wellgirl Posted Wednesday at 06:03 PM Report Share Posted Wednesday at 06:03 PM 1 minute ago, grizzlyg said: Clown is a bit harsh pal. If you don't rate him then fine but let's not go down that route. COYW Agree. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
0Neils40yarder Posted Wednesday at 06:05 PM Report Share Posted Wednesday at 06:05 PM 2 minutes ago, grizzlyg said: Clown is a bit harsh pal. If you don't rate him then fine but let's not go down that route. COYW I don't rate him, never have done, absolutely hopeless fitba player...and his interview after Kettlewells departure is what makes him a clown in my eyes 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Big Stall Posted Wednesday at 06:17 PM Report Share Posted Wednesday at 06:17 PM In the grand scheme of things, clown is pretty tame. Lets face it, some of his (and the rest of our defences play) has been comical..... 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
grizzlyg Posted Wednesday at 06:22 PM Report Share Posted Wednesday at 06:22 PM 15 minutes ago, 0Neils40yarder said: I don't rate him, never have done, absolutely hopeless fitba player...and his interview after Kettlewells departure is what makes him a clown in my eyes Fair do's pal, we all have players we don't rate. I think with interview he was caught cold like we all were. He hasn't been on form but always found him a really nice guy Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
grizzlyg Posted Wednesday at 06:23 PM Report Share Posted Wednesday at 06:23 PM 4 minutes ago, Big Stall said: In the grand scheme of things, clown is pretty tame. Lets face it, some of his (and the rest of our defences play) has been comical..... I once got called a "dry lunch" on this forum, still no idea what it means but my mates had a right good chuckle 🤣🤣 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
wellgirl Posted Wednesday at 06:25 PM Report Share Posted Wednesday at 06:25 PM 1 minute ago, grizzlyg said: I once got called a "dry lunch" on this forum, still no idea what it means but my mates had a right good chuckle 🤣🤣 That's pretty tame pal... You need to up your game. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
thewelllfan Posted Wednesday at 06:46 PM Report Share Posted Wednesday at 06:46 PM Based on the intensity comments I'll hazard a guess team will be Ward Balmer Gordon Casey SOD Paton Davor Miller Thompson Maswanhise Armstrong Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
couttsy Posted Wednesday at 06:58 PM Report Share Posted Wednesday at 06:58 PM Ok, my guess/what I would play: Balcome Balmer Gordon Casey Sparrow Paton Miller Slattery Wilson Maswanhise Armstrong Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
grizzlyg Posted Wednesday at 07:07 PM Report Share Posted Wednesday at 07:07 PM Saw clip from training today and Ahmet working them hard. I think this guy is going to be a cult hero and a great link between Wimmer and the players. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted Wednesday at 07:28 PM Report Share Posted Wednesday at 07:28 PM 1 hour ago, 0Neils40yarder said: I've nae intention of listening to that clown...try and not cause any goals this week Stephen! Maybe Miller can try that too and kick the ball away instead of passing it backwards to a wide open player. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
0Neils40yarder Posted Wednesday at 08:09 PM Report Share Posted Wednesday at 08:09 PM 40 minutes ago, weeyin said: Maybe Miller can try that too and kick the ball away instead of passing it backwards to a wide open player. I'm not as on the Miller hype-train as everyone else appears to be, but I'll cut an 18 year old a bit of slack when he makes an error Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
FirParkCornerExile Posted Wednesday at 08:59 PM Report Share Posted Wednesday at 08:59 PM 2 hours ago, thewelllfan said: Based on the intensity comments I'll hazard a guess team will be Ward Balmer Gordon Casey SOD Paton Davor Miller Thompson Maswanhise Armstrong Davor !!!! holy fuck ... he cant pass, tackle or close down when we play at a snails pace fuck knows what makes anyone think hed do it better when he needs to think faster. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
thewelllfan Posted Wednesday at 09:07 PM Report Share Posted Wednesday at 09:07 PM 7 minutes ago, FirParkCornerExile said: Davor !!!! holy fuck ... he cant pass, tackle or close down when we play at a snails pace fuck knows what makes anyone think hed do it better when he needs to think faster. That's harsh he's not great but he's fine at recycling the ball and got a decent bit of energy to close players down, Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
FirParkCornerExile Posted Wednesday at 09:13 PM Report Share Posted Wednesday at 09:13 PM 3 minutes ago, thewelllfan said: That's harsh he's not great but he's fine at recycling the ball and got a decent bit of energy to close players down, If he was fine at anything his arse wouldnt be parked on the bench so often. I think he's fuckin awful. Others are free to think differently of course 😁. 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SteelmaninOZ Posted Wednesday at 09:14 PM Author Report Share Posted Wednesday at 09:14 PM 2 hours ago, grizzlyg said: Saw clip from training today and Ahmet working them hard. I think this guy is going to be a cult hero and a great link between Wimmer and the players. Yes I posted a clip of the training and I think you’re right about Ahmet. COYW 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
thewelllfan Posted Wednesday at 09:35 PM Report Share Posted Wednesday at 09:35 PM 22 minutes ago, FirParkCornerExile said: If he was fine at anything his arse wouldnt be parked on the bench so often. I think he's fuckin awful. Others are free to think differently of course 😁. I'm not his biggest fan either but I think he's a bit better than Halliday. Slattery I quite like as well but I don't think he's ready to start. Also under Kettlewell we treated the ball like a grenade I think any small midfield player would struggle to get themselves into games Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
FirParkCornerExile Posted Wednesday at 09:41 PM Report Share Posted Wednesday at 09:41 PM 3 minutes ago, thewelllfan said: I'm not his biggest fan either but I think he's a bit better than Halliday. Slattery I quite like as well but I don't think he's ready to start. Also under Kettlewell we treated the ball like a grenade I think any small midfield player would struggle to get themselves into games I'm no great fan of Hallliday picking one over the other is like being asked what baw would you prefer to be cut off. However I think Halliday is marginally better on the ball. That said we arent as dire as we are because the midfield is a powerhouse of ability. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
