Relegation and Wimmer

El Grew

On 4/8/2025 at 8:52 PM, santheman said:

It's threads like this that give ammunition to the posters over on P&B who like to look in here occasionally then point and laugh at how wild SO is.

Expand  

I wouldn’t be so sure. Those sanctimonious pricks base their existence on opinions on chasni (etc) pies. 

• Haha 3

On 4/8/2025 at 8:12 PM, wellgirl said:

I don't understand why people are saying this - would it be different if we were winning. Why would he take a 6 month job? Are people thinking the same about Simo? 

Expand  

As I say, just a hunch. Beyond his charm, I don’t think there is much substance to what he says. Of course, his messaging to players may be far more convincing but if it is, it hasn’t translated onto the pitch in the last three games. The lack of any response to a poor performance to St Mirren gives me cause for concern. 

Beyond that, his Bristol Rovers appointment falling through in December  due to work permit issues may have some onlookers speculating that a job in Scotland wasn’t on Wimmer’s radar until that disappointment. 

On 4/8/2025 at 9:22 PM, Lobey_Dosser said:

Beyond that, his Bristol Rovers appointment falling through in December  due to work permit issues may have some onlookers speculating that a job in Scotland wasn’t on Wimmer’s radar until that disappointment

Expand  

My job with Coke wasn’t on the cards until the Pepsi gig fell through.

None of this has anything to do with Wimmer being manager of MFC. 

On 4/8/2025 at 9:22 PM, Lobey_Dosser said:

As I say, just a hunch. Beyond his charm, I don’t think there is much substance to what he says. Of course, his messaging to players may be far more convincing but if it is, it hasn’t translated onto the pitch in the last three games. The lack of any response to a poor performance to St Mirren gives me cause for concern. 

Beyond that, his Bristol Rovers appointment falling through in December  due to work permit issues may have some onlookers speculating that a job in Scotland wasn’t on Wimmer’s radar until that disappointment. 

Expand  

I get your point. But. I don't think he's a poor manager. I think lots of factors have held us back. Injuries too. Same with Kettlewell. I also understand how you feel as I was at Aberdeen and it was terrible 

It's threads like this that give ammunition to the posters over on P&B who like to look in here occasionally then point and laugh at how wild SO is.

Expand  

Have you seen the shite some of them talk? Wouldn't worry about it on any level 

Just going to say that I know a few people who post on there but I honestly wouldn't worry about it at all 

Someone who posts on there sent me a  private message on here about six months ago. I had never spoken to them in my life and they were demanding that I explain myself over a post I made on here 🤣

Some of them do think they are a cut above the rest 

Let's give Wimmer a break eh. I think he deserves it. 

Expand  

FFS wind your neck in!
I started the topic by posing what I considered to be a very relevant and legitimate question, i.e. in the event we were to be relegated would  the manager stay. I did not  question his integrity or his ability. However a few of the usual twats on here jump in and put their own spin on things.

On 4/8/2025 at 6:55 PM, Spiderpig said:

Is the hall of the dammed still active as this thread needs condemned to it ASAP.

Expand  

Ahh the Hall of the damned. Another old favourite go-to on here for when someone states a view or starts a topic that doesn’t sit well with some. 

It was like me the other week.

I fancied a bank loan for £100k but had no real reason for needing it and no security to put up against it.

I went to the bank and made my application on those basis.

Very quickly they told me that my application was baseless and I didn’t meet their lending criteria. Now deep down I knew that this was a perfectly sound and reasonable answer but it wasn’t the answer I wanted to hear so restraining my disappointment I simply said “Mr Bank-man, this.is…t-t-t-trolling. It’s trolling. You are a troll and I have strong suspicions that Rangers are the big team you really support.”

He offered to give me a letter stating in writing their decision to refuse my application but I told him to stick it in the Hall of the damned and walked out.

On 4/9/2025 at 2:07 AM, El Grew said:

FFS wind your neck in!
I started the topic by posing what I considered to be a very relevant and legitimate question, i.e. in the event we were to be relegated would  the manager stay. I did not  question his integrity or his ability. However a few of the usual twats on here jump in and put their own spin on things.

