twistandshout1983 Posted Saturday at 04:23 PM Report Share Posted Saturday at 04:23 PM 30 years tomorrow since the great man passed . Heard there is a tribute at Hampden tomorrow planned A proper Well legend 💯 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MJC Posted Saturday at 05:22 PM Report Share Posted Saturday at 05:22 PM 56 minutes ago, twistandshout1983 said: 30 years tomorrow since the great man passed . Heard there is a tribute at Hampden tomorrow planned A proper Well legend 💯 An absolute bargain of a signing and a top quality player who helped deliver the ultimate success for us. They don’t make them like him these days. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
twistandshout1983 Posted Saturday at 06:19 PM Author Report Share Posted Saturday at 06:19 PM 54 minutes ago, MJC said: An absolute bargain of a signing and a top quality player who helped deliver the ultimate success for us. They don’t make them like him these days. My first Well legend , along with wee Dougie They don't make players like them now . The fact we have both a stand and and a suite named after him shows how much impact he had in those 4 years Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
wellgirl Posted Saturday at 06:31 PM Report Share Posted Saturday at 06:31 PM My mums birthday. We went down and laid flowers at Fir Park. Managed to find a florist that did almost Claret and Amber flowers. I still remember finding out that he had signed for us - from recollection my boyfriend at that time had a pal who was a Rangers fan and he was fuming that he had left them. When you look back you realise you were so lucky to see players of his calibre at Motherwell. Coyne too. My favourite back in the day was Kirk but Cooper was an astonishing talent. My eyes are leaking a bit typing this 1 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
twistandshout1983 Posted Saturday at 08:59 PM Author Report Share Posted Saturday at 08:59 PM 2 hours ago, wellgirl said: My mums birthday. We went down and laid flowers at Fir Park. Managed to find a florist that did almost Claret and Amber flowers. I still remember finding out that he had signed for us - from recollection my boyfriend at that time had a pal who was a Rangers fan and he was fuming that he had left them. When you look back you realise you were so lucky to see players of his calibre at Motherwell. Coyne too. My favourite back in the day was Kirk but Cooper was an astonishing talent. My eyes are leaking a bit typing this Aw , any proper Well fan loved not just Davie Cooper, but Tommy Coyne and Stevie Kirk also Legends of the club, others also 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
twistandshout1983 Posted Saturday at 09:08 PM Author Report Share Posted Saturday at 09:08 PM 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mio Posted Saturday at 09:34 PM Report Share Posted Saturday at 09:34 PM I remember when he signed and me thinking we’d bought a guy who was completely done, no pace and a little bit heavy. Also that he’d hardly played any games in about a year and was too much of a blue nose to perform at any other club. i was 100% wrong. By a country mile the finest football player ive ever seen in a motherwell jersey. It was an absolute honour to watch him play week in, week out. Every game there was a guaranteed “how the fk did he do that” moment. An incredible talent, sadly gone far too soon. 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted Saturday at 09:42 PM Report Share Posted Saturday at 09:42 PM I didn't think he was done, because he was a player who relied on skill rather than speed. I wasn't hopeful, however, that we'd be able to sign him as Hearts had been the front runners. So was delighted when I picked up the Evening Times outside Argyle Street Station to read the news. In the mix for the finest player I've seen in a Motherwell jersey, but some stiff competition. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mfc Posted Saturday at 09:51 PM Report Share Posted Saturday at 09:51 PM For me the best bit of business the club has ever done,it was a pleasure watching davie,he was an absolute genius. 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted Saturday at 10:58 PM Report Share Posted Saturday at 10:58 PM 1 hour ago, mfc said: For me the best bit of business the club has ever done,it was a pleasure watching davie,he was an absolute genius. I think that fact that we brought in Bobby Russell before that just made it a perfect fit for Cooper. The two of them could read each other's minds. 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
twistandshout1983 Posted Saturday at 11:02 PM Author Report Share Posted Saturday at 11:02 PM 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
grizzlyg Posted Sunday at 12:29 AM Report Share Posted Sunday at 12:29 AM An absolute legend and losing him at 39 absolutely a tragedy Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mio Posted Sunday at 09:46 AM Report Share Posted Sunday at 09:46 AM 10 hours ago, weeyin said: I think that fact that we brought in Bobby Russell before that just made it a perfect fit for Cooper. The two of them could read each other's minds. Russell was a great player, another absolute talent. Wasn’t really that well received by a lot of our support tho as far as I remember? Not because of the rangers thing but because a lot of our fans love a 100% player who would charge about a park flying into everything (oneill / Campbell etc) but Russell was a class act and under appreciated. He elevated our team and then when cooper came that combination worked wonders. Cooper also brought on other players like Kirk, Boyd, arnott to name just a few. It was a great time to watch us play to be honest. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mfc Posted Sunday at 10:03 AM Report Share Posted Sunday at 10:03 AM 10 hours ago, weeyin said: I think that fact that we brought in Bobby Russell before that just made it a perfect fit for Cooper. The two of them could read each other's minds. Aye russell was a quality player as well,my first ever visit to celtic park was the game where he took the piss out a couple of there defenders then blasted the ball high into the net in the last minute,it was definitely a goal befitting his talent. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
