Retro Kits

Gadgey

I’m loving that the club shop are offering some old school shirts. The Amber matchwinner shirt currently on offer brings back happy memories. It was the season that sparked the build of the cup winning side and it was the first Steelmen shirt Davie Cooper, Nick Cusack and George Burley ever wore.

The newly added Pony shirts are a refreshing addition to the norm of Macron and unbranded naff.

But why have they gone for the Battenberg? I mean for f¥ck sake !!!

Its predecessor was an absolute bute, was the first whole hoop in years and hosted one of our most successful seasons in living history.

100% missed opportunity!!!

3 hours ago, Gadgey said:

I’m loving that the club shop are offering some old school shirts. The Amber matchwinner shirt currently on offer brings back happy memories. It was the season that sparked the build of the cup winning side and it was the first Steelmen shirt Davie Cooper, Nick Cusack and George Burley ever wore.

The newly added Pony shirts are a refreshing addition to the norm of Macron and unbranded naff.

Its predecessor was an absolute bute, was the first whole hoop in years and hosted one of our most successful seasons in living history.

Quite. I understand that many fans' views on our jersey depend to some extent on the one they first saw The 'Well wear but the Battenberg/Jester's Outfit, particularly with the counterchanged shorts (white ones might just have made it  bearable) was an utter honker abominated by many fans.

I still have its groovy predecessor in my cupboard, with all its great memories.

I'm only saying this in case some blue-spectacle-framed hipster designer called Dork Spandrel or somesuch   dares to even think about reheating the B/JO for next season. If so, the claymore's coming oot the thatch.

6 hours ago, Gadgey said:

I bought the 1989/1990 home top at the start of February, wore it to the Celtic game

Must admit if the 1994-1996 was on offer I would have purchased it first , my favourite ever kit

Do like the 96-97 home and 95-96 away also . Loved the old Motorola tops 

Have to admit my first thought when I saw the post yesterday was why the awful ‘Jester’ kit rather the 94-96 classic? And why the 95/96 black away kit rather than the Claret with Amber pinstripes that we played against Dortmund in? 

I’m sure the kits will sell but if we’d brought out both kits predecessors they would have much more popular.

I would be happy to pay £100 rather than £50 for the 94-96 Motorola retro.

Another kit I liked was the 1998-2000 home , and also the white away top from the same seasons 

Was less of a fan of the Black kit we played in the night Pat Nevin scored against Hearts , think we only ever played in it twice. Both against Hearts 

The diagonal stripe kit from around 75/76 is still my favourite (still go the one I got for my 12th Birthday) and the Munchegladbach style one we wore in the 75/76 semi was always one I loved.

I started going to games in the 1970-71 season and we only had one season with a hoop (73 - 74) between then and 1984. And, of course, no hoop when we won the cup.

The diagonal stripe is the most memorable one from my formative 'Well supporting seasons, and many of my favourite players wore it. I also liked the white Admiral change kit form the 1970's with the vertical claret and amber stripe.

So while I like to see a hoop, it never formed a part of my original Fir Park experiences.

3 minutes ago, weeyin said:

I started going to games in the 1970-71 season and we only had one season with a hoop (73 - 74) between then and 1984. And, of course, no hoop when we won the cup.

The diagonal stripe is the most memorable one from my formative 'Well supporting seasons, and many of my favourite players wore it. I also liked the white Admiral change kit form the 1970's with the vertical claret and amber stripe.

So while I like to see a hoop, it never formed a part of my original Fir Park experiences.

Year bfore me . Was that the Amber strip with the Claret trim and the cursive MFC instead of the badge ?

16 minutes ago, AllyMax said:

Year bfore me . Was that the Amber strip with the Claret trim and the cursive MFC instead of the badge ?

It was. Almost completely "amber", with a claret trim and the cursive MFC for a badge.

https://i.pinimg.com/originals/79/03/6d/79036d33465c015aa5cd9344110d72b0.jpg

6 hours ago, weeyin said:

It was. Almost completely "amber", with a claret trim and the cursive MFC for a badge.

Kirkie Lawson was one of my early heroes, but I've never heard him referred to as Kirkland before, I'm sure his name was Kirkwood!