Expand  

Not getting at you personally mate so don't take it so hard.

Like you say it's the usual suspects I was more having a dig at who can't help turning a perfectly reasonable question into another moan fest.

Anyone complaining about baseless speculation, this is a football forum. Without baseless speculation, these places would die out..

To the general point, if Wimmer oversaw a relegation, he should be gone. I keep hearing about the mess he inherited and it's true he didn't inherit the best squad in the league but he could and should be getting more out of it.

For what it's worth, I reckon we will probably stay up but it could be tighter than we'd like. But like @Lobey_Dosser I just have a feeling Wimmer will be gone by Halloween. Just my gut tells me that he'll do like Baraclough and Kampman. Come in with the mission of keeping us up, just about do so, bring in his own squad in the summer but be gone before bonfire night. 

And as I say, it's just my opinion. And without differing opinions, you're as well closing the forum down...

I think its absolutely impossible to say what Winmer would do if we were to be relegated. He hasnt really been here long enough for us to know what kind of character he has.

I dont think our board would sack him without giving him the chance to sign his own players and bring us back up. We would probably end up being more ruthless in that scenario and have a chance of moving on some of our under contract players who maybe wouldnt fancy the Championship, or indeed have clauses in contracts to allow them to seek other clubs.

FWIW, I still think there's a decent chance of us making top 6. We dont deserve it, but then, can St Mirren or Hearts say different given where they are points wise?

I get that % wise we are the least likely. But football often doesnt work out that way. 

If we do end up bottom 6 it will end up being very tight, but we do havr a starting advantage and 1 or 2 wins from the 5 would probably see us have enough to get us over the line.

Regardless of what happens, it will just be nice to get this season out the way. Its be so shite for so many reasons.

On 4/9/2025 at 8:24 AM, joewarkfanclub said:

Regardless of what happens, it will just be nice to get this season out the way. Its be so shite for so many reasons.

Expand  

Finally something is said we can all agree on.

It’s hard to believe we’ve amassed as many points as we have, it’s been eye bleeding stuff. I just hope we can hang in until the end of the season and avoid the play offs.

clear out the dung and start fresh.

On 4/8/2025 at 9:55 PM, wellgirl said:

Someone who posts on there sent me a  private message on here about six months ago. I had never spoken to them in my life and they were demanding that I explain myself over a post I made on here 🤣

Some of them do think they are a cut above the rest

Expand  

That's not what happened though it is? And I think you know this and not for the first time. I let all of them slide despite your best efforts to get a rise because it is pure energy vampire stuff.

The constant twisting of what actually happened, needing to be at the centre of everything often devoid of any salient points, citing you don't have issues with anyone while having a long rap sheet of those perceived to have wronged you, hijacking of threads or taking them off on a merry tangent and not being robust enough to take a joke or be corrected without crying foul. All combined, they landed you in SteelmenOnline jail until recently.

I'm glad you cite P&B, you rocked up in the St Mirren matchday thread a few weeks back and ... surprise surprise ... binfire. To the extent the St Mirren fans with no preconceptions or knowledge told you to take a break with the standard eyeroll.

You demand anonymity yet lay out your life story in along with your name in unsolicited DM's. You cite being stalked, yet your online and real world actions fits most traits of that behaviour. You claim to be chill and water off a ducks back yet you prickle at everything. However, the most vexatious action is the twisting of the truth to fuel your grudges. Time for a long hard look in the mirror.

You must also not have been paying much attention last summer, but I keep receipts. The DM's you cite were forwarded to Yabba and another moderator in their entirety because I knew I'd need to keep my powder dry because you simply can't help yourself.

So get your wee rant typed up littered with the well worn victim stuff and sympathy fishing. Don't DM me, don't slander me on Facebook and don't continue to bring a sword to a gunfight.

To everyone else, apologies for this, this is a football forum after all for conjecture, debate and most importantly humour.

