers. Hopefully the players take to him and his assistant and we kick on. The lines been drawn. Time everyone united and focused on improving our league position. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted Monday at 01:24 PM Report Share Posted Monday at 01:24 PM And there should be less abuse if only due to the time it takes for people to dig out their phone and look up "useless tosser" on Google translate. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
grizzlyg Posted Monday at 01:27 PM Report Share Posted Monday at 01:27 PM The one thing Wimmer needs is time and a chance to make his own mark on the squad. Only 12 under contract next season and here's hoping loads of contacts overseas. Maybe get a tie in with stuttgart and get promising players on loan next season Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stuwell2 Posted Monday at 01:32 PM Report Share Posted Monday at 01:32 PM 47 minutes ago, weeyin said: Scottish media a mile oot with its predictions as usual. Aye, I’m impressed how such an apparently wee club ran by amateur committee’s, a novice chairman with no football experience and clueless officials top to bottom managed to keep such a secret never mind find a potentially exciting appointment. Maybe their not as bad as some folk think edit: not aimed at you weeyin 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
joewarkfanclub Posted Monday at 01:32 PM Report Share Posted Monday at 01:32 PM Met some guys from Stuttgart at the Euros last summer. Huge Stuttgart fans, took us to their "fan pub" near the stadium. Asked them their thoughts on Wimmer. "Wimmer is a good one. He will definitely be able to help Motherwells" We are getting top 6! 😍😍😍 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ya Bezzer! Posted Monday at 01:42 PM Report Share Posted Monday at 01:42 PM 45 minutes ago, FirParkCornerExile said: Our last two managers guys knew everything about Scottish football and were piss poor. It's amazing how people let their own opinions obliterate actual facts. Kettlewell took over and took us from 11th to 7th with a P15 W9 D3 L3 and one of the draws was at Celtic Park. If Wimmer even gets close to that record he'll be praised to the skies. 4 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
star sail Posted Monday at 01:43 PM Report Share Posted Monday at 01:43 PM Welcome Michael Wimmer. I don't think the playing squad is a major concern. There are some decent players in the squad who are clearly lacking in confidence. If the new manager can inject some confidence into the team, identify the best playing position for each player and provide more balance in terms of formation then I this team could just as easily finish 3rd as 11th. Aberdeen's season proves how confidence is king, particularly in a league as tight as ours. Much could depend on how he manages the senior players. I am reminded of Jim Gannon alienating Craigan, Lasley and Hammell. If O Donnell, Watt, Halliday need some tough love then it will require some subtle management skills. I think we will be back to wimming ways soon (sorry Weeyin!). 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
grizzlyg Posted Monday at 01:47 PM Report Share Posted Monday at 01:47 PM 4 minutes ago, Ya Bezzer! said: It's amazing how people let their own opinions obliterate actual facts. Kettlewell took over and took us from 11th to 7th with a P15 W9 D3 L3 and one of the draws was at Celtic Park. If Wimmer even gets close to that record he'll be praised to the skies. Kettlewell got plenty of praise during that period when he steadied the ship and got us clear of relegation, credit when it was due. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stuwell2 Posted Monday at 01:48 PM Report Share Posted Monday at 01:48 PM 1 minute ago, Ya Bezzer! said: It's amazing how people let their own opinions obliterate actual facts…. Will you please stop using actual facts on this forum? The only facts allowed are ones made up either when drunk/stoned or on the spur of the moment to back up some outlandish claim. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
grizzlyg Posted Monday at 01:48 PM Report Share Posted Monday at 01:48 PM 15 minutes ago, joewarkfanclub said: Met some guys from Stuttgart at the Euros last summer. Huge Stuttgart fans, took us to their "fan pub" near the stadium. Asked them their thoughts on Wimmer. "Wimmer is a good one. He will definitely be able to help Motherwells" We are getting top 6! 😍😍😍 Encouraging to hear. Really looking forward to seeing how he puts his own ideas and shape into place Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
El Grew Posted Monday at 02:03 PM Report Share Posted Monday at 02:03 PM 30 minutes ago, Stuwell2 said: Aye, I’m impressed how such an apparently wee club ran by amateur committee’s, a novice chairman with no football experience and clueless officials top to bottom managed to keep such a secret never mind find a potentially exciting appointment. Maybe their not as bad as some folk think edit: not aimed at you weeyin Thanks Kyrk. 🤣🤣🤣 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
wellfan Posted Monday at 02:10 PM Report Share Posted Monday at 02:10 PM Has it been mentioned anywhere what Wimmer’s (and Koc’s) contract term is? I’d imagine it would be at least 2.5 years, rather than the rolling deals that SK and SF had. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
joewarkfanclub Posted Monday at 02:18 PM Report Share Posted Monday at 02:18 PM 8 minutes ago, wellfan said: Has it been mentioned anywhere what Wimmer’s (and Koc’s) contract term is? I’d imagine it would be at least 2.5 years, rather than the rolling deals that SK and SF had. Havent seen it mentioned anywhere, but I quite liked the idea of the rolling deals. Meant nobody could ever take our manager without compo but we would never be out of pocket for more than a years salary if it didnt work out. Seem to recall it was one of the first things Caldwell did when he came in. Obviously depends on whether the new guy would be happy with that or not and how attached to the rolling contracts we now are as a club. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stuwell2 Posted Monday at 03:02 PM Report Share Posted Monday at 03:02 PM In all seriousness like most fans I’m quite excited by this for reasons I can’t explain, never heard of the guy so like most of our choices it’s a shot in the dark as far as I’m concerned but I wonder if the chairman has spoken to friends and others in Germany with a better understanding of football about him which leads to another thought, did the guy apply for the job or did we approach him after speaking with someone who recommended him? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
