Motherwell v St Johnstone 26/04/2025

9 hours ago, twistandshout1983 said:

Sad thing is anytime we have a bigger than average crowd more often than not we are p*sh

Aye and everytime we have a six point game, play an out of form opponent or play the bottom team we are pish. 

Hopefully next week is the exception to the rule.

13 hours ago, El Grew said:

After their Hampden gubbing I’ve a bad feeling about this and would rather not have them first game up. Simo will have them fired-up and keen to get back on the rails. Hope I’m wrong. I’d take a boring 1-0.

I would definitely take a boring 1-0 as well

Previous league games agains St J have been 2-1.   I expect the same outcome on Saturday and in all fairness it should be to us. 

We're facing the poorest team in the league who have lost more games than anyone else in the league and have a worse goals for & against than us.

Statistics are in our favour.  Win this and we can all relax a little. 

Copied from St Johnstone fan over on P&B.

Make of it what you will.

I don't think theres much chance we'll keep any clean sheets now tbh.

Technically only one fit CB now, whos a 19yo loanee right back. Only playable CB is trying to get used to playing with a mask due to a broken nose, then the only other defender is a left back who can't run, cant last more than an hour, and had an absolute horror show to the point we might play a right winger at left back against you.

2 minutes ago, santheman said:

Copied from St Johnstone fan over on P&B.

Make of it what you will.

I don't think theres much chance we'll keep any clean sheets now tbh.

Technically only one fit CB now, whos a 19yo loanee right back. Only playable CB is trying to get used to playing with a mask due to a broken nose, then the only other defender is a left back who can't run, cant last more than an hour, and had an absolute horror show to the point we might play a right winger at left back against you.

And someone else said that they could play Simo at CB and we still wouldn’t be able to produce a shot on target.

We need to worry about addressing our own deficiencies first and foremost. 

1 hour ago, wellsince75 said:

Previous league games agains St J have been 2-1.   I expect the same outcome on Saturday and in all fairness it should be to us. 

We're facing the poorest team in the league who have lost more games than anyone else in the league and have a worse goals for & against than us.

Statistics are in our favour.  Win this and we can all relax a little. 

Wellsince75 Stats not really in our favour. Since the 2020/21 season we’ve only won 3 out 15 games against them.

Our home record in that time period reads:  P7  W3  D1  L3 and is hardly confidence boosting. They’ve had the Indian sign on us for a wee  while now. Hopefully we can turn the corner on Saturday and as I said I’d settle for a drab and boring 1-0 win. 👍

1 minute ago, El Grew said:

Wellsince75 Stats not really in our favour. Since the 2020/21 season we’ve only won 3 out 15 games against them.

Our home record in that time period reads:  P7  W3  D1  L3 and is hardly confidence boosting. They’ve had the Indian sign on us for a wee  while now. Hopefully we can turn the corner on Saturday and as I said I’d settle for a drab and boring 1-0 win. 👍

We've beaten them twice this year - but like you say 1 - 0 win will be just fine. 

6 minutes ago, Kmcalpin said:

They'll likely line up with 2 banks of 4 to prevent us from getting anywhere near their defence  and hope that we resort to firing up high balls to Watt/Armstrong and Maswhanise.

By all accounts they have a bit of an injury crisis in defence but no matter who they play the fear for me is we still play right into there hands by hitting aimless high balls.we need the first goal in this game as if its 0-0 with 15 minutes to go,I think we will be the team that panics.

1 hour ago, mfc said:

By all accounts they have a bit of an injury crisis in defence but no matter who they play the fear for me is we still play right into there hands by hitting aimless high balls.we need the first goal in this game as if its 0-0 with 15 minutes to go,I think we will be the team that panics.

Aimless high balls are the product of players who aren't comfortable on the ball. As Wimmer is looking for players to be comfortable on the ball, I have some hope he won't be picking too many of the punt-it-and-hope brigade. Although his choices are limited somewhat by the limited number of players we have that can pass.

23 minutes ago, weeyin said:

Aimless high balls are the product of players who aren't comfortable on the ball. As Wimmer is looking for players to be comfortable on the ball, I have some hope he won't be picking too many of the punt-it-and-hope brigade. Although his choices are limited somewhat by the limited number of players we have that can pass.

I agree with you there weeyin,I said on the hearts thread that's is unbelievable just how many players we have that aren't comfortable in possession.eveything seemed rushed and over hit against hearts,hopefully we atleast slow it down a bit for this game and pick the right pass every now and again.

5 hours ago, ryanmfc1991 said:

Hi All, 

Looking to see if anybody could help and has a spare voucher for Saturdays game? Would be able to pay for this also

TIA

I can get one if you need it. The bring a pal for a fiver 

If you post your email address up I can buy it and and send it on