Just straw/camels back ...

• Like 13

I don't see why anyone would think Wimmer is going anywhere. I don't see us getting relegated either we'll finish 8/9th win probably 3 out of the last 6 like we do most seasons and wait and see what next season brings. The recruitment next season has to be much better than it was this season, we have probably 6/7 players who haven't played 5 games. For a squad of 33 it's been built horrendously injuries aside.

On 4/9/2025 at 8:20 PM, Goggles & Flippers said:

That's not what happened though it is? And I think you know this and not for the first time. I let all of them slide despite your best efforts to get a rise because it is pure energy vampire stuff.

The constant twisting of what actually happened, needing to be at the centre of everything often devoid of any salient points, citing you don't have issues with anyone while having a long rap sheet of those perceived to have wronged you, hijacking of threads or taking them off on a merry tangent and not being robust enough to take a joke or be corrected without crying foul. All combined, they landed you in SteelmenOnline jail until recently.

I'm glad you cite P&B, you rocked up in the St Mirren matchday thread a few weeks back and ... surprise surprise ... binfire. To the extent the St Mirren fans with no preconceptions or knowledge told you to take a break with the standard eyeroll.

You demand anonymity yet lay out your life story in along with your name in unsolicited DM's. You cite being stalked, yet your online and real world actions fits most traits of that behaviour. You claim to be chill and water off a ducks back yet you prickle at everything. However, the most vexatious action is the twisting of the truth to fuel your grudges. Time for a long hard look in the mirror.

You must also not have been paying much attention last summer, but I keep receipts. The DM's you cite were forwarded to Yabba and another moderator in their entirety because I knew I'd need to keep my powder dry because you simply can't help yourself.

So get your wee rant typed up littered with the well worn victim stuff and sympathy fishing. Don't DM me, don't slander me on Facebook and don't continue to bring a sword to a gunfight.

To everyone else, apologies for this, this is a football forum after all for conjecture, debate and most importantly humour.

Just straw/camels back ...

Expand  

I wasn't talking about you in my previous post. It was someone else who posts on pie and bov who has an account on here who sent me a direct message on here a months ago regarding a comment I had made about the sports journalist Graeme McGarry. They don't post on here either. We had never interacted before on here before they sent it. They were asking me to explain a post I made on here regarding the journalist. They had seen my post on here from pie and bov and were asking me to explain the post I made. Absolutely nothing to do with you. 

I didn't mention you by name in the post I made previously. You've just assumed that I was referring to you when I wasn't. 

If that’s the case then I apologise for linking that post to me.

However, the reason I drew that conclusion is pretty valid because there’s been wee digs since and September on various platforms.

Regardless, your response is measured and I suppose that has to be seen as progress.

Well for me its pretty simple keeps us up then course he keeps his job it isnt even in question but in the worst case we go down then 100 percent he has to go cause that championship you sort of need someone thats in the know about Scottish football in general to get out the bloody thing but he should be given at least two transfer windows if he does stay up to at least put his mark on the squad and see where we go  with Wimmer.

However i just find the players are just either thick and have the memory span of a goldfish or Wimmers instructions are not clear enough cause what i have been witnessing is really not good enough and the Wimmer has the players to change the line ups and formation but for whatever reason just doesnt want too that its pretty alraming to me.

This 3 at the back with pretty poor wing backs and a lone striker is not working its murder with this crop of players i hope he has worked this out and changes vs Hearts we have a stack of forwards lets bloody use them and go for it.

This " he doesn't know the Scottish game " pish annoys me, football is basically the same the world over, a 4-4-2, or 3-5-2 etc is the same in Lanarkshire as it is in Germany.

Honestly we could appoint  Ancellotti , Klopp, Mourhino, etc and we'd get the same moans about not knowing the Scottish game, if that's actually a thing, it's Wimmers coaching, tactical, man management and football skills and abilities that matter, not whether he knows St Mirren are a bunch of thugs or Armstrong at Killie is a cheating wee fud.