AllyMax Posted Monday at 03:12 PM Report Share Posted Monday at 03:12 PM 9 minutes ago, Stuwell2 said: In all seriousness like most fans I’m quite excited by this for reasons I can’t explain, never heard of the guy so like most of our choices it’s a shot in the dark as far as I’m concerned but I wonder if the chairman has spoken to friends and others in Germany with a better understanding of football about him which leads to another thought, did the guy apply for the job or did we approach him after speaking with someone who recommended him? Same, it is exciting. Similar to when Harri Kampman took over when McLeish left rather than get us relegated. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mccus28 Posted Monday at 03:19 PM Report Share Posted Monday at 03:19 PM The guy should get a totally free hit for the rest of the season as long as we can avoid relegation. Then we only have 12 contracted players and the rebuild can start and im sure he will have some money to spend if and when LM is sold. I honestly hope the fans dont get on his back straight away as Kettlewell has left a bloated, broken, mostly bang average (probably less than bang average) squad of players behind him who are devoid of confidence. For no real reason backed up with evidence, im excited......................... Time will tell Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
wellfan Posted Monday at 03:21 PM Report Share Posted Monday at 03:21 PM Good first interview from Wimmer. He wants his teams to play an intense, high-pressing game. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted Monday at 03:33 PM Report Share Posted Monday at 03:33 PM 10 minutes ago, wellfan said: Good first interview from Wimmer. He wants his teams to play an intense, high-pressing game. I'm good with that. My fear is that is usually coupled with short, intricate passing out from the back. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
joewarkfanclub Posted Monday at 03:37 PM Report Share Posted Monday at 03:37 PM 33 minutes ago, Stuwell2 said: In all seriousness like most fans I’m quite excited by this for reasons I can’t explain, never heard of the guy so like most of our choices it’s a shot in the dark as far as I’m concerned but I wonder if the chairman has spoken to friends and others in Germany with a better understanding of football about him which leads to another thought, did the guy apply for the job or did we approach him after speaking with someone who recommended him? I would imagine with the chairmans family connections there would have been conversations had and information shared. Guy has 15 years coaching experience at all levels, so on the face of it, seems like a good fit for us. Time will tell obviously. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
joewarkfanclub Posted Monday at 03:41 PM Report Share Posted Monday at 03:41 PM 17 minutes ago, wellfan said: Good first interview from Wimmer. He wants his teams to play an intense, high-pressing game. Unfortunately for him we might not have the players to cope with that without leaving ourselves wide open at the back. Be interesting to see how he navigates the end of the season. On the plus side it IS fresh eyes on this squad and no one starts with a guaranteed place, so they will all have to impress and earn their place in the team. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Richie Posted Monday at 03:42 PM Report Share Posted Monday at 03:42 PM Possibly a bit simplistic here, but a high/intense press is a bit of a no-brainer in our league, because if its deployed effectively (like Postecoglou's Celtic) most teams don't have the players with the technical ability to play round it. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
wellfan Posted Monday at 04:01 PM Report Share Posted Monday at 04:01 PM 17 minutes ago, joewarkfanclub said: Unfortunately for him we might not have the players to cope with that without leaving ourselves wide open at the back. Be interesting to see how he navigates the end of the season. On the plus side it IS fresh eyes on this squad and no one starts with a guaranteed place, so they will all have to impress and earn their place in the team. Yep. I said as much on the Dundee Utd match thread. It’ll be at least next season until we start to see his philosophy properly deployed, as I doubt our massive squad is capable of much more than some polished Kettleball for the rest of this season. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
joewarkfanclub Posted Monday at 04:03 PM Report Share Posted Monday at 04:03 PM Just now, wellfan said: Yep. I said as much on the Dundee Utd match thread. It’ll be at least next season until we start to see his philosophy properly deployed, as I doubt our massive squad is capable of much more than some polished Kettleball for the rest of this season. Just get the wing backs pushed up to where they need to be, would be a start! Let the 3 centre halves deal with the defending part. 1 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted Monday at 04:09 PM Report Share Posted Monday at 04:09 PM 4 minutes ago, joewarkfanclub said: Just get the wing backs pushed up to where they need to be, would be a start! Let the 3 centre halves deal with the defending part. In a high press (using Liverpool as a top example) the wingbacks are expected to cover defensive, midfield and attacking duties. The distances guys like Robertson and Alexander-Arnold cover is insasne. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
wellfan Posted Monday at 04:15 PM Report Share Posted Monday at 04:15 PM 11 minutes ago, joewarkfanclub said: Let the 3 centre halves deal with the defending part. Your optimism is admirable. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...