Motherwell v Dundee 26/02/2025

15 hours ago, Kmcalpin said:

It'll take our new man a few weeks to find out the best team selection. SK had months and still couldn't figure it out. All I'm hoping for is to go into the split with a reasonable cushion over St Johnstone - 6/7 points would be fine. Obviously finishing 10th would be the icing on the cake and should be our target. 

It's not unreasonable to expect gradual improvements game after game  

It will take a few weeks and that is a major headache for us as we are on a complete downward spiral right now. A win puts us 7 points ahead of Dundee and thats a bit of breathing space but sadly I've been saying "if we get a result" since we were 4th and its just not happening so Im not hopeful for Wednesday. We just need a lucky win.

4 hours ago, Mccus28 said:

I think we can all agree that the manager had a free hit in his first game as it was Utd away and he didn't have long with the squad.

I do feel he should be given quite a bit of slack for the rest of the season but it will be interesting to see the next team selection as we will begin to see his thought process on what he has been left with.

I think the manager has a free hit until the end of the season. Hes inherited dross .. in the, still unlikely, event we went down the blame would lie squarely with SK.

Personally I'd go 4-3-3, drop playing 3 centre halves for this game enabling an extra man in midfield . 

Would likely go with something like 

Balcome 

Sod/Koutro.   Gordon     Casey    Thompson 

Paton     Miller        Haliday     

Plange    Armstrong/Watt     Maswanhise

Push wingbacks forward and ask Haliday to hold - get more energy from Paton & Miller moving back/forth. 

Upfront we need pace and energy together with Armstrong/Watts ability to bring in others. 

I'd seriously consider  4-4-2 add Slattery or Sparrow to midfield . Dropping Plange to the bench. 

9 minutes ago, wellsince75 said:

Personally I'd go 4-3-3, drop playing 3 centre halves for this game enabling an extra man in midfield . 

Would likely go with something like 

Balcome 

Sod/Koutro.   Gordon     Casey    Thompson 

Paton     Miller        Haliday     

Plange    Armstrong/Watt     Maswanhise

Push wingbacks forward and ask Haliday to hold - get more energy from Paton & Miller moving back/forth. 

Upfront we need pace and energy together with Armstrong/Watts ability to bring in others. 

I'd seriously consider  4-4-2 add Slattery or Sparrow to midfield . Dropping Plange to the bench. 

SOD, Watt and Halliday should be nowhere near the starting 11. I would play Koutro, Armstrong and Slattery

8 hours ago, Kmcalpin said:

I get what you say Joe, but I think suffocating Lyle Cameron will be key to any success on Wednesday. Given his undoubted  positive attributes  can we afford to instruct young Miller to stick with him like a limpet?

It would certainly take away his freedom to concentrate on the creative side of his game.

Not sure if Wimmer will be well enough briefed at this point to put someone on Cameron man for man, be interesting to see.

More likely he will concentrate on our game and try and make us the best version of ourselves we can be.

12 minutes ago, santheman said:

Beginning to think there's something going on here behind the scenes.

Hope I'm just being paranoid.

He's hardly played, spent the majority of his time in the Shire on the treatment table, a new family to look after so he probably wants back to Australia and the sunshine.

12 hours ago, Spiderpig said:

He's hardly played, spent the majority of his time in the Shire on the treatment table, a new family to look after so he probably wants back to Australia and the sunshine.

And was asked to play the headless chicken role up front by he who won't be named.

Hopefully Wimmer will play him in correct role as I think he's a player

14 hours ago, joewarkfanclub said:

It would certainly take away his freedom to concentrate on the creative side of his game.

Not sure if Wimmer will be well enough briefed at this point to put someone on Cameron man for man, be interesting to see.

More likely he will concentrate on our game and try and make us the best version of ourselves we can be.

From the media piece on Theo Bair, it looks like we have an excellent analytics team and I would expect Wimmer to be fully briefed on all opponents.

8 minutes ago, Mad Dog said:

From the media piece on Theo Bair, it looks like we have an excellent analytics team and I would expect Wimmer to be fully briefed on all opponents.

Aye fair enough.

Keep forgetting fitba has moved on!

I suppose it makes the "having a manager who knows the league" argument a bit redundant!

20 minutes ago, FirParkCornerExile said:

oh there has been a few  pieces of nonsense on line saying he is refusing to play and wants away.

That would be very disappointing.

Any substance to these rumours? Or is it idle speculation?

1 hour ago, joewarkfanclub said:

That would be very disappointing.

Any substance to these rumours? Or is it idle speculation?

I suspect its nonsense , cant see any substance behind it. Mind you he just couldn't have been happy with our style of play under SK, what striker would be.  Theres a million miles between that and not wanting to play so I suspect it the usual internet bollocks. Same shite that says Barry Ferguson is getting the Rangers Job 🤣

Update: seems the Barry Ferguson thing is a possibility until seasons end. Very strange. Hope he has a great run and they give it to him permanently. Should ensure years of fun ahead. A detestable wee thug.  

1 hour ago, FirParkCornerExile said:

Update: seems the Barry Ferguson thing is a possibility until seasons end. Very strange. Hope he has a great run and they give it to him permanently. Should ensure years of fun ahead. A detestable wee thug.  

Given the pretty public takeover chat, a 'Rangers man' willing to hold the fort until the owners come in was my initial guess. I suspect Bill Leckie won't give Rangers stick though when they appoint the inevitable foreigner rather than a Scottish manager...