thewelllfan Posted Wednesday at 09:58 PM Report Share Posted Wednesday at 09:58 PM 17 minutes ago, FirParkCornerExile said: I'm no great fan of Hallliday picking one over the other is like being asked what baw would you prefer to be cut off. However I think Halliday is marginally better on the ball. That said we arent as dire as we are because the midfield is a powerhouse of ability. We're poor due to our lack of control in games imo. We struggle to get hold of the ball and build pressure on our opponents goal. I think personally Davor offers a bit more off the ball to go and press teams. Would be 1 of the 1st you take off but he'll go and run himself into the ground and can recycle the ball well enough to let us get a bit more possesion in games. His issue his he sturggles to break lines with his passes but that's true for basically all of our midfield bar Miller and Slattery. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
El Grew Posted Wednesday at 10:16 PM Report Share Posted Wednesday at 10:16 PM Be interesting to see how Alan Campbell does against us. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
grizzlyg Posted Wednesday at 10:24 PM Report Share Posted Wednesday at 10:24 PM 7 minutes ago, El Grew said: Be interesting to see how Alan Campbell does against us. Will score.....guaranteed 😄😄 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kmcalpin Posted yesterday at 09:50 AM Report Share Posted yesterday at 09:50 AM 11 hours ago, El Grew said: Be interesting to see how Alan Campbell does against us. He'll probably play a blinder. That said, I think he was overrated and made out to be something he's not. I always thought he was Aberdeen/Hearts/Hibs level, not English Championsip. His attitude and work ethic was second to none. What ever status he achieves in the game he'll have worked hard for it and will have deserved it. However, talent wise he is limited; not bad but limited. He had great spells with us but also spells where he was anonymous. Great defensively and very useful in a midfield battle, but not so good in the final third. We could use his qualities right now though. I'm probably in a minority of one here and will put on my bassinet now! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
joewarkfanclub Posted yesterday at 09:58 AM Report Share Posted yesterday at 09:58 AM 2 hours ago, Kmcalpin said: He'll probably play a blinder. That said, I think he was overrated and made out to be something he's not. I always thought he was Aberdeen/Hearts/Hibs level, not English Championsip. His attitude and work ethic was second to none. What ever status he achieves in the game he'll have worked hard for it and will have deserved it. However, talent wise he is limited; not bad but limited. He had great spells with us but also spells where he was anonymous. Great defensively and very useful in a midfield battle, but not so good in the final third. We could use his qualities right now though. I'm probably in a minority of one here and will put on my bassinet now! I kind of agree, but also think thats a bit harsh at the same time. He was never gonna make EPL level as he just isnt big enough or athletic enough to mix it with some of the guys with the same battling qualities he has, but I thought he would do fine in the Championship and he did, initially at least. I always thought he would be very good in the "Scott Brown" role just sitting in front of a back 4 harrying and disrupting. Ironically just the kind of player we need right now. For some reason no one ever played him like that preferring the box to box midfielder role that I didnt think he was particularly suited to. Anyway, not our player now, I wish him well. Just not on Saturday. If he does score, just dont celebrate wee man! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted yesterday at 11:45 AM Report Share Posted yesterday at 11:45 AM First season at Luton wee Al made 39 appearances. Second season at Luton he made 47 appearances in a team that won promotion to the EPL. He also won Luton's player of the month on multiple occasions. You can argue whether a player is EPL level, but I'm not sure those Luton stats make you "overrated". It certainly went went wrong in the last couple of seasons, but that could be due to multiple factors. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
joewarkfanclub Posted yesterday at 12:02 PM Report Share Posted yesterday at 12:02 PM 18 minutes ago, weeyin said: First season at Luton wee Al made 39 appearances. Second season at Luton he made 47 appearances in a team that won promotion to the EPL. He also won Luton's player of the month on multiple occasions. You can argue whether a player is EPL level, but I'm not sure those Luton stats make you "overrated". It certainly went went wrong in the last couple of seasons, but that could be due to multiple factors. A new manager who filled his team full of 6 foot plus athletes to compete in the top flight was never going to play out well for him. The loan to Millwall was also poorly chosen. Not sure why they took him or why Luton agreed to it. I was surprised though that the loan to Charlton didnt work when he was re-united with the manager that signed him for Luton in the first place. But without seeing them playing every week or knowing what the backstory was its hard to understand why that also failed. Hopefully he can get his career back on track as I still think he has Scotland caps in him as a defensive mid, but Id rather it was away from Scotland and he didnt have to keep coming back to hurt us on a regular basis. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Clackscat Posted yesterday at 12:35 PM Report Share Posted yesterday at 12:35 PM 40 minutes ago, weeyin said: First season at Luton wee Al made 39 appearances. Second season at Luton he made 47 appearances in a team that won promotion to the EPL. He also won Luton's player of the month on multiple occasions. You can argue whether a player is EPL level, but I'm not sure those Luton stats make you "overrated". It certainly went went wrong in the last couple of seasons, but that could be due to multiple factors. He also got fans player of the season, I know a diehard Luton fan who got him that night to do a wee video for my daughter which she treasures. Anytime I watched Luton though he wasn't on the ball that often, plenty energy and seemed to be primarily in the back up/supporting role picking up scraps and recycling Saw his first game for Millwall and it was more of the same. Like others I thought going to Charlton and renuniting with Nathan Jones would resurrect things for him but sadly seems not. I get where Kmcalpin is coming from, although maybe a tad harsh Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...