wellfan Posted Sunday at 10:04 AM Report Share Posted Sunday at 10:04 AM It seems an appropriate time to mention the excellent ‘Super Cooper - Davie Cooper Story’ on VHS. I recall it being one my favourite videos to watch as a young ‘Well fan. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
twistandshout1983 Posted Sunday at 11:52 AM Author Report Share Posted Sunday at 11:52 AM 1 hour ago, wellfan said: It seems an appropriate time to mention the excellent ‘Super Cooper - Davie Cooper Story’ on VHS. I recall it being one my favourite videos to watch as a young ‘Well fan. I had that one as well, to this day every time I hear the Queen song It's a Kind of Magic it makes me think of Davie Cooper 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MJC Posted Sunday at 12:26 PM Report Share Posted Sunday at 12:26 PM 18 hours ago, twistandshout1983 said: My first Well legend , along with wee Dougie They don't make players like them now . The fact we have both a stand and and a suite named after him shows how much impact he had in those 4 years It’s the type of signing that we could only dream of making nowadays. A key player for one of the Old Firm and still a Scotland internationalist and we sign him for £50k. An absolute snip especially when you consider what he went on to achieve with us while well into his thirties. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
twistandshout1983 Posted Sunday at 12:37 PM Author Report Share Posted Sunday at 12:37 PM 10 minutes ago, MJC said: It’s the type of signing that we could only dream of making nowadays. A key player for one of the Old Firm and still a Scotland internationalist and we sign him for £50k. An absolute snip especially when you consider what he went on to achieve with us while well into his thirties. Has to be the best bit of business that Motherwell have ever done Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mio Posted Sunday at 02:48 PM Report Share Posted Sunday at 02:48 PM 2 hours ago, MJC said: It’s the type of signing that we could only dream of making nowadays. A key player for one of the Old Firm and still a Scotland internationalist and we sign him for £50k. He hadn’t played for Scotland for a few years when he arrived at us, I’m sure.? I think he’d only played a handful of games in his final season at Rangers, all as a sub. Motherwell was as good for him as he was for us, he got an absolute new lease of life playing for us and he was then re-called into the Scotland squad. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted Sunday at 03:24 PM Report Share Posted Sunday at 03:24 PM 32 minutes ago, mio said: He hadn’t played for Scotland for a few years when he arrived at us, I’m sure.? I think he’d only played a handful of games in his final season at Rangers, all as a sub. Motherwell was as good for him as he was for us, he got an absolute new lease of life playing for us and he was then re-called into the Scotland squad. Souness had partially frozen him out at Ibrox after he preferred guys like Mark Walters, and Cooper wanted to play every week. Terrible decision by Souness to let him move on, but fantastic for us. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MJC Posted Sunday at 05:05 PM Report Share Posted Sunday at 05:05 PM 2 hours ago, mio said: He hadn’t played for Scotland for a few years when he arrived at us, I’m sure.? I think he’d only played a handful of games in his final season at Rangers, all as a sub. Motherwell was as good for him as he was for us, he got an absolute new lease of life playing for us and he was then re-called into the Scotland squad. He won two Scotland caps whilst playing for us. According to Wikipedia his last one was in May 1990. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
twistandshout1983 Posted Sunday at 05:26 PM Author Report Share Posted Sunday at 05:26 PM Tam Cowan had some good stories on off the Ball today Spoke about Cooper's debut a 4-1 game at Killie Also mentioned we went top of the league in October 89 , with Cooper and Russell and he went to a petrol station just after midnight to get a copy of an early morning newspaper to see Motherwell top of the league There was a queue of people who had the exact same idea 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happy Dosser Posted Sunday at 07:55 PM Report Share Posted Sunday at 07:55 PM DC was a wonderful player (always remember Gullit's assessment of him) but credit to us too for giving him a new lease of life and allowing him to virtually play as he wished. One thing I particularly noticed about David when I saw him every week was that opponents couldn't even get near enough to kick him, he was so aware and so instinctive as a player. I was fortunate enough to work with his gentleman of a brother, who gave me Davie's MoTM engraved wine glass for his performance against Falkirk in the 1991 cup match when I retired. An easy thing to raise a glass to DC when the sad day in March comes around each year. Thirty-eight is dreadfully young to be passing away these days. Thanks for the memories, Mr Cooper. 4 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SteelmaninOZ Posted Sunday at 10:26 PM Report Share Posted Sunday at 10:26 PM Super Cooper top player passed on far too young at least we can still see him play on you tube. Thanks for those wonderful memories. RIP David Cooper. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yabba's Turd Posted Monday at 04:40 AM Report Share Posted Monday at 04:40 AM I knew Davie quite well, was at FP working the day he signed, testing the fire alarm, the day after we beat Celtic in the semi I had the good fortune to be sent to do a 'wee job' at his house, the job took 15 minutes, Davie produced half a loaf of toast and jam and 2 cups of tea, we sat until 2 o'clock shooting the shit of all things fitba and Motherwell, he was proud as punch (Coop was suspended for the replay, which makes that semi victory even sweeter in my eyes, and his too probably), a real down to earth guy, when the players came back from training we had a wee ritual, I'd sit on the wall at wee Andy's howf and the players would traipse back to the dressing room along the front of the main stand, Nijholt would tap a cigarette and Coop would stop for a chat, Stevie Kirk had the Billy big baws attitude strangely. I'm pretty sure John Chapman funded the signing, or Tommy asked him for 50k for a player and when he found out who it was almost jumped over the knowetop wall to get his wallet 2 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...