On 3/14/2025 at 4:10 PM, Gadgey said:

"The Tommy Coyne" was an absolute classic. I still have mine but its a bit pooked and would love to get a new unblemished one.

"The Van der Gaag" white away shirt is also my favourite away kit of all time. A wee tip of the hat to the 1950s league cup winners of Andy Patons era....

On 3/15/2025 at 8:39 AM, weeyin said:

That one stirs up memories of us beating spurs and also of Jumbo Muir scoring the winner against Morton in league cup replay at Ibrox. Got beat 3-0 at Cappielowe but then won 3-0’at fir park. Diving header but may have tripped over defender and fell over with ball hitting him on the head. Memory  clouded after all these years 😂

Just now, texanwellfan said:

That one stirs up memories of us beating spurs and also of Jumbo Muir scoring the winner against Morton in league cup replay at Ibrox. Got beat 3-0 at Cappielowe but then won 3-0’at fir park. Diving header but may have tripped over defender and fell over with ball hitting him on the head. Memory  clouded after all these years 😂

Never! Big Jumbo bravely  put his head into the danger zone for the greater glory of The 'Well 🤣. Loved his Jackie McInally robot-style running action: quite a charcter.

I think Shoot! once tipped him for a Scotland cap but they were probably being a bit optimistic...

1 minute ago, Happy Dosser said:

Never! Big Jumbo bravely  put his head into the danger zone for the greater glory of The 'Well 🤣. Loved his Jackie McInally robot-style running action: quite a charcter.

I think Shoot! once tipped him for a Scotland cap but they were probably being a bit optimistic...

He actually played for Australia against England. Big jumbo was never the best but always gave 100% in every game.

1 hour ago, texanwellfan said:

That brings back good memories. The second leg at Fir Park was something else. Under lights and a totally unexpected comeback. Almost 55 years ago though. That was a shock.

Sadly after disposing of Morton we were then ran ragged at Hampden by St Johnstone. Aird, Hall and Connolly were just too good for us. That was a long and subdued journey back to Lanark on the supporters bus. 

I live and learn though. I had no idea Jumbo Muir had gained a few caps for Australia having moved there from Dumbarton. Well done him.

On 3/15/2025 at 1:04 PM, twistandshout1983 said:

Another kit I liked was the 1998-2000 home , and also the white away top from the same seasons 

Was less of a fan of the Black kit we played in the night Pat Nevin scored against Hearts , think we only ever played in it twice. Both against Hearts 

Just out of interest, do those kits hold a special place for you because they were your falling in love years (as described by others here with tales of Texaco cup heartache and glory)?

The reason I ask is that I considered that to be a pretty bleak era for Well kits. The xara kits were such poor quality.

I got the white one you mention for Christmas and it was a proper sweat bag nipple killer.

Each to their own of course.

10 hours ago, joewarkfanclub said:

"The Tommy Coyne" was an absolute classic. I still have mine but its a bit pooked and would love to get a new unblemished one.

"The Van der Gaag" white away shirt is also my favourite away kit of all time. A wee tip of the hat to the 1950s league cup winners of Andy Patons era....

What about the luminous yellow ‘Elvis’?

Got that for my 21st, still have it, unbelievably, still fit in it and it still looks good wi jeans

21 hours ago, Gadgey said:

Just out of interest, do those kits hold a special place for you because they were your falling in love years (as described by others here with tales of Texaco cup heartache and glory)?

The reason I ask is that I considered that to be a pretty bleak era for Well kits. The xara kits were such poor quality.

I got the white one you mention for Christmas and it was a proper sweat bag nipple killer.

Each to their own of course.

Yes you could say this is it,  the 1990s were my first decade supporting Motherwell so have happy memories of those kits.  The 96-97 home kit makes me think of Ian Ross scoring against Celtic in the last minute,  the white away top makes me think of Owen Coyle day at Ibrox 

The white kit mentioned from 1998-99 I always associate with a game I went to at Tannadice when we ripped Dundee United apart 3-0, stuff like that really

Not suggesting the Xara kits were of great quality though