On 4/10/2025 at 2:51 PM, Spiderpig said:

This " he doesn't know the Scottish game " pish annoys me, football is basically the same the world over, a 4-4-2, or 3-5-2 etc is the same in Lanarkshire as it is in Germany.

Honestly we could appoint  Ancellotti , Klopp, Mourhino, etc and we'd get the same moans about not knowing the Scottish game, if that's actually a thing, it's Wimmers coaching, tactical, man management and football skills and abilities that matter, not whether he knows St Mirren are a bunch of thugs or Armstrong at Killie is a cheating wee fud.

Expand  

Scottish fitba does try too hard to ‘other’ itself. 

Expand  

A manager with football coaching ability can always learn the Scottish game. A Scottish manager with limited football coaching ability is never getting any better.....

Expand  

He does now.

On 4/10/2025 at 10:15 AM, Goggles & Flippers said:

If that’s the case then I apologise for linking that post to me.

However, the reason I drew that conclusion is pretty valid because there’s been wee digs since and September on various platforms.

Regardless, your response is measured and I suppose that has to be seen as progress.

Expand  

That's not an apology. Nothing like it. And please don't patronise me by saying my response was measured. Not after the stuff you posted in the first place about me. There was nothing measured in that post you made to me 

It can be very hard being the lone female on a board particularly when people take it upon themselves to send you "unsolicited dms" demanding that you explain yourself over all sorts of stuff.  Like you can't make a post about Graeme. And there's been much more. 

That post I made was zero to do with you - you took it as a slight. That's not my fault. I'm two months away from finishing my degree. It's been a slog for a lot of reasons -I've got two essays due on Tuesday and I wake up to this shit. I really cannot be arsed right now. 

I don't have an issue with you. I have much more on my plate right now as most people do than to be getting upset about steelmenonline. 

I also had no idea that you knew that I was put on restrictions on here. I never mentioned it publicly and I don't think the mods did either. I don't think that needed to be put out here in public. It's just been done to shame me -and I've really had enough of this. You might get it if you knew some of the stuff I have gone through elsewhere. I also really do not need the fact that I was stalked against me.

I haven't worked in 6 years over it, my mum thought she was going to lose me and my family need to see posts like yours this morning. Hopefully that might give you an indication of how badly I was terrorised. I would never do that to another human being ever. I think that trumps some Internet disagreements. 

• Sad 2

On 4/10/2025 at 8:22 PM, wellgirl said:

That's not an apology. Nothing like it. And please don't patronise me by saying my response was measured. Not after the stuff you posted in the first place about me. There was nothing measured in that post you made to me 

It can be very hard being the lone female on a board particularly when people take it upon themselves to send you "unsolicited dms" demanding that you explain yourself over all sorts of stuff.  Like you can't make a post about Graeme. And there's been much more. 

That post I made was zero to do with you - you took it as a slight. That's not my fault. I'm two months away from finishing my degree. It's been a slog for a lot of reasons -I've got two essays due on Tuesday and I wake up to this shit. I really cannot be arsed right now. 

I don't have an issue with you. I have much more on my plate right now as most people do than to be getting upset about steelmenonline. 

I also had no idea that you knew that I was put on restrictions on here. I never mentioned it publicly and I don't think the mods did either. I don't think that needed to be put out here in public. It's just been done to shame me -and I've really had enough of this. You might get it if you knew some of the stuff I have gone through elsewhere. I also really do not need the fact that I was stalked against me.

I haven't worked in 6 years over it and hopefully that might give you an indication of how badly I was terrorised. I would never do that to another human being ever. I think that trumps some Internet disagreements

Expand  

Hopefully nothing that ever gets said stops you posting on here

I wouldn't be too upset about anything on Steelmenonline , Facebook etc . I have had some disagreements with some Well fans in the past especially on Facebook , a few have deleted me but it's their loss 👍 

I have had more Well fans delete me in the last 10 years than both those Glasgow mobs if am honest

I enjoy your posts and all very valid in my opinion

• David locked this topic